We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Hraunfossar
from US$ 389.00
More Info
from US$ 299.90
More Info
from US$ 196.00
More Info
from US$ 2,219.00
More Info
Reviews (570)
Filter reviews
570 results
Traveller rating
369
177
23
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
369
177
23
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the river water flowing beautiful waterfall lava fields parking lot worth a stop car park ring road easy access short walk viewing platform pretty waterfall photo ops small fee off the beaten track wander around quick stop
Filter
Updating list...
65 - 70 of 570 reviews
Reviewed 20 May 2018

Hraunfossar is unique and beautiful, and has a newer well maintained easy trail system the runs through the park. Especially beautiful in the fall when the leaves change!

Parking: Average size lot. I have heard of issues with parking here - so check out regulations if somethings changed recently.
Trail(s): >2-3km Easy flat paved trails with observation areas that run around park.
Traffic: Average.

Date of experience: September 2017
1  Thank ZacharyF204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2018

This stop is beautiful, but the parking fee that is being collected by some shady characters, who are obviously not Icelandic, takes away from the experience. They were rude and demanded we pay with credit card only. We refused and told them we only had cash because they were so shifty. Don't give these people your credit card!!

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank NanC72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2018

The waterfall is fantastic!

However, at the parking two rude man are illegally collecting parking fees, a whooping 1000 ISK per car. Having driven all the way we decided to pay up, but when we googled lateron, we found out that this collection is illegal.

We hope that something is done about this.
In the meanwhile, keep going to this beautiful spot, but be aware that this collection is illegal and that you do not have to pay this fee.

Date of experience: May 2018
4  Thank Mattie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2018

We drove up to the parking lot with a blizzard raging outside. After waiting for a while hoping it would clear, we decided to brave the elements and go see the waterfall. It is a short walk from the parking lot and it was worth the 30 mph winds and the heavy snow. It is a long arc of water cascading down off the lava cliff and is truly beautiful. Certainly worth the visit. I love the fact that so many of the sites in Iceland are free. This was no exception and is worth the drive and, if it comes to it, the weather.

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank sandiablonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2018 via mobile

Nice falls with the water appearing from underneath the lava fields which is interesting. Nice walkways in place with various lookout spots so you can get really good pictures of the falls. There is a cafe/restaurant on site although we didn’t visit there. Toilets are also on site but you need some loose change to use ($1\€1). Car parking looks like it would be challenging when very busy.

We visited three things whilst on this road that made for a good day out. Deildartunguhver, Snorrastofa and Hraunfossar.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank MarkH130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews