We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Good coffee break” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cafe Haiti

Cafe Haiti
Ranked #42 of 452 Restaurants in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 10 - US$ 20
Cuisines: Cafe, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Kids, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, After-hours, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Cafe Haiti is a small cafe by Reykjavik's Old harbor. We buy our coffee from farmers in Haiti. We roast the coffee in the shop and serve quality coffee as espresso, macciato, cappuccino, latte, Arabic and Turkish coffee as well as tea and hot chocolate. Soups, pies and croissants as well as our fumes breast so if you are coming from the flight in the morning the stop and see oss for breakfast and we also have good lunch. We also have food to go if you are going on the whale watching. We have sometime live music so be in touch and hope you are in town when we have live music.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
825 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 443 helpful votes
“Good coffee break”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

The owner is from southern France, and not from Haiti as you would think at first. This is a nice place to sit for a break while you are visiting the harbor.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
Thank Christmate11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CafeHaiti, Owner at Cafe Haiti, responded to this review, 11 May 2012
Dear Christmate11, thank you for your kind words - However I would like to correct you regarding my country of origin.
I am born in Nippes, Grand Anse, Haiti and I have only lived outside of Haiti for 6 years and all of this time in Iceland. I have not yet been to France. We have had some employees from France and I see that you have visited in June 2011 and written your review in March 2012. Hence the misunderstanding. Thank you again for writing your kind review and please come back one day.
Elda Thorisson-Faurelien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

566 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    298
    195
    49
    13
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
47 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Relaxed coffee shop near the whale watching boats”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2012

Great place to chill before heading out on the whale watching boats.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Nora702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
517 reviews
158 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
“Great place to warm up after whale watching”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2012

Great coffee, hot chocolate and cakes, take your time and enjoy the atmosphere. when we visited there was a local guy sat in the corner playing on a banjo

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Renoir999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“SIMPLY AMAZING”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2012

Cafe Haiti is nestled nicely right on the water, making for a gorgeous view but a very cozy indoors. Haitian art lines the wall, and the colors are quite therapeutic. The food is GREAT...from the lattes, to the Haitian cake, to the quiche...all of it is soo yummy! The owners and the staff are uber friendly (and super fast wifi). A stone's throw from everything in the heart of the city I stayed in Reykjavik for four days and went to this cafe every day. Definitely worth it. Will be sure to visit the cafe when I return to Reykjavik!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank woodz L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good coffee but nothing spectacular”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2012

Came here on a chilly day and had a good cup of coffee (latte) and Icelandic donut.

It was a nice atmosphere but nothing too special. There are many other coffee shops in downtown which I would highly recommend that are less pricey and more unique.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ArcticRL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe Haiti also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Cafe Haiti? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing