We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved my room and the breakfast!”
Review of Hotel Helka

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Helka
Ranked #13 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 13 August 2011

I was pleasantly surprised at how nice the hotel, facilites and accommodations were after walking to the hotel from the bus station. I took the shuttle from the airport and found the bus station area is very safe-feeling.The hotel, however, is in a 'dicey' area with nightclubs and what I thought were strip clubs.... As a solo traveler, I wasn't sure what I was getting into as I journied on foot to the hotel. However, I found a more comfortable route for sight-seeing after I checked in.
I WOULD recommend this hotel but just so you know the area abit.
Internet in my room that had windows on 2 sides!
Staff very nice!
Breakfast good!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eleanore44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,119)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Helka
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

544 - 548 of 1,119 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2011

Helka is a good choice if you want to experience some Finnish design, the hotel has character and it's located very conveniently. Our room was really quite spacious, bed was really comfortable too. Really enjoyed the breakfast, enough choice. Only criticisms would be that even with the air conditioning on full (we were on the 6th floor) it was uncomfortably hot. It would have been perfect to open the windows in the night but they opened up onto a courtyard and the flat opposite us had really loud parties every night so had to keep the windows closed and sweat!

All in all though was really happy with our choice of hotel, I paid £155 for three nights so had an absolute bargain...

Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
Thank Newcomer77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2011

I stayed here for four nights. The hotel was about 4 blocks from the railway and bus station. It was also within walking distance of the city centre or public transportation. Shopping was about 1-2 blocks away--large malls and grocery store in the basement of the mall.
Hotel staff was very helpful when I had problem with street noise. Try for a room away from the street side. They were also helpful in tourist activities. Got a wonderful rate for a very comfortable room.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the street. Late night bar is very noisy.
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samba120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2011

On the way back from a family wedding in Finland we wanted to stay a couple of nights in Helsinki and booked the Helka.
It turned out to be a pretty good choice. It is within easy reach of the city centre (10 minutes walk) and the main sights.
Public transport is good as the bus station is close by as is the metro ( Kamppi) while the tram 3T also runs nearby.
The hotel is modern inside and the staff at the reception desk and bar were polite and efficient.
Our room was small and there was little wardrobe space although it didn't matter too much as we were only staying for 2 nights - if we had been staying longer I might have tried for a bigger room however.
The beds were comfortable and although the room overlooked a mainish road (we were on the 3rd floor) traffic noice was almost non existant and we both slept well.
Internet access is available free in the room via the tv set which was useful for checking in our return flight.
Apart from the lack of space the other main downside was the rather dirty state of the shower room
Breakfast was included and was a buffet breakfast with a wide choice of hot dishes with various fruit and cereals also on offer. The advertised finish time was 10am and the restaurant staff started clearing away promptly at 10 so don't leave it too late !
All in all a pleasant hotel which we would stay at again. We were charged 85 euros per night for the room with breakfast which was reasonable value. All in all it would suit anyone staying in Helsinki on a city break but try and get a bigger room if you are staying more than a couple of nights.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hubbardfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2011

The hotel is only a short walk from the main Helsinki Railway Station and close to the metro and tram for access to ferry terminals. The rooms (we were on the 9th floor) were nice and quiet, even with the windows open.
An efficiently run hotel; checking in and out took seconds.
Our suite had a private sauna which we used whenever we returned to the hotel. It was excellent.
The breakfast room was busy but the choice was good.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barry047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Hilton Helsinki Strand
#7 of 64 in Helsinki
677 reviews
Vironniemi
GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki
Fabian Hotel
#2 of 64 in Helsinki
1,175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vironniemi
Hotel Katajanokka
Hotel Katajanokka
#4 of 64 in Helsinki
1,748 reviews
GLO Hotel Art
#19 of 64 in Helsinki
1,626 reviews
Vironniemi
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Helka? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Helka

Address: Pohjoinen Rautatiekatu 23, Helsinki 00100, Finland
Phone Number:
Region: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
#11 Family Hotel in Helsinki
#11 Green Hotel in Helsinki
#13 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
#20 Business Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range: ₹ 7,238 - ₹ 14,165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Helka 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casual Elegance inspired by Finnish Design and Nature! Only 250 meters from Kamppi Metro Station, privately owned Hotel Helka offers 150 functional rooms, fine dining and a cozy street bar. All the rooms have design furniture and a strong sense of Finnish nature. All of the rooms have air-cooling system, minibars and flat-screen TVs. Breakfast buffet, use of Sauna and WiFi connection are complimentary for all guests. Hotel Helka is housed in a refurbished 1920s building. The bright rooms feature decor by Artek and other well-known Finnish design brands and designers. Guests can enjoy drinks and snacks in Helka’s trendy Lobby Bar. Helka’s central location provides easy access to shopping, dining and culture. Helsinki Central Station is 10 minute walk away. Welcome to the Heart of Helsinki! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Helka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Helka Hotel Helsinki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing