We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Avalon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Avalon Hotel
Ranked #3 of 68 Hotels in Gothenburg
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
244 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Very nice!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

The Avalon is a good hotel, the rooms are not very big, but they are confortable.
The decor is VERY modern!
Service is very good

Room Tip: Ask for a junior suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mundosully
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avalonhotel, Manager at Avalon Hotel, responded to this review, 28 March 2012
Hi,

Thank you for your nice review of Avalon. Welcome back to us, in a bigger room :).

Have a nice day.

Best regards,

Elisabeth Thomson
Hotel Managar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

913 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    602
    245
    43
    17
    6
See reviews for
78
437
51
230
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
99 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

Excellent service, location is fantastic, great rooms... Unfortunately, it was a little chilli for the rooftop pool...

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
113 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2012

I just spent 4 nights at the Avalon Hotel in Gothenburg, Sweden and it was, without a doubt, the BEST stay I've had at any hotel in Scandinavia - and, in fact, maybe anywhere. And I've been to some pretty amazing places around the globe.

Artful, amazing design
The NICEST, MOST ACCOMMODATING PEOPLE WORK THERE!
The amenities in the rooms - huge deep bathtubs, gorgeous views, hot water pots with
assorted teas - they try to please you, not rip you off
Classy, kind, friendly, smart, dedicated, wonderful people
Great location - just off the main road. Everythingyou need right next door
Beautiful shops and funky fun ones
Nice food and taverns
Just the best, best, best experience ever!

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms there! A number of my colleagues stayed here and we were all totally satisfi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank melinda311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avalonhotel, Manager at Avalon Hotel, responded to this review, 6 February 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your feedback. We are so happy to read that you are pleased with your stay here at Avalon Hotel.

We do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back next time you visit Gothenburg.

Have a great week.

Best Regards,
Elisabeth Thomson
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2012

I stayed here in July 2011 for 3 nights for a conference. Having been guided to this hotel by other favourable Tripadviser reviews I wasn't dissapointed. The hotel is fashionably fitted out and themed, the staff are courteous and helpful and the breakfasts were fantastic. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RamblingProf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2012

I have stayed at the Avalon three times previously, however, I'm not sure I'll stay again. My first room had no bath so I was moved to another room: very cramped; thin duvet; very slow broadband and a very low chair that made working at the 'desk' very uncomfortable. The reception desk seems undermanned and brusque...this used to be a lovely haven. It seems to have lost its charm.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank R N P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avalonhotel, Manager at Avalon Hotel, responded to this review, 2 February 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking your time by giving us feedback on your stay here at Avalon in January 2012.

Unfortunately we have not managed to deliver the level of service according to our Avalon standard during your stay. I am so sorry for the inconvenience that you had to go through while staying with us.

When you visit Gothenburg next time, I do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to us and prove that we are still "the same" Avalon.

Once again, thank you for your time.

Have a nice day.

Best regards,
Elisabeth Thomson
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gothenburg hotels
0.4 km away
Hotel Pigalle
Hotel Pigalle
#2 of 68 in Gothenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,377 reviews
1.5 km away
Upper House
Upper House
#1 of 68 in Gothenburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 688 reviews
0.6 km away
Clarion Hotel Post
Clarion Hotel Post
#10 of 68 in Gothenburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Hotel Royal Gothenburg
Hotel Royal Gothenburg
#4 of 68 in Gothenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 848 reviews
1.4 km away
Gothia Towers
Gothia Towers
#14 of 68 in Gothenburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,824 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Bellora
Hotel Bellora
#11 of 68 in Gothenburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avalon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avalon Hotel

Property: Avalon Hotel
Address: Kungstorget 9, Gothenburg 411 17, Sweden
Region: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Gothenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Gothenburg
#4 Romantic Hotel in Gothenburg
#5 Business Hotel in Gothenburg
#9 Family Hotel in Gothenburg
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,654 - ₹ 20,784
Hotel Class:4 star — Avalon Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Avalon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avalon Hotel Gothenburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing