We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Nupan Deluxe(Keflavik)(Great Value!)
US$ 190
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Keflavik(Keflavik)
US$ 315
US$ 254
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 293/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$ 193
US$ 187
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Alex Guesthouse(Keflavik)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$ 182
US$ 178
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$ 202
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Base Hotel(Keflavik)
US$ 131
US$ 108
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 337
US$ 297
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Raven's Bed and Breakfast(Keflavik)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$ 231
US$ 222
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ace Guesthouse(Keflavik)
Free cancellation until 23/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$ 190
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (124)
Filter reviews
124 results
Traveller rating
43
49
21
10
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
43
49
21
10
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsself servicethe cleaning ladyshared kitchenshared facilitieskef airportshuttle busself serverental carminute drivecold cutsfree wifilate flightblue lagoonsinkfridgeguesthousecheese
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 124 reviews
Reviewed 27 November 2017 via mobile

This isn’t our first experience with a guesthouse/b&b/hostel type lodging, but wow were we disappointed.

Pros: very close (approx 5-7 min) to KEF airport, clean rooms, “breakfast” included.

Cons: HORRIBLE wifi connection even sitting next to the router, dated/well used bedding and towels, shared bathroom had a broken window and was beyond freezing as well as tiny, rude and disengaged staff, self-service for instant coffee and toast for “breakfast” or sugary cereal (no fruit), walls are PAPER thin, tiny sink in Room was clogged but no one working there to fix it.

Would not ever stay here again. I get Iceland’s marketing ploy to force ppl to stay overnight but I’m not exactly jumping for joy to visit anywhere in Iceland when it costs 3x anywhere else to stay and eat AND the people are unpleasant!!

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
Thank Yasdnilelis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2017

There was no one at the guesthouse when we arrived but the door was unlocked so we let ourselves into the Reception area. Host and wife finally arrived after 15 minutes. Host was a rather grumpy looking man who did not talk much and was not very helpful. We wanted to ask if he was willing to provide a ride back from the airport after we have returned our rental car and we were willing to pay for it but he did not look too happy with our request. So we just took a taxi back. So you can say that there is no interaction or friendliness shown to their guests. Perhaps this is an Icelandic thing? We did not feel welcomed.

We stayed here for a night simply because we had a 6am flight out of Iceland and they provide 1-way airport shuttle. Room and shared bathrooms were clean. Breakfast was available at anytime as you basically help yourself from the shared kitchen and fridge. Plus point is there is a dishwasher which you can load up and the host will run it later. Location is good as it is in town so you can walk to shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Travelistajen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guesthouse92, Manager at B&B Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2017

Thank you for your review, sorry to hear that you felt there wasn’t enough interaction or friendliness with the request for pick up after car rental return. The reason is that guesthouse’s, hotels or other accommodations are not allowed to charge for driving guests, therefore there is only one pick up or drop off included in our price.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2017

We stayed here after reading reviews of how wonderful and nice the owners were but boy was our experience different. We walked in to check in and nobody around (which is fairly typical of places like this in Iceland - don't expect to find a normal hotel anywhere). Finally saw a lady and we kindly asked how to check in. No greeting, nothing, just "he's not there???!!!! and then yelling for "him" to come. So in walks "him" just staring at us like we were seriously inconveniencing him. Get checked in quickly enough but never with anything close to gratitude or friendliness - he's totally doing us a favor of course - and off to the room.
So they have free wifi but it has a password to log on that we weren't given upon check in (of course). Walk down to ask for the password and are, again, very rudely greeted with "it's written down on the back of your door in the room". Well, NO, it wasn't so just give it to us.
For Iceland this could actually be considered a large room - roughly 3m squared. But it's set up more like a hostel with communal kitchen and very, very, very thin walls. So didn't get much sleep (of course the night before 24 hours of travel) while listening to all the other guests come and go. Again, this is pretty typical for the country but didn't help our experience.
And to top it all off the drain in the shower was almost totally blocked when we went to take showers in the morning (and very little barrier between the shower and the rest of the bathroom and then the hard floors) so you've got about 1 minute tops before it overflows.
So - two stars are for location (close to airport) and room size but 0 stars for anything else - there are many other options around that you should look into before having to put up with these owners.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MichaelFFF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2017

Our stay was just for one night. Minimal accommodations, but clean. If all you need is a shower and clean bed, this will suffice.

Breakfast: We were expecting a little more than toast and coffee for breakfast. Honestly, why is the name B&B?

Shared Bathroom: Traipsing across the lobby in my pjs and a towel on my head after a shower wasn't great. People were checking in and there I am in all my humidified glory . . . embarrassing.

Shuttle: The shuttle thing is just ridiculous. With them being so close to the airport, why aren't they including 2 shuttle trips? Please charge extra if you need to but I took a taxi and the guy tipped himself $20. Granted, it was my fault for not knowing the currency . . . but seriously?

I should say that I got my $20 back, because the owner of the "B&B" asked if I would sleep in a smaller room for less . . . all's well that ends well.

Room Tip: We stayed downstairs and it was super quiet.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ana R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2017

Rooms are small, and noise isolation between the rooms is poor.

Breakfast is fairly basic.

Shuttle to/from airport sucks. You only can get a shuttle to or from the airport not both way.

We used the shuttle to go to the guesthouse.
Although we informed upfront that we were with 6 people and the sign the guy at the airport had showed our name with a (6) after it, the guy came with a small car and had to go back to get a small van. It took about 45 minutes before we were at the hotel (a 5 minute drive).

It was clearly mentioned that only one transfer was included. Then again we could not even get a transfer back to the airport when I offered to pay for it. We arranged a taxi. While waiting for it we saw the shuttle van leave to drop off two other customers at the airport. They could have easily added us to that bus.

We paid USD 120 per room (shared bathroom, breakfast included). Although Iceland is expensive we did not consider this value for money.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frans M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews