We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel for the cost”
Review of Spar Hotel Garda

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Spar Hotel Garda
Ranked #20 of 67 Hotels in Gothenburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 July 2012

This hotel is not far from the centre of town (use the number 1 tram). Not much in the local area as its a little industrial but not what we were after so thats great.

We used BA miles to book this and therefore great value for money. Important thing is it was clean and safe and even though we were on the side that had the motorway, the triple glazing meant we couldn't hear a thing

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Markdeakin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (558)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

157 - 161 of 558 reviews

Reviewed 18 May 2012

We stayed in the hotel as a group. The rooms are adequate but VERY small. One side of the hotel is reight next to the freeway so opening windows is not an option due to the noise.
The breakfast was fine with a good selection. The pub on the groundfloor is a nice place to spend time after a hectic day but the service hours are limited as far as something to eat.
The staff at reception was very helpful and always ready to assist.
Long walk to the nearest tram stop.
Reasonably good value for money.

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the freeway-side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ThaboCapeStFrancis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 11 July 2012

Dear guest,
thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.
I´m happy to know that you enjoyed our breakfastbuffé., we are always trying to keep a good selection to give our guests a great start of the day.
Our bar is open from 17:00-24:00, but there is always a selection of food and drinks to be served from reception during other hours.
We have several different roomtypes to offer so please ask for a larger room for your next visit.
I hope we will see again!
Kind regards
Terese Wibeck
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2011

Excellent hotel with an amazing breakfast buffet. The rooms were small, but very clean. Staff was very helpful and the location was great, only a few stops on the tram and you were in the middle of the city. Great place to stay, especially for those on a budget. Did I mention how great the breakfast was?

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gogogogog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2011

Good place to stay in Gothenburg. As others have said very close to the tram stop which gets you into town in 5 minutes if you dont fansy the 15 to 20 minute stroll. Terrific breakfast.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ClaretStAlbans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2011

If you'r after luxury, or a great location, then read no further. However, if, like us, you will be on a budget in an expensive city, then the Spar Hotel Garda will offer a few nights good accommodation.
From the station it is only a few tram stops (there were confusing works on the line and we used Svingeln then walked the rest - download a map!) About 20 minutes to/from the central station. Buy tickets from tobacconists/newsagents - and preloaded day tickets are the best value.
The hotel exterior may well put you off - but once inside it's fine. Rooms are basic but clean and well equipped, There is a friendly bar, a free internet kiosk, and a splendid breakfast.
Although a little out from the centre, we feel that this hotel offered good value. It is certainly good for a short stay.

Room Tip: Try to get a room away from the motorway
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank christanya2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gothenburg hotels
4.7 km away
Spar Hotel Majorna
Spar Hotel Majorna
#17 of 67 in Gothenburg
579 reviews
1.5 km away
STF Goteborg City Hotel
STF Goteborg City Hotel
#22 of 67 in Gothenburg
255 reviews
2.3 km away
Comfort Hotel Goteborg
Comfort Hotel Goteborg
#15 of 67 in Gothenburg
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Hotel Royal Gothenburg
Hotel Royal Gothenburg
#4 of 67 in Gothenburg
1,013 reviews
5.0 km away
Quality Hotel 11 & Eriksbergshallen
0.7 km away
Hotel Orgryte
Hotel Orgryte
#48 of 67 in Gothenburg
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spar Hotel Garda? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spar Hotel Garda

Address: 15-17 Norra Kustbanegatan, Gothenburg 416 64, Sweden
Region: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Gothenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Gothenburg
#18 Romantic Hotel in Gothenburg
#29 Business Hotel in Gothenburg
Price Range: ₹ 6,841 - ₹ 10,750 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Spar Hotel Garda 3*
Number of rooms: 170
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Spar Hotel Garda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spar Hotel Gothenburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing