We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Positive surprise!”
Review of Hotel Helka

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Helka
Ranked #13 of 66 Hotels in Helsinki
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 2 July 2017

I remember this hotel about then years back being a little shabby but what a great facelift they have made!

Scandinav-ish simplicity with modern boutique-ish details: Sansevieria pot plant, award-winning design lamp and clever forest/countryside landscape pictures create soul-nourishing niceties.

The single room on the courtyard side was quiet despite the central location by a busy street. Large bed could have been a little softer to my taste.

Small and homely top floor sauna will stay in my memories because for the first time I saw someone with a tablet computer in sauna :D ! And no, he was not Finnish....

Breakfast was also homely set, fresh and tasty. Boiled eggs could have been warm and munavoi with carelian pies could have been softer.

Room Tip: Courtyard side is quieter, duh...
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jukka B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelHelka, Reception at Hotel Helka, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2017

Dear Jukka,

Thank you for your honest feedback.
We're really happy to hear that our hotel deco is in the better direction over the years.
So fun to hear that our sauna did an unforgettable impact!
We will send improvements about breakfast forward but good hear that you enjoyed the breakfast.

Hopefully we will see again!

Best regards
Janette
Hotelli Helka

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,118)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Helka
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

28 - 32 of 1,118 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2017

Generally this hotel is fine - it is located a little out of the city centre but close to trams and the Kamppi metro/bus station. Our room was small - we asked about upgrading to a larger room but they were booked out due to a large medical conference in town.
We got used to the room - but it is about as small for two adults that you would want. It was quiet (not facing the street) and the bathroom was fine (and an admirable example of how compact a bathroom can be)! The front desk staff were very helpful. Breakfast was excellent. Some parts of the hotel are being refurbished, but we had no issues with noise. If you can get a good price for a room and you can deal with a small room (probably a short stay or just for one) it is more than acceptable. Wifi was fine.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pjpsaint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelHelka, Service manager at Hotel Helka, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2017

Hello pjpsaint,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback. I am glad you made the most of th room size, for a longer stay we recommend booking one of our Comfort rooms.

Hope you have a lovely summer and see you again!

Oona H.
Hotel Helka

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2017 via mobile

If you arrive by train from the airport (ALL trains go to Helsinki's main railways station) you can either walk around 10min to the hotel, or take Tram #2 to Kamppi (3 stops) walk North, then cross over the canal and turn right- you are there in 3min.
The room (single) was small and fairly clean, had AC and a radiator (needed as cold outside!). My highlight was (as previously mentioned) the amazing (organic) breakfast: warm smoked salmon, coconut bircher muesli and 'berry shots' were my favourites... very good coffee too!!
The reception staff was really lovely and helpful. Be aware that the sauna isn't mixed, and the times limited (board above the reception).

Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
Thank Son_UK22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelHelka, Reception at Hotel Helka, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2017

Dear Son_UK22,

Thank you for your feedback.
We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our delicious breakfast. We work our best to give our guests the best visit experience e.g. to provide varied breakfast. Hopefully you enjoyed your staying here in Helka and hopefully we meet again.

Have a lovely summer!

Best regards
Janette

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2017

A friendly and clean hotel in a convenient location very near Kamppi bus station and just a short tram ride from the main train station and the Kauppatori. Walking distance from the Temppeliaukion church and the art museum.
Highlights are the staff - exceptionally helpful in a friendly, informal way - and the delicious breakfast buffet. Rooms are simple and comfortable with a lot of light. The sauna on the top floor is definitely worth a visit

Room Tip: The larger twin rooms are worth any extra cost - although the standard rooms are fine
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank tarostra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelHelka, Reception at Hotel Helka, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2017

Dear tarostra,

We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your staying here in Helka and we really appreciate that you saw the effort to leave us feedback. Hopefully we see you soon again.

Have a nice summer!

Best regards
Janette

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2017

This hotel seemed to be used by quite a lot of packages whether from southern Europe or various parts of Asia. It's in a tired building with inadequate investment and the experience is wholly devoid of charm although once public transport system is cracked its location is not too bad.

Black features prominently in decor - carpets, bathroom floors - and is an excuse for imperfect cleaning.

Receptionists are not unlike prison warders but at least there is scope for automatic check-in. Arrangements for stored luggage are not as secure as they might be.

En suite was badly carved out of original bedroom and the wall to the next bedroom was not robust. Decor was very tired and even more depressing.

Obvious things - like lavatory in bathroom and interior of washbasin - are clean but don't look too closely e.g. corners of room. Pillows smelt of sweat, and outlet for air cooling was very grubby: the place is not easy to maintain. Breakfast was reasonable. Wifi worked well. Bathroom toiletries better quality than expected but mean with towels and again these smelt of sweat.

Guests seemed happy but this is not a place for the more fastidious or aesthetically sensitive traveler.

Room Tip: there are inner courtyard rooms though the road outside is not so busy by big city standards
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank gettingaround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelHelka, service manager at Hotel Helka, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2017

Hello gettingaround,

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback. I am sorry to hear that we did not live up to your expectations this time. We are renovating all rooms and bathrooms at the moment. First rooms will be ready in August and February next year all rooms will have a fresh new face. In the new designs we are focusing on a scandinavian athmosphere thru classic Artek-furniture, we are also reneving our textiles.
Thank you for noticing our brand new modern check-in desks and I´m happy that you enjoyed our wonderful Thann-products in the bathrooms.
Your feedback confimed that these renovations are truly needed, thank you for that. We will always try to better ourselves in every aspect.

Have a lovely summer!

Oona Hytönen
Service manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Hilton Helsinki Strand
#7 of 66 in Helsinki
670 reviews
Vironniemi
GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki
Fabian Hotel
#2 of 66 in Helsinki
1,174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vironniemi
Hotel Katajanokka
Hotel Katajanokka
#4 of 66 in Helsinki
1,741 reviews
GLO Hotel Art
#19 of 66 in Helsinki
1,620 reviews
Vironniemi
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Helka? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Helka

Address: Pohjoinen Rautatiekatu 23, Helsinki 00100, Finland
Phone Number:
Region: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
#11 Family Hotel in Helsinki
#11 Green Hotel in Helsinki
#13 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
#20 Business Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range: ₹ 7,137 - ₹ 14,044 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Helka 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casual Elegance inspired by Finnish Design and Nature! Only 250 meters from Kamppi Metro Station, privately owned Hotel Helka offers 150 functional rooms, fine dining and a cozy street bar. All the rooms have design furniture and a strong sense of Finnish nature. All of the rooms have air-cooling system, minibars and flat-screen TVs. Breakfast buffet, use of Sauna and WiFi connection are complimentary for all guests. Hotel Helka is housed in a refurbished 1920s building. The bright rooms feature decor by Artek and other well-known Finnish design brands and designers. Guests can enjoy drinks and snacks in Helka’s trendy Lobby Bar. Helka’s central location provides easy access to shopping, dining and culture. Helsinki Central Station is 10 minute walk away. Welcome to the Heart of Helsinki! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Helka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Helka Hotel Helsinki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing