We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (492)
Filter reviews
492 results
Traveller rating
57
188
183
55
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
57
188
183
55
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hamburger market place swimming pool the heart of the city hotel is located top floor small children no surprises the main square the location is perfect noise from the street nice room rooms are clean pleasant stay decent hotel bit dated porridge
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 492 reviews
Reviewed 20 August 2018

A hotel with ups and downs. The superior room was very quiet (espacially considering the hotel great location at the very heart of the city), spacious and clean, not a massive amount of space for clothes and personal items but we were there only for two nights, so it didn't bother us.The hotel cater quite well for children, my daughter received a little colouring book and crayons upon arrival and the hotel also has a playing room. The staff at the reception was very friendly and helpful. However there was a general lack of details that you would expect from a 4 star establishment. Although the room was occupied by two adults and a child, we found only one small bag of each toelette products in the bathroom. The Shower had a shampoo dispenser, but the shower gel was barely enough for one person so my husband and I had to shower with shampoo. The first night we used 2 of the hand towels, which were taken away in the morning, but never replaced with two clean ones. Finally the breakfast was a a fairly haphazard operation. The breakfast room was very worn down, table were cramped so much it was difficult to move around, trays with leftover and dirty plates were left laying around next to people eating, and the buffet was not very well organised. I have been staying in hotels around the world for about 15 years, and this is the first time I could not find a single pastry item, not even a plain croissant. However the sweets table was full of marshmallows, which I found quite perplexing. Overall it is an OK place for a short stay, but based on other establishments where I have been, both in and outside Finland, I would not call this a 4 star.

Room Tip: High floor (definitely avoid 2nd floor)
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank MariB8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2018

The original Grand Hotel Börs was probably really grand.
The facade of the old building and some traces inside bear witness of both glory and splendour.
But that time is far away...

The old house is now a tiny part of the Sokos Hamburger Börs. An extremely ugly building - probably from the 70-ies-something, in the crossing of Kauppiaskatu and Eerikinkatu, is the main part of the hotel.
BUT, it is also expanded into other buildings along Eerinkatu. If you get a room in this part, you'll walk miles in corridors to the so called "Business centre" part.

It's ok for an overnight stay or two, but both the rooms and public areas are severely worn down. It's even shabby - you get a feeling you avoid touching things.
Which could be wise: one morning a cleaning lady was vacuuming the floors in the bar. She then lifted the nozzle she used on the floor and started vacuuming the tables!
We didn't have our drink there as you can imagine...

Beds were comfortable though and a really efficient AC made the summer stay bearable.
Breakfast was both downstairs in the main building and in the old restaurant of the Grand Börs. OK food, but the chaos of the overcrowded room made it impossible to enjoy the meal. We waited for 15 min to get a corner of a table.

I was told this is one of the best hotels in Turku/Åbo.
If that's true (which it probably isn't), the others must be really bad.
It's rather expensive to stay here. Clearly overpriced.
Not recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vierdank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2018

This time I had my room at the "Sauna"- floor and it paid out... Easy access to sauna mornings and evenings... Clean room, nice staff at reception - but the breakfast was a "Kids Hell" - It could be useful to use that one cabinet as "Kids Free Zone"???...

Evenings the Sauna is OK, but pool aria is crowded with kids... I have passed the time with kids, so I' m not so keen about now... Early Morning pool is kids free and there is certain quiet environment...

Room Tip: Any room will do - have tried so many already
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Service
Thank KokkiKoulussa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2018 via mobile

Once known as the most luxurious hotel in Turku is today nothing more than an average and worn out hotel. The room was clean but quite old, worn, cheaply furnished and in need of a total uplift. Breakfast was somewhat chaotic and below average. Such a shame.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank mmmerkl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2018

The hotel is nicely located in the heart of the city. However, parking is not the most convenient. The hotel and room was quite spacious and clean and tidy but worn out. Staff was friendly. Wifi worked well.

Breakfast was basic hotel breakfast containing some hot and cold dishes. However, the breakfast area was very crowded and logistics did not work at all - some other space would be better.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liamola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews