We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (172)
Filter reviews
172 results
Traveller rating
121
44
7
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
121
44
7
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews other guests highly recommend this accommodation fridge space great location communal kitchen top floor common space b bs paid parking bread stay there again quiet area tiny bathroom old harbour enjoyed our stay sitting area city centre
Filter
Updating list...
36 - 41 of 172 reviews
Reviewed 2 January 2017

Me and my friend really enjoyed our stay at the Butterfly Guesthouse over Christmas, it is in a great location, was warm, quiet, clean and comfortable, and the communal kitchen was very well equipped and clean, nice big dining table and lounge area. We even cooked our own Christmas dinner there!

Jon, the host, is great. Very friendly and helpful and has a great sense of humour! We even went to support him when he played in the Iceland National Chess Championships!

Thank you for a great Christmas!

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank paulabowles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2017 via mobile

We had a great 8 nights at the Butterfly Guesthouse over Christmas and would definitely return. It was a great find close to the Old Harbour, so is just about the perfect location to explore Reykjavik. Jon is a great host and has created a warm and very welcoming guesthouse.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Travel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2016

Charming, centrally located and well heated GH with cosy rooms. Very attentive management with Jon who cares for efficient bookings, cleanliness, breakfast items and good travel advice. Only point: The strict shoe-off policy to enter the house in the very tiny entrance is a bit difficult to observe when arriving with luggage.

Room Tip: South side rooms may be more quiet
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Martin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2016 via mobile

Butterfly Guesthouse is located on a quiet street, within easy walking distance to the square and the waterfront. Iceland Horizon, which operates small group tours, picked us up right at the guesthouse door for a couple great day trips. It's a good choice if you appreciate a cozy, homelike place to stay. There's a small grocery nearby, and you'll have your own cupboard in the shared kitchen plus space in the big fridge. The little dining area is a charming place to eat whatever meals you prepare, read a book with a cup of tea, or engage in interesting conversations.

Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Rebecca T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2016

Wonderful hospitality, all necessities provided. The penthouse suite has a stove, frig, deck and chairs and a skylight in the bedroom to see the northern kights. Central location is excellent as is the host, Jon.

Room Tip: # 6 is tops
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Sue D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews