We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dirty!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Helsinki
Ranked #23 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
GreenLeadersGold level
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
132 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Dirty!”
Reviewed 27 April 2012

Overall I did not have positive experience of this Hotel. The location and the friendly staff are good but unfortunately I had several negative impressions. Cleaning of our room was VERY poor. The used mugs were not cleaned the stock of the coffee/tea were not filled in. The empty tissue box in the bathroom was not changed. I think the daily room cleaning means only to make up the beds and change the towels. The shower gel in the bath ran out which was not very pleasant when I wanted to have a shower.

The floor and the chairs of the breakfast room were dirty. Because of the crowd they open the Drink Bar area for breakfast which is a dark and cold place with dirty tables without table clothes and far away from the buffet table. Cleaning up the breakfast tables are also very slow although there are several waitresses around.

We had a problem with our TV set which I had to report four times (!) to the Reception before they sent a maintenance guy who changed the wire.

There are no pen and notebook in the room (business Hotel!!) when I brought a pen from the Reception the cleaner took it away next day. No city guide book in the room.

As a summary I would never return to this Hotel and would not suggest to anybody.

Room Tip: 651 is a quiet room overlooking to the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Krisztina234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jukka_vantsi, Front Office Manager at Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Helsinki, responded to this review, 8 May 2012
Dear guest
Thank you for your feedback
We have process lacks your mentioned on your review
with restaurant and Housekeeping. I am sure thayt we
have learn from those mistakes your pointed and amend
our procedures to serve our client with best possible
workmanship and attitude.
Thank you for your valuable commets and looking forward
to see you again at Radísson Blu Royal


Front Office Manager

Jukka Väntsi

Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,398 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    429
    669
    230
    53
    17
See reviews for
174
363
118
542
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
436 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 329 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2012

I have stayed here before - on business mostly - and always found it a decent place to stay

The check-in was friendly and efficient,the room clean and well-setup with things a traveller needs. I enjoyed a glass of wine with a colleague in the bar and - even though I did not eat there - I've had Dinner there before which was good. There are though plenty of places to eat nearby

So for the price a very good deal and would have no problem in returning to stay

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trwilbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guerneville, CA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

The Radisson Blu Royal was the third of 3 hotels we stayed in during our Baltic countries tour. It was by far the largest and most comfortable room we'd experienced. The beds were wonderful. The bathroom was large and well equipped. The over-all appearance was stylish. The included breakfast was terrific with a wide variety of fresh items. I noticed, however, that there was a moderate amount of mold in the bathroom at the ceiling over the bath-tub and toilet. I let reception know that it needed to be taken care of early in the morning after our first night. When we left two days later it was still there! Not the kind of service we expected. I can't believe that the maids hadn't seen it before!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mosaicarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jukka_vantsi, Front Office Manager at Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Helsinki, responded to this review, 29 March 2012
Dear guest
Thank you for you feedback and nice rating.
I am sorry to hear about mold in the bathroom and even more sorry to
hear that we were not able to clean that during you stay. We have discuss
this case throuhg with HSKP manager and with my crew at the reception.
I truly think that we have learn our lesson.
An one more time thank you for your warm words about our large and most
confortable rooms and beds.

Welcome again

Jukka Väntsi
Front office manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
188 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2012

Just returned from a 3 day stay in Helsinki. The Radisson Royal was a high standard hotel and what you expect from a hotel chain. The Grill It restaurant was very good.
The hotel was really busy and had lots of business men staying. This did give it a certain atmosphere and it was not a romantic place to stay! We struggled to find a table for breakfast each morning as it was so busy but the staff were very helpful in clearing a table for us.
It was a good location for central Helsinki.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oleadam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jukka_vantsi, Front Office Manager at Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Helsinki, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you for your feedback. As you mentined during the businessweek most
of our guests are business travellers, but during weekends and holiday monts
most of the guests are on holiday. We are offering good setting for both needs.

Thank you for your comments and welcome back

Jukka Väntsi

Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2012

It's always nice to stay at a radisson hotel - you know what you get.

I stayed at room 437, a room in a corner at the end of the right wing.
Very quite room and I think it was a rather large room.

Clean, neat and spacy with a Queenbed that was very comfortable.

Bathroom was a little smal, but equiped with a bathtub and free schampo etc.

Good tv channels.
Free slippers :)

Bar at the groundfloor was nice and crowded.

Overall I nice hotel with a very serviceminded staff. But... The hotel is getting older and you see that at furniture, for example in room 437 there was a stylish and modern rockingchair, this rockingchair was very used...

Anyhow - I Will return to this hotel

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tompatiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jukka_vantsi, Front Office Manager at Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Helsinki, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
Thank you for your comments
I will make sure that rockingchair you mentioned will be checked and repaired asap.
I glad to hear that you were satisfied for our staff´s servicewilllingness and attitude.
That is our most important resource furthermore nice and clean property.
Welcome again

Best Regards

Jukka Väntsi
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Vironniemi
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki
Kampinmalmi
Radisson Blu Aleksanteri
Radisson Blu Aleksanteri
#34 of 64 in Helsinki
119 reviews
Kampinmalmi
Radisson Blu Seaside Hotel, Helsinki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kampinmalmi
Scandic Simonkentta
Scandic Simonkentta
#21 of 64 in Helsinki
1,452 reviews
Kampinmalmi
Solo Sokos Hotel Torni
Solo Sokos Hotel Torni
#14 of 64 in Helsinki
900 reviews
Kampinmalmi
Hotel Indigo Helsinki - Boulevard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Helsinki? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Helsinki

Property: Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Helsinki
Address: Runeberginkatu 2, Helsinki 00100, Finland (Formerly Radisson SAS)
Phone Number:
Region: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki > Kampinmalmi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Helsinki
#7 Family Hotel in Helsinki
#12 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#21 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
#21 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,075 - ₹ 16,300
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Helsinki 4*
Number of rooms: 262
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sleek Business-oriented Hotel with striking glass facade & atrium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Helsinki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Helsinki Hotel Helsinki
Radisson Helsinki
Helsinki Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing