We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great atmosphere, lots of variety”
Review of Hlemmur Matholl

Hlemmur Matholl
Ranked #91 of 565 Restaurants in Reykjavik
Description: Iceland's first food hall offers a selection of ten diverse and ambitious restaurants and grocers. At the Hlemmur food stalls, guests can enjoy a relaxing atmosphere and grab breakfast, lunch, and dinner to suit all tastes. You can sit down with a local brew and enjoy Iceland's natural bounty at Skál or grab a savoury sandwich on the go from our street food stall Banh Mi. Wherever the mood takes you.
Restaurant details
Description: Iceland's first food hall offers a selection of ten diverse and ambitious restaurants and grocers. At the Hlemmur food stalls, guests can enjoy a relaxing atmosphere and grab breakfast, lunch, and dinner to suit all tastes. You can sit down with a local brew and enjoy Iceland's natural bounty at Skál or grab a savoury sandwich on the go from our street food stall Banh Mi. Wherever the mood takes you.
Reviewed 6 April 2018

A great place to visit with a very lively atmosphere and a good selection of different foods. The hamburger at Kröst is amazing, the Mexican food is great, good ice cream to be had and Skál has interesting Icelandic items to try. Note however that this is not a very large place, but it´s fantastic if you´re not looking for anything too fancy and want to enjoy a fun night out.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank johannainIceland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ragnar E, Manager at Hlemmur Matholl, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2018

Never too fancy but just fancy enough and always eager to please. Thank you for the kind words!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (106)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 42 of 106 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2018

We had a few different visits here due to its close proximity to our hotel. I had lattes from the micro roast, my friend had a sweet from Braud, and we had dinner and drinks at one of the bar restaurants. All of it was outstanding, but the lattes from the micro roast were my favorite. I had a salted caramel latte (sweet treat) and the next time, just a regular latte, both were smooth, creamy, and coffeelicious. Dinner was good, pylsa and something that was like a smashed fried potato. Drink was an aperol cocktail with the rhubarb schnapps. Definitely a good stop after a long day sightseeing. Waitstaff was very friendly and efficient.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Gekko422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ragnar E, Manager at Hlemmur Matholl, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2018

Why, thank you for saying that and we will make sure the waitstaff knows :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018 via mobile

Like many places in Reykjavik, this place wants to be something but doesn't manage it.

It's very small, I think 8 or 9 places, some were closed when we visited (perhaps due to it being Good Friday). The atmosphere is poor, as it overlooks the bus depot(!)

We struggled to find somewhere with appealing food, but enjoyed Kröst well enough. You still pay restaurant prices for sitting in a communal food-hall though, so it's not a cheaper option.

Yeah, Reykjavik doesn't have a whole lot going for it unfortunately.

Thank Optimo75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ragnar E, Manager at Hlemmur Matholl, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

We are sorry to hear about your experience and we apologize on behalf of Hlemmur and Reykjavík, Iceland.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2018 via mobile

A great spot with a vibrant atmosphere and great selection of food. The food varies from street food to more restaurant style. A great place to go with the family as the variety of options offer something for everyone. Not too badly priced either and the quality of food was spectacular.

1  Thank matthewtaylor2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ragnar E, Manager at Hlemmur Matholl, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2018

We are proud as punch to hear that. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2018 via mobile

A great destination irregardless of what you’re in the mood for!
Whether you fancy some fantastic locally sourced Icelandic food or some Mexican, Vietnamese or Sandwiches there’s lots of high quality options available and all seem happy for you to mix and match restaurants!

I’d recommend for at least one meal on your trip!

Thank Will H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ragnar E, Manager at Hlemmur Matholl, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2018

High praise indeed! Thank you :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hlemmur Matholl also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Hlemmur Matholl? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing