We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Very plain and big without any particular detail” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Scandic Crown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Scandic Crown
Ranked #36 of 68 Hotels in Gothenburg
GreenLeadersBronze level
New York, NY
Level Contributor
118 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Very plain and big without any particular detail”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

This was not our first choice for a weekend in Gothenburg, but there was availability. The hotel lacks charm, originality and the staff is not very friendly. It is probably good for a business stay, though on that particular weekend there were many young people who were very noisy. It is very close to the center near the old stadium a short walk from the train station. The are is not my favorite in town. It is a very plain and simple hotel, very standard in the decor, clean but a bit aged.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Selvig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

844 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    169
    354
    209
    81
    31
See reviews for
283
156
21
246
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
138 reviews
128 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2011

Scandic Crown Hotel in Göteborg was built in the end of the 1980th. It was my absolute favorite hotel in Göteborg in that time, with very nice rooms, a gourmet restaurant with the most fantastic dishes and also a great breakfast buffet. But it was 20 years ago.

I have frequently been accommodated in this hotel since that time but unfortunately, during the two decades, I have seen that Scandic Crown Hotel has fallen into decay so I began to choose other hotel’s in this cozy town.

However, in October 2011, I had the opportunity to overnight once again in this hotel. The hotel has undergone a necessary fresh up since I was accommodated here a couple a years ago, but not to the luxury style as it one time was. Today the hotel is more a 3+ hotel which also is the case with the restaurant. The ambition to be a first class restaurant has the hotel given up. Most obvious you can see the new, lesser, ambitions with the hotel at the breakfast table. It’s okay to eat. But not more than that.

To recommend it? I’m not sure, it depends on the price for the accommodation. Don’t pay to much! Then you can find better alternatives in Göteborg! Two advantages with the hotel are that it's situated only with a five minutes walking tour from the central station and a fast Internet connection is free of charge.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Someishere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2011

Good thing no 1 - This hotel was easy to find, being just a few minutes walk from the central train station and bus terminal. Good thing no 2 - The rooms are good sized and beautifully clean. Good thing no 3 - Breakfast had a good range of items, replenished frequently. The only down side (in common with almost all European hotels) is that there is no facility to make tea or coffee in your own room, rather you have to go downstairs and pay for it. This may be just an Australian thing, but all hotel rooms in Australia have coffee and tea making facilities in your own room. Rooms had a safe, which was good. The location was good with regard to accessing all parts of the city. Also, getting fresh in in to the room was a bit hard as teh windows did not open far - but this may have been a safety thing.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rossie_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2011

Only 5 minutes from the Nils Ericson Bus terminal (where the airport bus drops you) and Central Station. For my friends and I who had tickets to see IFK Gothenburg play, it was ideal as it was virtually next door to the stadium! With regard to the facilities, there was a good selection for the breakfast, which was regularly topped up. However, whilst we stayed there was an issue with the spa so were unable to take in the rooftop view of Gothenburg from the spa. Also, we encountered some issues with the bar, in that it wasn't open after 10pm, but we could buy beer from the reception.(?)

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary_and_Sarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
99 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2011

Good place to stay if you travel by train. only 5 min by walk from C train station.
romms are nice and hotel offer very busy atmoshpare. You will never feel alone. Dinner and breakfast are nice. price is Ok but not economic.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MoooTi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gothenburg hotels
0.4 km away
Scandic Europa Gothenburg
Scandic Europa Gothenburg
#35 of 68 in Gothenburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,081 reviews
0.1 km away
Clarion Collection Hotel Odin
0.9 km away
Scandic Rubinen
Scandic Rubinen
#29 of 68 in Gothenburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Scandic Hotel Opalen
Scandic Hotel Opalen
#42 of 68 in Gothenburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 897 reviews
0.4 km away
STF Goteborg City Hotel
STF Goteborg City Hotel
#21 of 68 in Gothenburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
0.3 km away
Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel, Gothenburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Crown? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Crown

Property: Scandic Crown
Address: 3 Polhemsplatsen, Gothenburg 411 11, Sweden
Region: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Gothenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Gothenburg
#24 Luxury Hotel in Gothenburg
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,844 - ₹ 13,218
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Crown 4*
Number of rooms: 338
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Scandic Crown! Scandic Crown welcomes guests to the very heart of Gothenburg, right opposite the central station and just a stone's throw from the charming pedestrian streets and Sweden's largest shopping centre. The hotel's central yet quiet location makes it ideal for conference and business travellers, families and anyone else looking for a chance to relax whilst having all the attractions within arm's reach. The main attractions in Gothenburg, such as Liseberg amusement park, Operan opera house, Scandinavium events arena, Ullevi stadium, fashionable Avenyn and Universeum science centre are all within walking distance, and right next to our hotel is Star Bowling activity centre, Alfons Abergs Hus (Alfie Atkins' house), and the Garden Society of Gothenburg's beautiful parks. Our hotel basement has a large underground car park. Facility When you stay with us at Scandic Crown, take the opportunity to visit our relaxation suite with its wonderful views of Gothenburg and to immerse yourself in our jacuzzi. Enjoy a relaxing and delicious meal in our Kronan Bar & Matsalar hotel restaurant. At our hotel you can hold your conference in one of our 28 meeting rooms with capacity for up to 300 participants. As our guest, you also have free WiFi and 24-hour access to printers ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Scandic Crown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Crown Gothenburg
Scandic Crown Hotel Gothenburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing