We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Design Hotel, but not to my taste” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Avalon Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Avalon Hotel
Ranked #4 of 68 Hotels in Gothenburg
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Design Hotel, but not to my taste”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2012

This hotel could be excellentand maybe its just not to my taste. Check in was efficient and handled well by the staff as they were quite busy. The room was quite small, but as it was just me staying for one night it really didn't matter. The corridors and public areas were dark and contained a really random, disjointed collection of furniture and art. Breakfast contained a lot of choice and plentiful.

Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank MatthewCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

838 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    545
    228
    42
    17
    6
See reviews for
73
397
49
208
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2012

This really is a fantastic hotel from the moment that you walk into the lobby it feels like a modern art gallery. I was welcomed by Fredrik at the front desk who could not do enough for me throughout my stay and I really want to say a very big thank you to him.

This hotel really concentrates on the fine details and if you are a person who loves modern design this is the place for you. The brand collaborations from the amenities in the room to the sound systems gives a strong luxury feel.

I was upgraded to a superior room which had a bath tub in the room and an incredible power shower. The breakfast was also outstanding with a typically Scandinavian feel and a huge choice on offer.

I cannot fault this hotel and if you want to stay in art gallery with rooms this is without doubt the place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Guidecca Mare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2012

Before I begin, this hotel is definitely not for everybody. For one thing, if the idea of waking up to clashing brown, orange and lime green every day disgusts you, this isn't the hotel for you. Also if terrible minimalist nude paintings lining the corridors sounds irritating then also don't go here.

The bad points: the walls are thin. The cleaning staff are intrusive and confusing. The swimming pool is so small you can't use it if someone else is already there. The opening hours for the swimming pool and roof terrace are only 12-6pm - not enough. The restaurant is highly disappointing.

The good points: everything else. The staff at reception are helpful, the rooms are spacious, and everything is clean. The location can't get much better. The breakfast deserves a special mention for having delicious and varied food.

I would look for a different hotel if I return again, but only because of price. Overall this is a decent hotel, but it just may not be for everyone.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2012

The Avalon is a bit like a more personal version of a W hotel, minus the pretentiousness. We had a "luxury" room with large windows and a big balcony looking out over the roofs of the market hall towards the old city moat. That balcony was shared with a life-sized statue of a horse with a lamp on its head; quite special!
All in all, there was hardly anything to criticize. Everything and everyone worked very well, was curteous, relaxed and helpful, even when the front desk was a bit overrun on Sunday morning with departing guests and a failing billing system.
The hotel is full of quirky details such as this. Original artworks adorn most walls, the furniture is comfy and stylish, the view from the large bathtub was impressive. Towels are embroidered with the Avalon logo, the B&O portable audio system was nice to use on the balcony, the 2 hotel music compilations on CD to be used with the B&O TV were also miraculously found in our valet-parked car upon departure (plus a bottle of water) as a gift. The beds were extremely comfortable, the rooftop pool was something to write home about with its glass front reaching out over the town square below. Breakfast was generous and varied (and included). The hotel restaurant is well rated, and the numerous outside tables and sofas extremely popular with the local crowd on a sunny weekend afternoon.
The location is perfect (but then, Gothenburg is really quite small) for culture & shopping. Swedish labels Nudie Jeans, J Lindebergh, Tiger of Sweden, Filippa K all have flagship stores close by.

Room Tip: I found it worthwile having the luxury room with a balcony - so nice to have this private outdoor sp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Werder1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norway
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2012

The hotel is located perfectly when staying in Gothenburd just to have a nice-walk around- shop a little-have good food and wine-stay. The location is surprisingly calm as resturants and shops are just a step out the front enterance. Our room was huge (superior), clean and fresh. (several pillows for those who like that). The staff are young, trendy and helpful. I actually became sceptic; are they really this nice? I thought, but yes, I think they are.
One of the best things was the breakfast! We sat there way too long eating.. And that was possible when Sunday's breakfast is served until noon - which is great!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lassh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gothenburg hotels
0.4 km away
Hotel Pigalle
Hotel Pigalle
#2 of 68 in Gothenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,159 reviews
0.6 km away
Clarion Hotel Post
Clarion Hotel Post
#9 of 68 in Gothenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,534 reviews
1.5 km away
Upper House
Upper House
#1 of 68 in Gothenburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Hotel Royal Gothenburg
Hotel Royal Gothenburg
#3 of 68 in Gothenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 786 reviews
0.3 km away
Elite Plaza Hotel Goteborg
Elite Plaza Hotel Goteborg
#12 of 68 in Gothenburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
1.7 km away
Radisson Blu Riverside Hotel, Gothenburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avalon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avalon Hotel

Property: Avalon Hotel
Address: Kungstorget 9, Gothenburg SE-411 17, Sweden
Region: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Gothenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Gothenburg
#4 Romantic Hotel in Gothenburg
#5 Business Hotel in Gothenburg
#9 Family Hotel in Gothenburg
Price range (per night): ₹ 11,012 - ₹ 17,714
Hotel Class:4 star — Avalon Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Nordic Choice Hotels, Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Avalon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avalon Hotel Gothenburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing