We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for 2 people- not 3. VERY small bathroom”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Reykjavik
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Butterfly Guesthouse
Ranked #8 of 107 Reykjavik B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 August 2017 via mobile

I loved the quaintness of the Butterfly Guesthouse. It was a nice & clean welcome to Reykjavik after a long day of travel. The host was very welcoming & the other guests were quiet.

We were in the triple room (a double bed & a twin bed- 3 adults) & it was very small. The bathroom was even smaller (think camper bathroom). The room would have been fine for 2 adults but 3 was crammed.

Breakfast was all cold cereals & you had to make your own coffee.

Again- very welcoming host, very clean place & we enjoyed it overall- just could have used a bit more space in the room/bathroom.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank brittanyfee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
butterflykvasir, Owner at Butterfly Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2017

Dear Brittany

The room actually fullfill building / health requirements for a 3 star hotel here in Reykjavik. But if guests fill up the room with luggage as they were moving to Iceland instead of bringing what is needed for holiday - then it will be crammed of course.

best wishes
Jon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (155)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 155 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2017

My sister and I stayed here for 6 nights while in Iceland and we loved our stay here. Jon the host, is super friendly, super helpful, and just all around a great guy. We enjoyed having him there if we needed any guidance or assistance. We stayed in room 2 and it was perfect for us. We didn't need much as we were out and about mostly all day. The beds were perfect size and we had a bathroom located across the hall from us with a shower and we experienced no issues. It was also super convenient having the fully stocked kitchen with fridge space. When I tell you this place is spotless, I mean it. It was so clean and other guests were kind and respectful so overall it was a great stay. The house is also conveniently located near the main city attractions in Reykjavik. We were walking distance to all restaurants and major bus stops. Getting picked up for excursions was super simple. We can't wait to recommend this spot to friends and eventually get back here one day. Thanks, Jon. The sisters loved meeting you. Best wishes to your and your family.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alyssa N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
butterflykvasir, Owner at Butterfly Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2017

Thank you very much Alyssa and sister!

My old heart is happy! Nice to wake up in the morning, having a cup of coffee and read this beautiful review.

You are always welcome back!

best wishes to your family as well !
Jon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2017

We stayed three nights and had a very enjoyable time. Conveniently located to the harbor, flea market, all the walking tours, shopping and certainly food. Our room -- the first time there was very good. We returned 3 days later just for one night and were given a room that was pretty small. For two people it was hard to move around -- wish we had a larger room. All in all a good place in Reykjavik. Many thanks.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank seetheworld010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
butterflykvasir, Owner at Butterfly Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2017

Dear SeeTheWorld

I am flattered.

I will not discuss "taste of rooms" with you - just a practical issue:
In an old house the main layout of rooms where set generations ago, and we should take care when we change it. That is why room sizes are original in our house.

Hope to welcome you again!
Jon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2017 via mobile

This was a perfect place to start our Iceland trip. We spent two nights here and loved it (though we were so jet lagged it's all a bit of a fog those first few days). I loved how close this was to everything but the guesthouse itself is on a more quiet street. It has pretty available street parking (though you do have to pay the meter during the day).

We took multiple day trips from here before moving on and it served as a great base camp.

We had our own bathroom and it was a bit cramped and had a Huge step down. So ask ahead if that would problematic for you. For us, it wasn't a big deal.

Great room darkening shades too!

Stayed: July 2017
Thank McGexploring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
butterflykvasir, Owner at Butterfly Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2017

Dear McGexploring

Thank you for staying with us and a nice review.

The step down from the bathroom is because we put heat in the floor / concrete when we made the bathroom.

best wishes for all your trips!
Jon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2017

The owner is very friendly and willing to help with all sorts of questions about staying in Iceland. The house itself is comfy and convenient for museums, restaurants and the harbour. If you don't feel like going out, it's also a short walk away from the supermarket, and the kitchen is well stocked with crockery and cutlery so you can stay in for the evening. If I were to visit Reykjavik again I'd come back here!

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Erin188569
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
butterflykvasir, Owner at Butterfly Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2017

Thank you Erin!

best wishes for you and your friend!
Jon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#18 of 54 in Reykjavik
3,794 reviews
Miõborg
Hotel Reykjavik Centrum
Hotel Reykjavik Centrum
#20 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Laxnes
#1 of 1 in Mosfellsbaer
1,079 reviews
Blue House
#10 of 107 in Reykjavik
296 reviews
Miõborg
Castle House Luxury Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Butterfly Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Butterfly Guesthouse

Address: Ranargata 8a, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Phone Number:
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 107 B&Bs / Inns in Reykjavik
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing