We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Thai in Scandinavia?”
Review of Farang

Farang
Ranked #15 of 1,486 Restaurants in Helsinki
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 33 - US$ 266
Cuisines: Asian, Thai, Vietnamese, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Kampinmalmi
Description: tel +358 9 4544 212
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best Thai in Scandinavia?”
Reviewed 7 March 2012

Voted the best restaurant in Finland 2011 and not surprised.
Everything is simple and so tasty. Love it!

Helpful?
1 Thank pekontom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

504 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    284
    146
    51
    17
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
53 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great food, good service, ok atmosphere.”
Reviewed 26 February 2012

I live in Helsinki. I have visited this restaurant three times and it is my favorite restaurant in Helsinki at the moment. The food is absolutely great, tasty, with fresh and authentic South-East Asian flavors.

The best thing to eat at Farang is the tasting menu of several small dishes. I cannot pick my favorite dish as they are all really good. We have had a small problem of getting the different dishes too fast in a row, but I guess the idea is to eat them partly at the same time and not one after the other like in European restaurants. Rice is served with the tasting menu, and they will be happy to bring you more if you need some at any stage of the dinner.

The service is good, not extraordinary though (as opposed to the food which really is extraordinarily good). The restaurant is a bit noisy as the acoustics are a bit too hard, but it doesn't bother too much.

One more thing: they have the best cocktail I've ever tasted, the Lady Boi. A bit like mojito with an Asian twist.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FromHelsinkiWithLove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Outstanding modern Asian”
Reviewed 24 February 2012

Fine dining -level but very approachable, modern and innovative cuisine from Southeast Asia. Good service, outstanding coctail list. The food is impeccable.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank random_adventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Finland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Asian fine dining with a twang”
Reviewed 23 February 2012

First time to the much-praised Farang and certainly worthy of all the praise! Perhaps the best restaurant dinner I've so far enjoyed in Helsinki. South-East Asian inspired fusion food with main emphasis on Thai kitchen, but really more of a "Best of" cross-over of Thai, Indonesian, Malaysian etc. We had the Farang Menu with seven different courses and not one dish disappointed in any way. On the contrar: ginger, chili, curry, lemongrass were playfully present in most of the dishes (eel, crab, pork, tofu...) in various amount and proportions and the sauces were just wonderful. It truely reminded me of all the simple, great meals I've had in numerous restaurant in the South East Asia, but with a "fine dining" aspect to it. The recommended wines fit surprisingly well with the food. Service was friendly and nice, the only thing which a bit bothered was the hurried nature of the dinner service. They want you to eat fast and quickly and then make room for the next ones. Still, that is only a minor issue. Overall this is a great restaurant and must-go for all lovers of Asian food. Just don't expect to have it as simple and authentic as you had on that small side street restaurant in Bangkok...and certainly not at that cost - prepare for 100€ per person of you plan to have some drinks as well.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Putkiakseli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent food and wonderful atmosphere”
Reviewed 19 February 2012

We have eaten at Farang several times, and it has never disappointed us. It is pricey and perhaps not the most authentic food, but very much worth it. Every dish we have had has been very good, and it is vegetarian friendly. Of the restaurants I have been to in Helsinki, this definitely ranks among the top. The service is excellent.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank alwaysfuntraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Farang also viewed

 
Helsinki, Uusimaa
Helsinki, Uusimaa
 

Been to Farang? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing