We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel Edda - Consistent Quality”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Edda - Akureyri
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Akureyri
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Hotel Edda - Consistent Quality”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

The Holiday Inn of Iceland, the Hotel Edda Akureyri was consistent with the other Edda hotels we stayed in. They had comfortable beds, clean rooms, and good plentiful breakfasts. For the price it's a good deal. They have triple rooms, if you are travelling with a child.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vegas_Desert_Rat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

224 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    118
    55
    16
    3
See reviews for
42
111
19
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
169 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2011

Campus style. Only about 20% overpriced when many other places are 40% overpriced from our non islandic point of view. Its the best of 5 Edda Hotel we have been, its largely run by very helpful students. Again although the very high standard buffets are expensive they definitely are worth a try even if you are on a tight budget, just starve elsewhere to compensate for it. Free car park. Wifi available in public areas is subject to a fee. Location within walk proximity to the center.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ramsay_bocuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ostersund, Sweden
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2011

Nothing wrong with the hotel but if we return we would stay some place else. The room and beds were fine but the it was all a bit to expensive. Poor value. We paid extra for a breakfast not better than a guesthouse. Would no recommend Hotel Edda.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bussqvist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
260 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 322 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2011

We also stayed here as part of a tour, and there definitely was an elevator in the part of the building in which we stayed. The converted dorm rooms were very spacious, which was a treat. Twin beds in the doubles (makes sense for a dorm), but puny pillows. May want to stuff with a t-shirt or something. The bathroom was large, with a stall shower. Only provied shampoo. No hairdryer. Surprised they didn't have better reading lights. Dinner buffet was excellent, but breakfast was standard with only hot food being boiled eggs.Not only do they frown upon taking food out of the dining room, but they wouldn't let us drink our own beer. Location is high on a hill, so walking back and forth into town is a project, but doable. There is a free city bus that runs only until 7 p.m. or so. Gorgeous botanical garden at back of dorm buildings. Even beautiful in the rain. Don't miss it.

Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Travelfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2011

I had two nights at this hotel during my tour around Iceland. The hotel is only used in the summer months for tourism, othertimes in school terms it used for student accomodations

The rooms are large with student desks and chairs. The beds are comfortable. The bathroom large and clean. I suppose it is OK.

The drawback for me with this hotel is that there is no lift/elevator, so it is not particularly good for anyone who can not walk stairs carrying suitcases. There is a small lift which goes only to the first floor, so if this a requirement one would need to request a room on this floor. This maybe usual/normal for this type of accomodation, because it was also in another Hotel Edda where this also occurred. In my opinion this needs review by the management. I do not how much the Hotel cost a night. it was booked for me as a part of the package.

Breakfast was very good. Like another Hotel Edda there was a sign on the tables informing people that they did not want guests to make lunches and dinners from the tables. I thought this was wonderful. I have seen so many people think breakfast buffets were the place to ensure they had sufficient food supplies for the day. Such a rude practice for guests to assume this. Well done management.

Akureyri is nice, a large town for Iceland I think, and has some nice eating houses. My guide and I tried these. We were impressed, or at least I was, and I think as was he.

The scenery here was wonderful, Lake Myvatn was lovely, and the midges were not at home that day, which was good. The roads driving into Akureyri were so scenic, really beautiful and I loved it.

The Botanic Gardens are close by, and a short walk through the car park.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aussiegrannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Akureyri hotels
0.2 km away
Icelandair Hotel Akureyri
0.7 km away
Hotel Kea by Keahotels
Hotel Kea by Keahotels
#2 of 8 in Akureyri
4.0 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
0.9 km away
Hotel Nordurland by Keahotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 km away
Hotel Kjarnalundur
Hotel Kjarnalundur
#4 of 8 in Akureyri
4.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Akureyri
Hotel Akureyri
#5 of 8 in Akureyri
4.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
0.9 km away
Hotel Ibudir
Hotel Ibudir
#7 of 8 in Akureyri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Edda - Akureyri? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Edda - Akureyri

Property: Hotel Edda - Akureyri
Address: Hrafnagilsstraeti, Akureyri 600, Iceland
Region: Iceland > Northeast Region > Akureyri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Akureyri
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,205 - ₹ 18,022
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Edda - Akureyri 3*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Open 18 June to 28 August. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Fastbooking, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Edda - Akureyri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Edda Akureyri

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing