We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, friendly hotel with all the essentials and a few extras”
Review of Hotel Lorensberg

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Lorensberg
Ranked #42 of 67 Hotels in Gothenburg
Lexington, MA
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Comfortable, friendly hotel with all the essentials and a few extras”
Reviewed 19 October 2010

I stayed at the Hotel Lorensberg last week while attending a conference at the Swedish Exhibition & Congress Centre. It was one of the least expensive options but I'm sure it was nicer than many of the pricier hotels. I reserved a double room after reading that some of the singles were pretty small. My room had plenty of space and included a double bed, a desk, a table and chair, an ample closet, and a bathroom. It was spotless and had up-to-date furnishings. The bed was very comfortable. The TV has several English language channels -- I found some BBC shows as well as some current American shows.

The hotel has a very cheery feel with pictures of flowers painted on the walls in the hallway. The breakfast was quite good and had a variety of items to suit different tastes. I loved having cakes/cookies and coffee available in the lobby -- fruit too! The hotel staff were quite friendly, and there was free wi-fi. (They recently changed the system so that access now lasts for 24 hours and after that you just have to click to renew.)

The hotel is just a 5-10 minute walk to the Congress Center. It's also just a block and a half away from the "Avenyn" -- Gothenburg's main shopping/dining street. Nearby are several good restaurants and a couple of grocery stores. Just a few doors away is a very nice chocolate shop (Berzelii Chocolates) for your chocolate fix or for gifts. And the airport bus stop is also just 5-10 minutes away, outside the Congress Center -- I definitely recommend the bus for getting to and from the airport.

I would happily stay at this hotel if I ever find myself in Gothenburg again!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hollholl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

184 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    96
    42
    5
    0
See reviews for
33
31
25
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melaka, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2010

We stayed at this hotel early September 2010 for a conference at the Svenska Massan, which is about a 5 minute walk away from the hotel. The hotel is at the best possible location in Gothenburg, not smack in the city center (Avenyn, to be exact), but hidden just outside it... so in a short walk, you can get to the conference venue as well as the Avenyn. This way, you can avoid the hustle and bustle of the city center, especially the drunken clubbers in the middle of a Saturday night.
The breakfast is continental, (high fibre, I suppose) and excellent! The presentation was good and adequate top-ups available at all times. The breakfast starts at 6.30 am, but I need to make a special mention on Johann, who went out of his way to get us an early breakfast at 6.00 am, so that we could catch an early train. There is cake and coffee at all times at the lobby, and we found that to be a good change from the usual coffee-in-your-room-hotel. After a long day out, it was nice to come back and have a leisurely coffee or ice water free-flow at the lobby with some cake. (Believe me, you would rather have the water at the hotel and fill up a container full of it when you go out, as mineral water -small bottle costs a whopping 20SEK in Sweden.... I think it is atrocious!)
The hotel also provides laundry Mon-Fri, but it is not free. Again, a special mention needs to be made of a particular staff, Johanna, who allowed us to use the tumble dryer ourselves on a Saturday with supervision by herself.
The rooms were ok sized, and the bathroom was good. The flooring was wooden and there were enough hangers for all our clothing, as well as a TV with about 20 channels, mostly in English.
Internet- free wi-fi, but need to renew password every 6 hours, I think since it was free, that is acceptable.
The extensive tram system in Gothenburg is worthy of mention. I have traveled to many large cities in the world, but I think the tram services in this city is one of the best and most user friendly I have encountered. The hotel is easily accessible through the trams at three corners of the hotel. There is an abundance of restaurants around the vicinity, but be warned, they are expensive (as are most restaurants in Gothenburg)
All in all, a very nice stay indeed. Highly recommended to anyone who likes a simple city hotel and not extreme luxury.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank widespreadvisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed 15 August 2010

I stayed at this hotel with a group for a conference - and it was just like coming home every night - but even better because I didn't have to cook or clean! Every single staffmember went above and beyond to make my stay in Gothenburg the best it could be. From recommending great restaurants, changing the towels, to serving coffee and treats every afternoon in the hotel lobby, the service was fabulous! The location was perfect, close enough to the convention center that I could swing by to drop shopping off or grab a sweater throughout the day. The only downside for someone may be if they are expecting a hotel room the size of American hotel rooms. These are smaller, but I never felt cramped for space. The historic charm and great continental breakfast were icing on the cake - I can't say enough good things about this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HellKitty15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2009

Maybe not one of the classiest hotels there, but moderately priced. The room was a tad small, but nice.

The location is great for Gothenburg, just a few minutes to walk from the city centre. There are also some nice restaurants nearby, in case you need that. Staff was friendly, the breakfast good average.

There was free wireless internet (you will need a new code each six hours, but they'll give you as many codes as you like), and they also have a nice "sitting" area where you'll get some free coffee and fruit.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank averell23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leicester
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2009

My colleague and i travelled to gothenburg for a conference, this hotel is very near to the conference centre only 5 minutes walk.Rooms average size but very clean and beds very comfortable, very quiet no noise at night at all.The breakfast was good with usual range of cereals, continental breakfast etc. They also provided a gluten free breakfast which was pre ordered at time of booking. Staff were very friendly and helpful, tea and coffee and cake free in the lobby. would definitely stay there again!!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moore_rachel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gothenburg hotels
0.2 km away
Hotell Onyxen
Hotell Onyxen
#50 of 67 in Gothenburg
97 reviews
0.4 km away
Scandic Rubinen
Scandic Rubinen
#31 of 67 in Gothenburg
953 reviews
0.3 km away
Elite Park Avenue Hotel
Elite Park Avenue Hotel
#16 of 67 in Gothenburg
899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Scandic Hotel Opalen
Scandic Hotel Opalen
#40 of 67 in Gothenburg
1,048 reviews
0.4 km away
Gothia Towers
Gothia Towers
#12 of 67 in Gothenburg
4,397 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotell Liseberg Heden
Hotell Liseberg Heden
#39 of 67 in Gothenburg
427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lorensberg? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lorensberg

Property: Hotel Lorensberg
Address: 15 Berzeliigatan, Gothenburg 412 53, Sweden
Region: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Gothenburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Gothenburg
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,297 - ₹ 15,370
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Lorensberg 3*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Lorensberg is located in the middle of Gothenburg's cultural and entertainment centre. A large part of central Gothenburg is within walking distance from the hotel. As a family owned hotel we have made a point of having a pleasant and comfortable atmosphere combined with friendly and accommodating personnel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Lorensberg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lorensberg Hotel Gothenburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing