We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice room, great breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Scandic Hotel Opalen
Ranked #40 of 67 Hotels in Gothenburg
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 20 December 2011

Nice hotel, close to the city centre. The staff is knowledgeable about the city. Great breakfast.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank viggooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,183)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

293 - 297 of 1,183 reviews

Reviewed 29 November 2011

I stayed 6 nights in Scandic Opalen in Gothenburg and really i enjoyed it very much as the Hotel was very clean and in a wonderful place . Also the food quality was great too.
i wish to come back again. ;)

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Micheal G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2011

Scandic Opalen in Gothenburg is a pretty standard Scandic hotel, with all you can expect (and not expect…) However, there is a nice twist to this hotel: The have recently added a number of floors – and these are built in a modern style with windows from floor to ceiling. I had one of these rooms and the view was just awesome. Room was very spacious – like a lounge for a cocktail party, but with limited seating. A sofa and two chairs was all. Luckily I travel with a very small laptop otherwise I would not have been able to fit the computer on the so called desk. Even if Internet was free, this room was a nightmare to work in at nights. Bathroom looked promising as it was large, but unfortunately decorated in the traditional Scandic minimalistic style. Minimal toiletries, few and small towels and even fewer knobs to hang your stuff on…

Room Tip: Go for the top floor rooms if you do not need to work!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Abundance_of_miles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2011

This hotel was friendly, clean and service minded. A pleasent work stay. The beds were a bit hard, but thats a subjective comment.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank noas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

If you stil want to stay here, make sure that you are put in a proper sized room, despite paying the same amount I was put into a single room that was smaller than my uni dorm room. Majority of reception staff were rude and seemed to feel that anything requested was too much trouble for them, eg asking if they had a map with nearby islands or for a firm pillow. When I entered my mini bathroom in my mini room there was hair in the bathtub and on the towel! I really enjoyed Goteborg but this hotel and the attitude of the staff almost wrecked my stay

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EmilyFS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gothenburg hotels
0.5 km away
Scandic Rubinen
Scandic Rubinen
#36 of 67 in Gothenburg
1,063 reviews
0.5 km away
Gothia Towers
Gothia Towers
#9 of 67 in Gothenburg
5,033 reviews
0.5 km away
Elite Park Avenue Hotel
Elite Park Avenue Hotel
#18 of 67 in Gothenburg
968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Scandic Crown
Scandic Crown
#35 of 67 in Gothenburg
1,110 reviews
1.1 km away
Scandic Europa Gothenburg
Scandic Europa Gothenburg
#30 of 67 in Gothenburg
1,405 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotell Liseberg Heden
Hotell Liseberg Heden
#34 of 67 in Gothenburg
507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Hotel Opalen? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Hotel Opalen

Address: Engelbrektsgatan 73, Gothenburg 402 23, Sweden
Region: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Gothenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Gothenburg
#26 Luxury Hotel in Gothenburg
#28 Business Hotel in Gothenburg
Price Range: ₹ 7,621 - ₹ 19,214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Hotel Opalen 4*
Number of rooms: 353
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Scandic Opalen hotel is located in central Gothenburgh within easy reach of shopping, restaurants and culture. The hotel is a perfect base for exploring the city's many attractions like the Poseidon statue, all the exihibtions held at Svenska Mässan, Universeum and the Museum of World Culture. Gothenburg's famous amusement park - Liseberg - is only a short walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Scandic Hotels, Expedia, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scandic Hotel Opalen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Hotel Gothenburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing