We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One hour queue to the reception”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Club Caribia
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Turku
Riihimaki, Finland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“One hour queue to the reception”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2012

We arrived bit before 3 pm which is the earliest time to sign in. The reception was flooded with people on queues and it just took ages to get your turn on the desk. The wait was almost an hour and as a compensation for my one hour waiting I got a coupon. Yup, coupon to the Hesburger fast food joint which would give me magnificient one euro discount on my purchase.

Upon arrival to the suite we noticed that the equipment level really was not up to the price of the room. As a small annoyance there were no pens in the room, I got one from the cleaning lady but still... the room offered free coffee and tea, as all decent suites do. Unfortunately the room was available for 3-4 persons but the standard free selection was two cups of coffee and two bags of tea. Really, two portions of coffee for a room of four people? Minibar was poor show, two beers, chocolate bar and Pringles. No hard liqour.

The spa was nice and open until nine. Unfortunately in the morning the water features were not working although the spa was open for hotel quests. All the water streams, jacuzzis and other fun stuff were turned on only when the spa opened for the wider audience.

Breakfast was good, wide selection and mot importantly they had bacon. On the other hand the other restaurants were not so good, the Havanna had lousy portion size and once again we had to wait. The restaurant was maybe 25% full and it took 45 minutes to get the food from order.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkoS795961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jalonta, General Manager at Holiday Club Caribia, responded to this review, 17 September 2012
Thank you for your feedback. Unfortunately your accommodation time took place over our holiday season when there are lots of customers coming in and checking out. Unfortunately we can’t predict what time the majority of customers arrive to the hotel. Especially in foul weather, guests often arrive to check in to the hotel as soon as possible and unfortunately sometimes the reception is formed queues.

From the beginning of September, hotel guests have the opportunity to go and have a morning swim and sauna already at 7 am (Mon-Fri) and weekends (Sat-Sun) at 8 am in the morning. Outdoor pool, water slides and hot tubs will be opened at 10 am.

Thank you for your observations about the Superior Room features as well as our restaurants and food -service. We will take things forward.

Lorentz Salo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

189 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    61
    70
    27
    11
See reviews for
108
38
2
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lahti, Finland
Level Contributor
65 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2012

We came to the hotel with our friends. We had booked two rooms in advance. Of cource they were not side by side, not even close! Our room was awful. Old, shabby, ugly, not clean and smelly. We wanted to change our room mainly because the air conditioning was not working at all. Luckily after two hours we got a new room. Sadly this new one was exactly as horrible as the first one. Well, at least the air was working, but with an awfully loud noise and it could not be adjusted (as you can see in the photo, very dangerous!!).
The hotel is very overpriced! We paid 175€/night in a room from the 80`s! There are so many better hotels in Turku. Never choose this one.
The wonderful spa area is not so wonderful at all. Crowded and outdated. Pool bar was closed even if it is high season right now.
As a bonus for all of this awfullness we saw a weird man walking around the backyard of the hotel. He walked constantly by the emergency doors and seemed very nervous. We went to the reception to tell about this creepy stalker and they told us that this has happened also before. What a scary place!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrsMasalin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Turku hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Helsinki
Level Contributor
113 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2012

Free access to Turkus best waterpark with nice slides and many saunas.
You can also swim outside in the warmed pool during the winter.
Excellent breakfast included in all room rates and also fast free wifi.

Location however is not the best possible. You might need a car when you want to visit the city.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marko H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jalonta, General Manager at Holiday Club Caribia, responded to this review, 17 September 2012
Thank you for the nice feedback. Good to hear that you enjoyed our spa and we do get a lot of positive feedback including breakfast, and it was nice to note that also you felt it was good.

Our location is 1.5 km from the city center and it gets about 15 minutes to walk to there. There is also a good bus connections from our hotel to the city center, buses leave every 10 minutes to the city center and back. Cars can be parked at the hotels parking lot and take a trip to Turku, either on foot, by bus or by bicycle. The hotel also has bikes for rent.

We hope that we will see you again.

Lorentz Salo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
275 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

We spent one day/night at this property in February. We came with the bus from Salutorget in the city centre. Very easy and convenient. And you can still pay with cash in the buses :-)

The staff at the front desk was very friendly and accomodating.
You can get a special wristband so that everything you order in the Hesburger adjoining the spa is added to your room account.
The room was clean and spacious. They even had kid sized robes waiting on the beds. After checking in we went straight down to the pool area. The kids, 7 & 8, had a blast. They loved the smaller waterslide and all the different pools. The area is big but it's still possible to supervise the kids as a single parent. There are also lifeguards on duty.

The only downside as some of the orevious reviewers also have noted are that the dinner/lunch options are so so. There is the Hesburger as well as Havanna/Papa Angelo pizza which is a bit more upscale. At the latter the menu is only available in Finnish... The food was ok but the service was a bit unattentive.
After dinner we went back into the pool againas the area is open until 9 pm.
The breakfast was nice. I loved the Karelian pirogues and there were sweet stuff for the kids as well.
After breakfast we took a cab straight to the ferry terminal.

There is free wifi - ask for the code at the front desk but the signal was too weak in our room so we had to go down to the lobby to access it.
Bring your own slippers or you can buy a pair a the front desk!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ann-Christin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2012

We spent a 2 days vacation in this hotel last autumn and can give following experiences from the landing in the ferry station in Turku. Take a city bus from the terminal to the city center and square then change to another bus to the University and end station at the hotel. The staff on the hotel is very alert and service minded, the room is spacious with a good standard including a bath robe for your visits in the in-house pool areas and saunas.
This area of the pools can satisfy every indivual taste of trying bath in many different way - jaccuzzi - waterfalls - sliding tube - open-air - regular water-gym, haman - turkish sauna and many more.
The included breakfast is very nice and has a big variety of food for every-ones taste.
For an excerise, take a 15 minutes walk from the hotel straight to the city center or take the local bus from their end station just outside the hotel. It´s very easy.
The hotel has a free internet service at the lobby for your convenience. For the whole family, this hotel has everything.

Room Tip: The rooms are probably very same, no-one has a balcony, everyone has a good connection to the pool a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Airlies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Turku
2.1 km away
Radisson Blu Marina Palace Hotel, Turku
1.2 km away
Scandic Julia
Scandic Julia
#2 of 17 in Turku
4.0 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
1.2 km away
Centro Hotel Turku
Centro Hotel Turku
#3 of 17 in Turku
4.0 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 km away
Ruissalo Spa Hotel
Ruissalo Spa Hotel
#13 of 17 in Turku
3.0 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
14.0 km away
The Naantali Spa
The Naantali Spa
#1 of 2 in Naantali
3.5 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
1.5 km away
Original Sokos Hotel Hamburger Bors
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Club Caribia? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Club Caribia

Property: Holiday Club Caribia
Address: Kongressikuja 1, Turku 20540, Finland
Region: Finland > Southwest Finland > Turku
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Turku
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,089 - ₹ 12,824
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Club Caribia 3.5*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Turun keskustan tuntumassa sijaitseva Holiday Club Caribia on kylpyla- ja tapahtumahotelli, jossa jarjestetaan pienia ja suuria kohtaamisia. Caribiassa vietetaan hyvia hetkia etelanmerien rennossa hengessa, kylvetaan, rentoudutaan, kuntoillaan ja inspiroidutaan; ladataan akkuja ja saadaan energiaa. Milloin viimeksi kavit aidossa savusaunassa, hurjastelit vesiliukumaessa tai annoit itsellesi luvan hengahtaa? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Club Caribia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing