We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hard to find any fault”
Review of Scandic Molndal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Scandic Molndal
Ranked #36 of 67 Hotels in Gothenburg
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“hard to find any fault”
Reviewed 21 August 2011

Nicely designed, with clean Scandinavian lines and lots of blond wood around a central atrium. The breakfasts are very good and try to accommodate every possible allergy, and the have a decent restaurant too.

I have stayed here on a number of occasions. Although the hotel is adjacent to tram and railway station, you probably wouldn't want to use this as a base for Gothenburg, as there are plenty of decent hotels closer to the centre. But its a great place to stay if you're visiting Mölndal

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BTJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

468 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    184
    146
    28
    13
See reviews for
180
79
16
148
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Indiana
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2010

Clean, modern, efficient, helpful staff, good breakfast - but be sure to get there early as it gets busy if you are not an early riser.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaneDSH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leek, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2010

Arriving at about 10.30 at night check-in was quick and courteous. A small area opposite reception had drinks and sandwiches for sale. As the restaurant had closed I grabbed my 3rd ham sandwich of the evening and went upstairs.

I'd booked a twin room as they were showing for the same price as a single, and I'd read the singles were small; the twin was a nice size. Good wardrobe space, a nice sized bathroom, twin beds and a comfy chair with footstool. Settling down with my ham sandwich and bottle of red (from the UK airport - have you seen the prices in Sweden?) I felt quite relaxed after travelling for the last few hours.

My room looked out over the atrium area, which meant there was little natural daylight in the morning, which I wasn't keen on. Breakfast was typical of the Nordic area, fruit, cereal, meats cheeses, fish and an attempt at an 'English' style breakfast. It was OK, but after existing on ham sandwiches the previous evening I was craving something a bit more substantial, but it would be a rare occurrence to get the king of stodge I wanted that morning anywhere outside of a roadside butty van!

The people I was meeting took me to lunch here and it was very good, a buffet affair, but very good quality and very tasty, ham sandwiches were now a distant memory!

The following morning and the breakfast, although the same, was perceived as a more satisfying affair. Check-out was quick and easy, and that was it - I was gone.

Nothing stands out about the hotel, but nothing was poor either (except for the location in the middle of the business park - but it's not supposed to be a tourist hotel). Would I stay here again? Probably yes, but because it's close to where I need to be rather than anything else.

It's a nice, clean, comfortable place and, for a couple of nights, that's exactly what you need.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nijh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
144 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2009

Modern attractive hotel. Very close to the bus/tram/train station. Thus getting to and from Gothenburg is very easy, which is good because as others have commented there ain't much in Mölndal. (Note: Taxi from the GOT airport to the hotel ran 330 SEK.) The wireless internet was complementary and the English TV offerings are good.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MichiganFloyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
79 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2008

A little bit too far away from Gothenburg if you are meant to visit Gothenburg, not Mölndal. And there is not that much to do in Mölndal. Quite impersonal and boring hotel.

  • Liked — -
  • Disliked — Location
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Susannaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Gothenburg hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gothenburg
10.7 km away
Scandic Backadal
Scandic Backadal
#33 of 67 in Gothenburg
498 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Molndals Bro
Hotel Molndals Bro
#51 of 67 in Gothenburg
52 reviews
1.3 km away
Good Morning Molndal
Good Morning Molndal
#1 of 1 in Molndal
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 km away
Hotel Orgryte
Hotel Orgryte
#47 of 67 in Gothenburg
67 reviews
3.3 km away
Best Western Plus Hotel Mektagonen
12.1 km away
Arken Hotel & Art Garden Spa
Arken Hotel & Art Garden Spa
#39 of 67 in Gothenburg
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Molndal? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Molndal

Property: Scandic Molndal
Address: Barnhemsgatan 23, Molndal, Gothenburg 431 31, Sweden
Region: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Gothenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 67 Hotels in Gothenburg
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,880 - ₹ 13,435
Hotel Class:3 star — Scandic Molndal 3*
Number of rooms: 208
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Scandic Molndal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Molndal Gothenburg
Scandic Molndal Hotel Gothenburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing