We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Not very welcoming if you are British” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Merit Crystal Cove

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Merit Crystal Cove
Certificate of Excellence
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Not very welcoming if you are British”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2011

We stayed for 2 weeks in September and when we arrived there was only us and one other British couple staying - the rest were Turkish and the hotel was full to capacity.

Our room was lovely in itself - large, clean and well equipped. The only downside was when we opened the balcony door and, lo and behold, we could not hear ourselves think as we were right next to huge generators that constantly hummed and whirred 24 hours a day, 7 days a week and, hence, we could never open our door or sit on the balcony. We asked to be moved but as the hotel was full, this was not possible.

The good points were the restaurant - always plenty of seating and quite well decorated and furnished although after the first week, the food went a bit downhill and was never hot - merely tepid. The pool was great, as was the beach decked area and the poolside bar where Mehmet Ali always kept us entertained. Unfortunately, Mehmet Ali and Fahti were the only two members of staff who could speak passable English which was a bit surprising in a hotel rated as highly as this. It's lucky I could speak a bit of Turkish else we would have been stuffed staying here.

The bad points were the lounge/bar which was a very soulless place, the computers were always being used by kids constantly chatting with their friends on Facebook, the general lack of other British guests, the lack of English spoken by the staff, the surly manner of most of the staff who could barely even raise a smile (except for the aforesaid Mehmet Ali and Fahti and a British lad called Kerrian who were lovely and welcoming) - the rest of the staff should really take a leaf out of their books and remember they are in the hospitality industry and that means being friendly to guests. The managers in all departments always seemed to be having a go at the staff - maybe this is why the staff were not friendly!

This hotel is not realy geared to the British tourist industry - it is there purely for the Turkish casino goers. There is no form of entertainment except Turkish music which is very mournful and depressing, and the casino.

Also, the location is not great - not near anything! OK, they do provide a shuttle to Kyrenia but Kyrenia was, probably, the most overrated harbour I have ever been to and would not bother going there again unless I was paid to.

In future, we would stick to the Turkish mainland for holidays which are much more geared to what the Brits want and the Turks on the mainland are more friendly and the cost on the mainland is half what you would pay to stay in Northern Cyprus and the hotels on the mainland are better quality, especially on the mediterranean coast.

Another point that rubbed me up the wrong way was when we checked out. I said to the man on reception that we were checking out and handed him the keys which he took and said "OK" and that was it!! No "I hope you enjoyed your stay", no "hope to see you again". Nothing. Just "OK". Very rude.

Room Tip: If you are Turkish, you will get a good room. If you are British, you won't. In our second wee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank cookiesuffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

361 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    231
    71
    30
    9
    20
See reviews for
89
140
6
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, UK
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2011

We have stayed in this hotel numerous times over the last few years. We normally stay in the winter months, but this time we went for a week in summer. I was a bit worried if we'd made the right decision as we love it so much as a winter destination I was worried that seeing it in it's summer clothes might be a disappointmnet. However I was very pleasantly surprised. Despite the hotel being much busier that we are used to the level of service and standards were maintained. I still love this hotel for winter and will be returning again later this year, but summer was a revelation. Plenty of choice for sunbathing from the busy beach and decking area with it's music, bar and food, to tucked away corners, rocks and the lovely lawn areas with sofas, hammocks and sunbeds, all in addition to the pool area. Food here is great - never not something to like and plenty of choice, both in the main restaurant and the beach bar (not open in winter) Treat the staff with respect and they look after you well. Drinks readily available excellent surroundings for evening with some light entertainment. Spa area has been done up recently, have used the gym, sauna etc, but not the spa itself - all the bits we've used have been first rate. A bit out in the sticks, but the area itself tempts you not to leave - although short walk to village and a few shops if you need to, or a free bus to town a couple of times a day. Only thing that could make this place better would be an indoor pool (for our winter visits) and a more frequent shuttle service, although we've often caught the local bus back. I was concerned that I would feel out of place in a 5* resort, but this hotel has all the class without any of the snobbery, all very nice with none of the stuffiness sometimes associated with higher end hotesl. Felt right to make an effort in the evening to look nice, but never felt under pressure or out of place. Superb guys - keep it up and we'll keep coming back for more.

Room Tip: All rooms are great with either pool or sea view, or sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank HolidayJunkieCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2011

2nd time at this lovely hotel which provides everything you want for a relaxing, luxurios holiday

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sherefefollirocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adana, Turkey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2011

i went this hotel one week ago and it was really good. the hotel is far from airport but our tour company took us with taxi and we went to hotel. hotel receptionist was really kind and helpful and quickly we got our room. hotel workers are really kind and hotel sea is very very veryy beautifull. hotel food was really good and you have no choice to be starving.

every other eveing differnt kind of live music but it finishes like 00.00 am. after than you have nothing to do in hotel. hotel has no disco or animation. the only thing you have to do is gambling:)) but the hotel casina is really good and one of the best casinos in cyrprus

Room Tip: pick a room with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank badname
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2011

Have stayed at this hotel around 7 times over the past 6 years and absolutely love it. Its the best hotel on the beach for a family holiday. Staff happy and helpful and seem to have a low turnover for example when I first stayed the waiters are now managers if they stayed there and remember you when you go back. Its rated a 5 star but its not remember standards are alot lower in Turkey, Cyprus etc however would rate a 4 star. Every room has a sea view I believe and has stunning views of the mountains and sea. There a large pool and kids pool plus private beach which is gently sloping so perfect for small children. This is a very popular hotel with the Turkish from Istanbul and Brits are in the minority which is nice. My son made friends with all the Turks who speak perfect English plus the couple of English kids who were there. There is a kids club but not ideal for under 6 as they do activities with them around pool, sport etc However we went the first week of July and my son basically had one of the guys to himself for table tennis, water pool, diving off the jetty which was great.

Food is very good with the All Inclusive option. Never heard of anyone getting sick. Its very good quality and freshly cooked and sometimes have themed nights. You have the option of the fish restaurant plus the restaurant on the roof once a week in additional to the AI option.
Lunch is AI option or a kebab rest on the beach or pizza on the beach

I have stayed at the Colony (5 star) in town with small pool on roof and no beach however lovely rooms with no balcony but a true 5 star with quality rooms and good service. Breakfast was good but dinner was awful and I was on a HB basis. Also stayed at The Rocks again lovely rooms, no beach, small pool but 5 star. Food terrible too though

Back to the Merit I can highly recommend for a family holiday as good food, location.
On another note you can book it cheaper by using North Cyprus websites or sometimes by getting a rate direct from the hotel and booking flights yourself

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Eastbournian101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alsancak - Karavas
4.0 km away
Merit Park Hotel & Casino
0.1 km away
Merit Royal Hotel & Casino
14.0 km away
Cratos Premium Hotel, Casino, Port & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.1 km away
Acapulco Resort & Convention & SPA
9.5 km away
Rocks Hotel Casino
Rocks Hotel Casino
#4 of 28 in Kyrenia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
9.9 km away
The Arkin Colony Hotel
The Arkin Colony Hotel
#6 of 28 in Kyrenia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merit Crystal Cove? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merit Crystal Cove

Property: Merit Crystal Cove
Address: Alsancak Mevkii Girne, Alsancak - Karavas 9200, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Kyrenia District > Alsancak - Karavas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Alsancak - Karavas
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,653 - ₹ 25,087
Hotel Class:5 star — Merit Crystal Cove 5*
Number of rooms: 287
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Being located on one of the most beautiful bays of the Turkish Republic of Northern Cyprus thatstretches to the bright waters of Eastern Mediterranean, Merit Crystal Cove Hotel is located 10km to the city center and 45 km to Ercan Airport right next to the sea where blue and greenembrace each other ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with GoNorthCyprus so you can book your Merit Crystal Cove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merit Crystal Cove Hotel Alsancak - Karavas
Merit Crystal Cove Kyrenia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing