We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“our best xmas”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Santa Claus Holiday Village
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Rovaniemi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 April 2012

spent 4 days just after xmas with my 5 year old daughter, and it is the perfect place to stay if you want to enjoy Santa, the reindeer sleigh ride, the huskies, and the snow park. the chalet was very comfortable, with a large room and a sauna. very friendly hosts.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank CC1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (708)
There are newer reviews for Santa Claus Holiday Village
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

302 - 306 of 708 reviews

Reviewed 9 April 2012

It's just next to the Santa Village and the good thing is their shop operating hours till late as everything in the village almost close at 17:00; the owner couple and staffs are very nice and friendly, the cabin with sauna room is so wonderful after a whole day snow activity outside, comfortable bed and room decor. The hotel restaurant is also nice as they provide delicious food with fair price along with salad bar and drinks; even before we checked-in the staff was already very helpful through email communication.The distance is a problem if you don't drive your own car, only bus no.8 arrives and not very intensive schedule, taxi to city centre cost about 20 euro one way. If you arrive by air plane it will be better as they provide free shuttle service. (plus info, city centre to Rovaniemi train station, taxi 11 euro)

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank miJune9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2012

We choose to visit not only family in Finland Christmas 2011 but also do the Santa Claus (Joulupukki) trip for a break. We spent 3 day a the village and had a wonderful time. Traveling in Finland is never economical but the village made things much more feasible and gave our energetic boys space to play and activities to attract them. Marko and Teija, who manage the hotel were wonderful and made us feel welcome from the start. We were met at the airport, shuttled to the hotel and breakfast and dinner were included in the price reducing the daily incidental cost immensely. The food was typical by Finnish cafeteria standards but quite passable. The attractions are expensive by most anyone but a Finns standards but we were expecting it. We did reindeer and dog sled rides which were the highlights of the trip. The boys enjoyed the snow, a tubing park and the kicksleds which went with every room. Everyone we met was very friendly and happy to converse with us in English or Finnish.

The cabins were nice and new and, though small by American standards, spacious by European standards. The de rigour sauna was also in the cabin and very welcome in the evenings.

If you have young children and want to experience a different cultural, though still commercial, Christmas, this one is to be recommended. Being there in the middle of winter meant the day's light was very short but that added to the charm with all the decorative light provided in the area.

I have to say again, everyone we dealt with tried to make our stay very enjoyable, especially Marko and Teija.

John

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2012

Take a holiday at Santa Claus Village with as many kids as you can. We went with 4 kids age under 9.
I think for one kid family it might be boring. So book 3 days if you have one or 2 kids. Upon arriving we were afraid of 8 days we booked.
It passed like second
Stay at S.C. Village Cabins and feel real Santa atmosphere. Rovaniemi is city like all other cities.
Airport is really 4 minutes from village.
Food is just under average and except 3 restaurants in Rovaniemi like Nili, do not expect much and do not even think about it.
On the other side, all prices are fair and there are no surprises. Taxi from Village is to Rovaniemi is 15 euro.
Cabins/ rooms are modest but absolutely ok for all possible expectations. If possible, book whole cabin instead of half.
We were there in Christmas period and it wasn’t cold at all. From 0 to -10. By some special socks and active underware for kids before arriving.
In case of very cold weather kids need multilayer clothing for playing outside for when and how much they want. We visited extreme sports shop before going to Lapland and it was clever.
Take addresses from family and kid’s friends stayed at home, spend at least 3 hours in Santa’s Post and send as many postcards as you can.
Arrange for Santa to come visit you privately and prepare kids for questions before he arrives.
Aurora Borealis, go for it. If you see it it is magical if you do not see it it is still a great adventure.
Marko and his stuff are fully professinal

Room Tip: cabins are must
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank VladimirBeograd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

Very warm and cozy cottages!
Floor in the bathroom is warmed up all the time. The bathroom has a sauna, where you can warm up if you are very cold or just to enjoy it. There is a fridge, micro vawe, dishes in a cottage. Location is very good, even if it's far from a city center. But to me city center is dull. Village was much better and I felt like in a fairy tale.
Staff is very helpful. Always willing to help or advise. They met as at the airport (price of the hotel includes transfer) and also airport taxi took us back from the cottage to airport.
On our last day there, restaurant gave us breakfast boxes, since we had an early flight on the next day. That was really nice of them.
Snowmobiles park is near as well as snow wonderland. We also went to husky park, northern lights, Arctic Snow Hotel and of course, visited Santa.
Everything was great!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Munani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rovaniemi hotels
6.7 km away
Arctic Light Hotel
Arctic Light Hotel
#1 of 13 in Rovaniemi
385 reviews
1.9 km away
Arctic TreeHouse Hotel
Arctic TreeHouse Hotel
#7 of 13 in Rovaniemi
90 reviews
6.7 km away
Santa's Hotel Santa Claus
Santa's Hotel Santa Claus
#4 of 13 in Rovaniemi
607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 km away
Lapland Hotel Sky Ounasvaara
6.6 km away
Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna,Rovaniemi
6.8 km away
City Hotel Rovaniemi
City Hotel Rovaniemi
#5 of 13 in Rovaniemi
593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Claus Holiday Village? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Claus Holiday Village

Address: Taehtikuja 2, Rovaniemi 96930, Finland
Phone Number:
Region: Finland > Lapland > Rovaniemi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Rovaniemi
Price Range: ₹ 7,029 - ₹ 25,185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Santa Claus Holiday Village 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel-standard cottage accommodation at the Arctic Circle, heart of Santa Claus Village. Our cabins are all equipped with up-to-date facilities, such as private saunas, bathrooms, kitchenette and terrace. There's no better way to enjoy your stay. From your cabin just a minute or two walk to Santa Claus Main Office. All activities & excursions, such as Reindeer rides, Husky dog sledge rides, snowmobile rides, etc.. available on the village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Santa Claus Holiday Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Claus Holiday Village Hotel Rovaniemi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing