We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice for tourist purposes”
Review of Hotel Helka

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Helka
Ranked #14 of 66 Hotels in Helsinki
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 26 August 2011

And here is the truth about Helka:

- Excellent location in Kamppi -> lot of nightlife nearby, metro one block away, 5 mins to center, beach etc..
- Quiet hotel
- Decorated in Finnish style, lot of wood, nature images etc
- Free small sauna department (own saunas for male / women)
- Free internet
- Rooms have seen their best days -> need some painting and tuning. Nothing disastrous though. Beds not the most comfy. 3* standard. Ok if you are not picky and want to see Helsinki!
- Cheap minibar
- Excellent restaurant that has/had michelin nomination
- A kebab classic "arkadia" next to!
- Bikes for rent etc....
- Helpful staff

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mokoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,158)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

558 - 562 of 1,158 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Helka hotel for a couple of nights on a ferry trip from Tallinn, the hotel is so so but not worth 125 euros a night for a twin room, the rooms are very tired getting well passed their best, the beds are not good, more like hammocks as the springs are long gone in the middle, corridors are very gloomy...on a positive note the rooms are clean, the reception is very friendly and efficient, breakfast was good but very busy, struggling to get a seat both mornings, location is maybe a bit to far from the center but taxis a pretty reasonable compared to most European cities, as expected food and drink in Helsinki is expensive but strangely enough the room minibar was cheaper than anywhere else ( its usually the other way round) only 3.5 euros for a beer all in all I don't think this hotel is worth what we paid it badly needs refurbished.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BJPDunfermline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2011

Just stayed at Helka for 2nights for on The Beach 2011, basic hotel but clean an staff pleasent, great location 5 min walk into the centre! Great for a weekend away!

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LHPO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2011

Our room was large and had a real sitting area didn't have to sit on the bed to watch TV in fact if you want to watch from bed the TV would swing around. Our room only had a shower but can't say if all rooms are the same. The windows open whick keep the room cool but there was a lot sounds coming from the street we were on the 2nd floor so maybe ask for a higher floor ther are 6 floors. We found it to be clean and well kept but the front side door didn't look that way. Breakfest was very good and included in the room rate.
Just two blocks fro the hotel is the Temppeleaukia Church the church carved out of rock it's worth going to two block. Olus there are two very good gift shop right there so you can get all your Helsinki gift right there near ther hotel. One night we took a walk to the cemetery which ended up being well worth the walk. There is a parking area.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KeithAlbany_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2011

I was pleasantly surprised at how nice the hotel, facilites and accommodations were after walking to the hotel from the bus station. I took the shuttle from the airport and found the bus station area is very safe-feeling.The hotel, however, is in a 'dicey' area with nightclubs and what I thought were strip clubs.... As a solo traveler, I wasn't sure what I was getting into as I journied on foot to the hotel. However, I found a more comfortable route for sight-seeing after I checked in.
I WOULD recommend this hotel but just so you know the area abit.
Internet in my room that had windows on 2 sides!
Staff very nice!
Breakfast good!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eleanore44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Vironniemi
Scandic Grand Marina
Scandic Grand Marina
#21 of 66 in Helsinki
2,507 reviews
Fabian Hotel
#2 of 66 in Helsinki
1,232 reviews
Vironniemi
Hotel Katajanokka
Hotel Katajanokka
#4 of 66 in Helsinki
1,921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kampinmalmi
Hotelli Finn
Hotelli Finn
#20 of 66 in Helsinki
639 reviews
Vironniemi
GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki
Scandic Park Helsinki
#25 of 66 in Helsinki
2,075 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Helka? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Helka

Address: Pohjoinen Rautatiekatu 23, Helsinki 00100, Finland
Phone Number:
Region: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
#11 Green Hotel in Helsinki
#14 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
#20 Business Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range: ₹ 6,305 - ₹ 12,455 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Helka 4*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casual Elegance inspired by Finnish Design and Nature! Only 250 meters from Kamppi Metro Station, privately owned Hotel Helka offers 150 functional rooms, fine dining and a cozy street bar. All the rooms have design furniture and a strong sense of Finnish nature. All of the rooms have air-cooling system, minibars and flat-screen TVs. Breakfast buffet, use of Sauna and WiFi connection are complimentary for all guests. Hotel Helka is housed in a refurbished 1920s building. The bright rooms feature decor by Artek and other well-known Finnish design brands and designers. Guests can enjoy drinks and snacks in Helka’s trendy Lobby Bar. Helka’s central location provides easy access to shopping, dining and culture. Helsinki Central Station is 10 minute walk away. Welcome to the Heart of Helsinki! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Helka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Helka Hotel Helsinki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing