We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good clean friendly hotel with car parking”
Review of Spar Hotel Majorna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Spar Hotel Majorna
Ranked #15 of 67 Hotels in Gothenburg
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good clean friendly hotel with car parking”
Reviewed 1 June 2012 via mobile

Stayed two nights at this hotel, one of the selection criteria being the car parking. We left our car there in the car park and travelled by tram to the city. The car park takes a bit of care, large concrete columns. Breakfast was good, family friendly place, good Internet, good counter staff. Although it seems a bit out of the way, was relatively easily found, and good access to the motorways. Rooms clean, though a bit on the small side. Well worth it.

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Warren D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

551 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    150
    281
    104
    11
    5
See reviews for
101
212
36
111
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2012

A very good hotel, well located and within a 10 minute walk of Goteborg city centre (less than 5 minutes if you use the tram nearly right outside the front door; the number 3 and number 9 trams will get you in and out of the centre and they are extremely regular and accept credit cards for payment). The staff are professional, yet friendly. All spoke English extremely well and were very helpful in giving advice for places to eat and visit.

The rooms are functional in a way that is a hallmark of Scandinavian hotels. They are stylish and minimalist- no clutter and just the right amount of furniture. The beds were very comfortable and the children's bunk bed (that folded up into the wall) got no complaints from my two daughters. The bathroom was clean and the water hot (very important)- On the two times I stayed, I had one room which had a large shower only and the second time had a bath/shower combination.

The breakfast is very varied with everything from cold cuts and cheese, cereal and yoghurt, all the way to sausage, eggs and bacon. There's even a waffle maker. It was also open very early as I found out on my last day when I nipped in right before going to the airport for an early flight.

There's an ice-maker on the 2nd floor and sauna on the 5th. There is a terrace on the second floor too but it really needs a little bar attached to it- otherwise you have to wander down to the ground floor to get a drink. However, that's not a show-stopper and I'll definitely be back.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the parking lot are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndrewInIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aalborg
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2012

Very nice hotel, recently updated. The rooms are a not big, but in great shape. The hotel is located right by the streetcar stop, so getting around in the city is easy.
The breakfastbuffet is very good, and has everything you could want.
A fine hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan-Aalborg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2012

I stayed nine nights at the Spar Hotel Majorna in Jan 2012 on a business trip to Gothenburg. The room was small and clean, but adequate for business travelers. The breakfast was very good. The staff at the front desk helped me with planning my commute from the hotel to the office with tram and bus numbers and timings. The hotel is conveniently located close to a tram stop, and its easy enough to get to Central Station for connections.

There is a convenience store near the tram stop, and an ICA supermarket and restaurants a few minutes walk away.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arch_c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2011

A good basic hotel in residential district, tram for travel to center of Gothenburg just outside.
Complete breakfast.
A few minutes walk to a nice italian restaurant, Marsala.

Room Tip: Sensitive sleepers should get a room facing the rear, trams pass just outside
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Knolre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gothenburg hotels
1.8 km away
Radisson Blu Riverside Hotel, Gothenburg
2.5 km away
Comfort Hotel Goteborg
Comfort Hotel Goteborg
#19 of 67 in Gothenburg
200 reviews
4.7 km away
Spar Hotel Garda
Spar Hotel Garda
#20 of 67 in Gothenburg
526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Quality Hotel 11
Quality Hotel 11
#10 of 67 in Gothenburg
1,056 reviews
1.0 km away
Best Western Plus Hotel Waterfront Goteborg
3.2 km away
STF Goteborg City Hotel
STF Goteborg City Hotel
#14 of 67 in Gothenburg
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spar Hotel Majorna? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spar Hotel Majorna

Property: Spar Hotel Majorna
Address: 66-70 Karl Johansgatan, Gothenburg 414 55, Sweden
Region: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Gothenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Gothenburg
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,393 - ₹ 13,820
Hotel Class:3 star — Spar Hotel Majorna 3*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are privately owned hotel in the heart of Majorna in Gothenburg. A part from a personal service we offer our guests a variety of roomtypes, always well cleaned, a generous breakfastbuffet with generous opening hours, food and drinks in SparBar, a sunny terrace and parking in our garage (limited amount of spaces). We have singel rooms, a variety of double rooms, family rooms in different sizes and a large suite with fantastic views. Our hotel is situated near Slottskogen, and the ferry terminals and we have a tram stop just outside the hotel connecting you to the more central parts of the city. In our opinion we offer mor hotel for less money. We hope to see you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Spar Hotel Majorna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spar Hotel Gothenburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing