We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit far from the city center, but OK for a short break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Club Caribia
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Turku
Reviewed 2 October 2011

Not very close to the city center, but a nice chain hotel with almost no thrills or surprises. An old Holiday Club concept that offers you decent (and a bit outdated) spa facilities (especially for the kids) and surprisingly cheap minigolf just outside of the hotel. OK for a short stay in Turku.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iksu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (211)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Club Caribia
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

89 - 93 of 211 reviews

Reviewed 30 August 2011

Arrived at the hotel after a what seemed a very long trip - flew out of Heathrow with a connecting flight to Turku. We we given an hour for connecting flight and it takes that long to get through Helsinki airport.....its massive!
Reception staff at Caribia were very friendly - we had two rooms booked. There was a mix up with the booking so we were given an 'upgraded superior room'. Both that and the standard room were of a fair standard - very clean. they had heeded a prior request for a kettle in my parents room as dad can only drink boiled water, and also an arm chair for him to sit in.
Our superior room had a lounge and lovely bathroom, along with a mini bar.
Just as well as there was no bar in the hotel, and no restaurant which we found very strange for a 4 star hotel. In the basement there is somewhere you can get a drink and something to eat - at a cost! Everyone had told us how expensive it was - 1st night and 4 main courses, 3 desserts and 3 drinks was 110 euro.
Breakfast was busy and all the usual european delights.
Many dogs in the hotel on the Thursday but quieter on the Friday.
Hotel is quite a way from town, 2.50 euro on the bus though which stops outside and the return is valid for 2 hours wich is handy of you want to just pop in quickly. Lovely walks along the river - the tall ships regatta was on this weekend wich meant there was loads going on.
Have done plenty of mini city breaks in Europe and to be honest Turku left alot to be desired. Would love to see it in winter though. However - would not fly with Finnair again by choice! All flights delayed (four in total for return trip), food rubbish and staff surly.
Ok hotel in bad location - a lot of money for what it was, should have stayed in town as more was going on there.

Room Tip: Email and ask for dog free room - they will do their best to accomodate
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dafttart41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2011

There are many swimming pools with massaging showers and waterfalls in the swimming pool section. There are also three waterslides which are 25, 80 and 117 meters long. These waterslides are suitable for adults and children over 8-9 years. There is also a very good kid's pool (32 cm deep, +35 degrees Celsius) with a very small waterslide for small children. Other pools are very deep. There is also the outdoor section with adults' pool, cold water pool and small children's pool. Rooms are very basic and the breakfast is good.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JariJK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2011

I stayed here for the Finnish preselection weekend for Eurovision 2011. The hotel is quite old. The building is unattractive and has inside many kitschy Caribbean style details. It's a business/family spa hotel with a recreation spa attached to the building. Location is good close to the city. You pay for parking. Paying is only possible at outside machines and they didn't give a receipt upon check-out (didn't probably work due to the extreme cold outside - it was -18C). The hotel didn't take responsibility for this but I needed to call the parking company hotline - nobody answered. So I wrote a complaint via e-mail and now looking forward to an answer. Parking space was sufficient. Check-in was fast and friendly. The room was very basic and worn (cheap quality of furniture and materials, very dirty windows) with nothing really special inside. Wireless internet was for free. An appropriate LCD TV, two beds with second-rate pillows (old and worn), an empty fridge (no minibar), two bathrobes (but no slippers). Extra towels were possible to get for a charge of 4€ for a set which is ridicilous for a spa hotel. To go to the spa you need to go to the basement and walk thru the spa area in shows/clothing with covers - just to get to the changing rooms. Spa is fun but too crowded. Pools are dirty under the water (saw dirt with goggles at many points). Water temp is good. There is a water slide, many massage points or waterfalls in a couple of pools, one jacuzzi upstairs, an outdoor pool (was closed due to arctic weather), and a 16 meter pool upstairs (was reserved for a group of grandma's so couldn't use it). A Finnish sauna separately for men or women, and a steam bath which was unisex. My friend hurt his toe and was immediately helped by the spa staff with bandage etc. There is a pool bar but it was closed - even though Finland's largest TV event of the year was being held in the hotel, with many show business people around. I used the gym twice - cardio machines were old and looked tired (Technogym). Free weights were okay but there was only one hand weight for 7kg's. No staff around in the gym to consult/ask. Breakfast was of a good quality. They had everything from bacon and scrambled eggs to warm sausages, fruits, muesli, and cold cuts & cheeses. Better than average at a Finnish hotel. I rate this hotel average with some negative points (parking confusing, extra towels not free of charge etc). It is quite expensive also - for a double room we paid around 130 euros for a night (includes the spa though). My friend lost his camera on one night at the hotel but got it later back from the lost and found point at the reception - which was very nice and honest. Check-out was very friendly and professional. You might enjoy it but as I have been to many hotels much better than this I wouldn't stay here again if it weren't for a good reason though - like a special event in the hotel. In Turku I would prefer Scandic Plaza or Radisson Blu in the city center.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank henri_s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2010

The spa area is lovely for kids who can swim, and, on the other hand, for toddlers/babies. The water in the kiddies pool is really warm! For kids who are just learning to swim, there is one problem though: there really is no pool in which they could safely practice swimming so that -if needed- their feet would always touch the ground. All the pools except the children's pool (which was about 30-40 cm deep I guess) are 130 cm deep and although usually my daughter likes to practice swimming without inflatables, she was too afraid to try it here :(.

Our room was small for two adults and two children. For two people, it would be just adequate. Also, it was not cleaned properly - there was still dust on the floor. If you're allergic to animals, make sure to ask for a room suitable for people who are allergic (we saw dogs in many rooms there. Probably there are certain rooms that are reserved for people with pets, but best to make sure...)

The food was nothing special in the restaurants at the hotel, and I think the variety and quality of food served at breakfast was quite poor compared to many other hotels we've stayed in. For example, bread was dry and tasteless :(. This was a disappointment for me since I really think breakfast is an important part of a stay at a hotel.

However, we would gladly stay here again. And Turku is a lovely town with lots of interesting sights! Our kids had their bikes with and they just loved biking around the hotel and the by the river, and there were many nice playgrounds nearby.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anniina73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Turku
2.3 km away
Radisson Blu Marina Palace Hotel, Turku
11.0 km away
Ruissalo Spa Hotel
Ruissalo Spa Hotel
#13 of 17 in Turku
87 reviews
14.1 km away
The Naantali Spa
The Naantali Spa
#1 of 2 in Naantali
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Scandic Julia
Scandic Julia
#3 of 17 in Turku
581 reviews
2.3 km away
Cumulus Turku Hotel
Cumulus Turku Hotel
#9 of 17 in Turku
197 reviews
1.9 km away
Scandic Plaza Turku
Scandic Plaza Turku
#2 of 17 in Turku
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Club Caribia? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Club Caribia

Address: Kongressikuja 1, Turku 20540, Finland
Region: Finland > Southwest Finland > Turku
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Turku
Price Range: ₹ 9,281 - ₹ 15,512 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Club Caribia 3.5*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Turun keskustan tuntumassa sijaitseva Holiday Club Caribia on kylpyla- ja tapahtumahotelli, jossa jarjestetaan pienia ja suuria kohtaamisia. Caribiassa vietetaan hyvia hetkia etelanmerien rennossa hengessa, kylvetaan, rentoudutaan, kuntoillaan ja inspiroidutaan; ladataan akkuja ja saadaan energiaa. Milloin viimeksi kavit aidossa savusaunassa, hurjastelit vesiliukumaessa tai annoit itsellesi luvan hengahtaa? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Holiday Club Caribia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing