We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mostly a great hotel, very disappointed that sauna and spa were unavailable during my stay.”
Review of Hotel Helka

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Helka
Ranked #13 of 66 Hotels in Helsinki
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 16 November 2014

Good points:
Location: great location so close to all the main sites.
Service: the service has been very good staff are attentive and helpful
Restaurant: the food is amazing serving traditional Finnish food at a very reasonable price
Room: clean, tea and coffee provided, well stocked mini bar and free wifi.

Bad points: sauna and spa were not functional during my stay. I booked this hotel because of these facilities. A temporary sauna had been put in place however it was only open between 1700 and 2100. I was very disappointed with this.

Room: I got a single room, the room was small. Travelling from Australia back to the UK for a couple of months I had a lot of luggage. I spent the whole stay tripping over my suitcase.

Overall this is a good hotel. It is clean and close to all the main sites. The staff are great and I highly recommend the restaurant. I was disappointed that the facilities that I was most interested we unavailable for my stay and if I had know this prior to booking I probably would have stayed somewhere else.

  • Stayed: November 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JWalter87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,172)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

349 - 353 of 1,172 reviews

Reviewed 8 November 2014 via mobile

It's rare that I stay in a hotel for more than a few days. My wife and I stayed here for nearly two weeks whilst she was carrying out academic research. The cost for the two weeks was very reasonable and was train enough to stay there, as Helsinki can be expensive. The front of house staff and restaurant staff were friendly and very helpful. The room was very good, one of the larger ones I believe, with plenty of space. Comfortable beds. The facilities were quite good. Free WiFi; tea making facilities; T.V. (although it was not easy to see from the beds and had to be repositioned!); phone. The last may seem redundant in the age of the mobile phone, but roaming charges can be prohibitive and the phone frees at the Helka seemed very fair. There was a moderately sized work desk in the room, which we found helpful. The floor was dark hardwood rather than carpet which have the room a slightly utilitarian air, but I guess that is merely a matter of taste. The bathroom was not very big, but certainly adequate. No bath, but a very good shower unit.

I really have no significant concerns our complaints about this hotel, compliments mostly. The restaurant is slightly overpriced and the menu lacks variety. Most people only stay a few days so this may not be a problem for many travellers. But the hotel is very centrally located and there are many good restaurants close at hand. The breakfasts are very very generous and although they don't change from day to day at all, there is such a variety that you'll not be bored with breakfast.

The hotel is handy both for exploring Helsinki and farther afield, as it is close to all public transport hubs.

Highly recommended.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
Thank BwanaBunduki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2014

Hotel is located near bus terminal and tram station. great location.
Room is clean, staffs are nice. very good breakfast. I will choose this hotel if I come to Helsiniki in the future.
Wifi is good.

  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank KaoFrances
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas H, Asiakaspalvelujohtaja at Hotel Helka, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2014

Thank you for your kind review and we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Helka.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2014

I wasn´t expecting much of this hotel but it´s just great. The room has space enough for two persons, a good table to work, the shower is very good too. The sauna on the last floor as different sofas to make meetings. The bar at the lobby is nice and cozy with a bathroom besides.
The breaksfast is JUST fantastic. One of the bests I´ve ever tried. Many options, local food, as the lunch. Well located, near, bar, cafes, pubs and restaurants. The staff is very good and you can leave your bycicles at the lobby. When late returning it´s very safe.

Room Tip: I think ask about the design and space will help you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank GuilhermeSprenger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2014

Returning via Estonia after recent Euro qualifier stayed for one night.
Impressive breakfast,stylish value rooms,excellent staff ,good location and close to impressive Church in the Rock.
Recommended.


Stayed: October 2014, travelled with friends
Thank simonos01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Vironniemi
Scandic Grand Marina
Scandic Grand Marina
#20 of 66 in Helsinki
2,550 reviews
Vironniemi
Hotel Katajanokka
Hotel Katajanokka
#4 of 66 in Helsinki
1,963 reviews
Fabian Hotel
#2 of 66 in Helsinki
1,253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
GLO Hotel Art
#24 of 66 in Helsinki
1,705 reviews
Kampinmalmi
Hotelli Finn
Hotelli Finn
#23 of 66 in Helsinki
642 reviews
Vironniemi
GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Helka? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Helka

Address: Pohjoinen Rautatiekatu 23, Helsinki 00100, Finland
Phone Number:
Region: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
#11 Green Hotel in Helsinki
#13 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
#20 Business Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range: ₹ 6,531 - ₹ 13,699 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Helka 4*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casual Elegance inspired by Finnish Design and Nature! Only 250 meters from Kamppi Metro Station, privately owned Hotel Helka offers 150 functional rooms, fine dining and a cozy street bar. All the rooms have design furniture and a strong sense of Finnish nature. All of the rooms have air-cooling system, minibars and flat-screen TVs. Breakfast buffet, use of Sauna and WiFi connection are complimentary for all guests. Hotel Helka is housed in a refurbished 1920s building. The bright rooms feature decor by Artek and other well-known Finnish design brands and designers. Guests can enjoy drinks and snacks in Helka’s trendy Lobby Bar. Helka’s central location provides easy access to shopping, dining and culture. Helsinki Central Station is 10 minute walk away. Welcome to the Heart of Helsinki! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Helka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Helka Hotel Helsinki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing