We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Different”
Review of Avalon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Avalon Hotel
Ranked #3 of 67 Hotels in Gothenburg
Certificate of Excellence
Hafnarfjordur, Iceland
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Different”
Reviewed 29 March 2012

This was a great hotel with great rooms and beds and everything up to standard. The service was great and the location is just great! The breakfast was nothing special they could have had some fresh bread rolls and a better selection of cheese!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VispHafnarfjordur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,055 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    698
    279
    50
    22
    6
See reviews for
99
502
60
260
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 March 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Avalon for my birthday and I can only say it was faultless. A superb location with trendy, clean rooms with exceptional staff. We experienced some of the best service we have ever had and I cannot recommend this place highly enough - there is very little point staying anywhere else. Simply book, relax and enjoy.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PDezza1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avalonhotel, Manager at Avalon Hotel, responded to this review, 29 March 2012
Hi,

Thank you for taking your time to review your stay at Avalon Hotel.

We are so glad to read that your stay at Avalon did meet your expectations. We do look forward to welcome you back to us next time you are visiting Gothenburg.

Have a nice day!

Regards,
Elisabeth Thomson
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
244 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

The Avalon is a good hotel, the rooms are not very big, but they are confortable.
The decor is VERY modern!
Service is very good

Room Tip: Ask for a junior suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mundosully
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avalonhotel, Manager at Avalon Hotel, responded to this review, 28 March 2012
Hi,

Thank you for your nice review of Avalon. Welcome back to us, in a bigger room :).

Have a nice day.

Best regards,

Elisabeth Thomson
Hotel Managar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2012

Excellent service, location is fantastic, great rooms... Unfortunately, it was a little chilli for the rooftop pool...

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2012

I just spent 4 nights at the Avalon Hotel in Gothenburg, Sweden and it was, without a doubt, the BEST stay I've had at any hotel in Scandinavia - and, in fact, maybe anywhere. And I've been to some pretty amazing places around the globe.

Artful, amazing design
The NICEST, MOST ACCOMMODATING PEOPLE WORK THERE!
The amenities in the rooms - huge deep bathtubs, gorgeous views, hot water pots with
assorted teas - they try to please you, not rip you off
Classy, kind, friendly, smart, dedicated, wonderful people
Great location - just off the main road. Everythingyou need right next door
Beautiful shops and funky fun ones
Nice food and taverns
Just the best, best, best experience ever!

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms there! A number of my colleagues stayed here and we were all totally satisfi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank melinda311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avalonhotel, Manager at Avalon Hotel, responded to this review, 6 February 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your feedback. We are so happy to read that you are pleased with your stay here at Avalon Hotel.

We do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back next time you visit Gothenburg.

Have a great week.

Best Regards,
Elisabeth Thomson
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gothenburg hotels
0.4 km away
Hotel Pigalle
Hotel Pigalle
#2 of 67 in Gothenburg
1,689 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Royal Gothenburg
Hotel Royal Gothenburg
#4 of 67 in Gothenburg
972 reviews
0.6 km away
Clarion Hotel Post
Clarion Hotel Post
#11 of 67 in Gothenburg
3,194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Upper House
Upper House
#1 of 67 in Gothenburg
797 reviews
1.7 km away
Radisson Blu Riverside Hotel, Gothenburg
1.4 km away
Gothia Towers
Gothia Towers
#9 of 67 in Gothenburg
4,684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avalon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avalon Hotel

Property: Avalon Hotel
Address: Kungstorget 9, Gothenburg 411 17, Sweden
Phone Number:
Region: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Gothenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Gothenburg
#4 Romantic Hotel in Gothenburg
#5 Business Hotel in Gothenburg
#9 Family Hotel in Gothenburg
Price range (per night): ₹ 11,876 - ₹ 25,228
Hotel Class:4 star — Avalon Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Avalon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avalon Hotel Gothenburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing