We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice rooms and excellent breakfast!”
Review of Fabian Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fabian Hotel
Ranked #2 of 65 Hotels in Helsinki
Certificate of Excellence
Helsinki, Finland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Nice rooms and excellent breakfast!”
Reviewed 28 April 2012

I stayed in the hotel for 3 nights. The rooms are large, modern and stylish. Breakfast is excellent. The service is above average. Even the location of the hotel is nice.

I would recommend the hotel for those who want to stay in a high quality and cozy hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nufdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,155 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    857
    264
    30
    3
    1
See reviews for
158
530
87
206
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Malvern, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2012

Spent 3 days here while visiting Helsinki. The Fabian is an excellent, small designer hotel in a quiet street, a short walk from the centre of the city. Our Style room on the 5th floor was large and bright and very well equipped with good quality furniture and a very comfortable bed. The bathroom was a good size but only had a shower. Appreciated small extras were the free wifi and coffee-making facilities in the room. The breakfast buffet was very good with a great range of fruits, meats and fish and eggs cooked to order. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Style rooms on top two floors are larger and brighter than comfort rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank psandps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2012

Fabian is a newish, small boutique hotel two blocks south of the Esplanad park.
This was my first stay and it became my new favorite in Helsinki, where I’ve
stayed in most central hotels before.

Fabian is characterised by its stylish, cozy interior, large rooms and nice details.
Everything is of high quality from selected materials to cleanliness to room
amenities to breakfast buffet. While creating a stylish hotel they’ve still managed
to keep the atmosphere relaxed and prices reasonable.

I only have positive comments about the service. When I arrived at 2am from the
airport they had all my check in administration ready to be signed and I was in
my room in no time. Every time I passed anyone I was greeted and the personnel
seems to consist of happy people – which not so typical in Helsinki.

The fantastic location not only allows you reach everything in the city center
by foot, but also to have a morning jog along the sea coast and through the
Kaivopuisto park. During those dreadful icy winter months when outdoor
exercise is the last thing you would consider doing, I was told you can use the
gym at the Haven hotel just around the corner.

Thank you for the wonderful stay – I will be back next time!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yozsta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

I enjoyed this hotel for its modern decor and designer ouches - such as the Tivoli radio and the 'Barcelona' styled chair. The room was comfortable and would have been perfect but for the periodic noise from the ceiling - possibly the heating or air con.,rumbling like a hungry stomach at random intervals.
Within a day of our 'stay' a strange pungent odor seemed to emit from the shower base of all places. A distinct stuffy chemical odor. In fairness to the staff, they immediately offered a change of room which I declined not wishing them any inconvenience (others may differ). The staff were pleasant and the breakfasts noteworthy for the care in preparation. Apart from my mention of the minor flaws, this would have rated an 'excellent'. Would I stay again? Yes, the hotel deserves another chance for the effort that has been made to present an appealing environment.

Room Tip: Recommend booking a larger room as we did.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank designmatters2me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2012

We stayed in two style rooms with 2 adults and 1 child (aged 3 and 5) in each room for three nights. Although I can not falt the hotel, staff or location in hindsight it wasn't the best choice for us.
The rooms were big, modern and classy, but by the time we put in 2 big suitcases, carry on bags, skis and 3 people in each of the rooms they seemed much smaller.
Breakfast selection was great, in fact my husband thinks it is the best hotel breakfast he has ever had. Smoked salmon, nuts and pasteries were a big hit with the adults. On the other hand simple kids food was a bit limited. The 2 mornings we ate breakfast at the hotel we were the only family there. Everyone else seemed to be on business or couples and the atmosphere was quite formal. We found ourselves hushing the kids a bit.
The staff were very helpful and friendly. We had an early start on the last morning and the staff encouraged us to grab a few pasteries and dirnks to eat on the way to the airport.
In summary Hotel Fabian is a wonderful hotel, but we felt like the kids needed to be on their best behaviour so it was difficult to relax.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kodibax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Hotel Lilla Roberts
#3 of 65 in Helsinki
476 reviews
Hotel F6
#1 of 65 in Helsinki
423 reviews
Hotel Haven
#8 of 65 in Helsinki
1,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vironniemi
GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki
Vironniemi
Hotel Kamp
Hotel Kamp
#6 of 65 in Helsinki
1,372 reviews
Vironniemi
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fabian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fabian Hotel

Property: Fabian Hotel
Address: Fabianinkatu 7, Helsinki 00130, Finland
Phone Number:
Region: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 65 Hotels in Helsinki
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,724 - ₹ 24,337
Hotel Class:4 star — Fabian Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 58-room hotel at Fabianinkatu 7 right in the heart of the city expands the range of services available for travellers who prefer to plan their trips themselves. A special feature of the new hotel will be eight extended stay rooms for those who wish to spend a longer time in Helsinki. The architecture of the building plays a key role in the design of the interiors creating a unique identity for the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fabian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing