We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,246)
Filter reviews
2,246 results
Traveller rating
597
1,134
411
78
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
597
1,134
411
78
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviews railway station floor restaurant excellent location same building top floor department store luggage room central location the heart of the city single room nice stay breakfast is served breakfast room business trip superior room nice room nice hotel
Filter
Updating list...
351 - 356 of 2,246 reviews
Reviewed 15 December 2016

Have stayed at Hotel Vaakuna for many years. Love the place. Rooms are large by today's standards. They're comfortable, well appointed and offer everything you need including a good bed. Breakfast in
T the top floor restaurant, served buffet style, is sumptuous and very satisfying. And the ground floor Casa Largo restaurant is a great place to go for lunch, dinner and evening drinks. Location of the hotel is right in the very center of the city and can't be beat.

Date of stay: December 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank TravelKnight1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vaakuna, Petra, reception at Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2016

Dear TravelKnight,

I am so happy to hear you feel like home when visiting us here in Helsinki. You are always welcome to stay with us and enjoy our services.
And yes, our location is very good for all travellers around the world!

See you soon again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2016

Sokos Hotel Vaakuna is situated in the center of Helsinki just near the railway station.
If you would like to have a quiet room. Please ask for a room with windows to the inner yard.
Breakfast at the 10th floor was excellent.

Date of stay: December 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank JaanaW8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vaakuna, Receptionist at Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2016

Dear Jaana W,

thank you for your visit and for taking the time to comment on your stay with us.

I'm happy to hear that despite our center location you still had a good night sleep and enjoyed our breakfast!

Hopefully we'll get to welcome you back again soon!

Winter greetings,
Jatta
Reception
Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna Helsinki

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2016

Location is good for participants to arrive. Dinner service went fluently without problems and food was praised by the guests. Only problem was in the Morning when one of my guests used elevator what was meant for personnel only. There was a sign on the door warning that it's only for personnel but my guest did not notice it and was stuck several minutes in the elevator before someone from the staff came. Please when You modernize the elevators one day so prevent even the opening of the door without personnel card or tag. Being stuck in elevator can be for certain persons a traumatic experience!!!

Date of stay: December 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank jaakkoi824
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vaakuna, Receptionist at Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2016

Dear jaakkoi824,

thank you for choosing us to accommodate you and your guests while visiting Helsinki. You feedback is highly appreciated.

We are very happy to hear that your dinner was a success and that your guests had a tasteful experience! We are sure to pass on your kind words also to our restaurant staff.

I apologize for the unfortunate miss understanding with our elevators. The staff elevators are marked quite clearly but sometimes people still get lost in the wrong elevator by mistake. It is a security requirement that you can always come down with the elevator even if it requires a tag or a card to use the elevators. There is also an alarm button that you can use in case of this kind of situations. I hope that this didn't cause to much stress to your guests.

Hopefully you'll get a chance to visit us soon again!

Winter greetings,
Jatta
Reception
Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna Helsinki


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2016

Nice Hotel in very good location right next to central railway station with fast connection to HEL airport.
Excellent breakfast. Quiet and quite nice rooms.
A lot of fine restaurants, bars and other services very near.

Date of stay: December 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank jari722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vaakuna, Receptionist at Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2016

Dear jari722,

thank you for visiting our hotel and for taking the time to comment on your stay.

We are very happy to hear that our center location was suitable for your needs and that you had a good night sleep despite the city life around us.

We hope to welcome you back again soon!

Winter greetings,
Jatta
Reception
Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna Helsinki

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2016

nothing much to add to the markings. Maybe the quality of the room did not match the price. The meals too expensive in comparison to money paid for them. Good wines and very good service at the bar. Less good at the reception: the person could not help with the map of Helsinki.

Date of stay: November 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 285anssih
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vaakuna, Petra, reception at Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2016

Dear Anssih,

thank you for your stay here in Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna Helsinki and your time to write this review.
Sorry to hear you did not like all our services, but happy to hear the service at the bar was excellent.
I hope you will choose our hotel next time when visiting Helsinki!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews