We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Great Business Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Mektagonen

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Mektagonen
Ranked #13 of 68 Hotels in Gothenburg
Certificate of Excellence
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Business Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2012

This hotel is located in a very convenient location, easily accessible by tram/ bus. There are supermarkets in the same building and a couple of others nearby. Rooms were excellent and so was the breakfast buffet! Hotel staff is very courteous and helpful. Could not find a better hotel for this price, location and convenience at Gothenburg!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomson C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

427 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    164
    194
    58
    8
    3
See reviews for
164
71
13
118
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
91 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2012

While some will be put off by the location, I was very impressed by this excellent hotel. I have been travelling and Europe on business, and this is the best place I've stayed in so far. If you want to be in the centre of the action or lots of character, go elsewhere. But if you want a good, well appointed, hotel with great service, and you don't mind a 10-15 minute tram ride into the centre of town, then this should be great for you. I appreciated the large room with a microwave, fridge and hot plates. The shower was outstandingly good. There are laundry facilities so you can do your washing for no extra charge, which was invaluable for me on a long trip. I noticed a lot of families were staying at the hotel and imagine that the self-catering and laundry facilities suited them well. Yes, you do need to plan ahead for dinner as there are few local restaurants, but the supermarket has most things you might need to cook for yourself. Yes, my room looked straight into an office building, but it was extremely quiet at night and the beds are comfy. The staff were uniformly excellent at reception, even printing something out for me at no charge when I needed it quickly. There is intent access in the rooms, and breakfast was excellent. Highly recommended and I would definitely stay at the hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Odivelas, Portugal
Level Contributor
84 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2012

Let me put this way: I didn’t left because Goteborg was overbooked!!
When I arrived I tough that the taxi driver had made a mistake! The building is horrible! I’m quite sure this was an office building transformed into a hotel, so the entrance is terrible, very cold decoration, or better saying no decoration at all. Reception staff friendly enough, but not well trained, no internet access was provided (it’s free in all hotels in Sweden), no explanation how to arrive to the room, etc. Got into the room and went to get a bottle of water in the minibar: EMPTY! After 11 hours of plains and airports, I went down to get a bottle of water in the restaurant. I requested still water, but when open the bottle it was sparkling! Call the restaurant that informed me that they don’t have still water! Great! Reception told me that tap water is drinkable in Sweden. Nice! I didn’t know that!

Now the room:
Room is quite big even for a 4 stars (furniture Best Western style, simple, Ikea type, no decoration at all), has a small kitchenette which is good if you’re travelling with small kids (with table and chairs), no garbage bin in the room, very soft beds (too soft for me), floor without carpet so you can ear your neighbours walking and moving chairs, the curtains must be always closed (you’ll be in the dark) or else they can see you from the building in front.
Bathroom small, white tiles in the wall so can’t be simpler, no bathtub, very small sink.
Cleaning: the windows where really dirty, electricity outlets where dirty. Could be much better, you ca clearly note that management is not paying attention to details. No Duty manager during the night and reception can´t sort out anything! When i comment that windows where dirty they told me that is done by an outsourcing company. So what!!??? Shall I call them myself??!!
Restaurant: I requested room service. Fetuttini veal was well done but the veal seemed a peace of wood; salad was good and the parfait desert was a disaster.

Overall, if you’re with children it’s a good choice if you don’t want to stay in the city center (hotel is quite far), if you’re in business, just forge it!! Go elsewhere because the service is terrible!

Room Tip: bring ear plugs because there is loads of noice
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Helena S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
81 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2012

large modern hotel on the outskirts of gothenburg, where the rooms are absolutely huge and more like a flat than a room, my breakfast was given to me in a box to take back to my room/flat to do as you please with the next morning as i had an early start..., mine had its own sauna and all glass window fronts to look at the passers by and traffic etc, parked my car across the street to avoid the charges, comfy beds and nice and quite, not really central need to take a tram or taxi in to the centre

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bumshanky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moss, Norway
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2012

The room is nice, but I really missed being able to have a warm bathroom. No possibility to do anything with the temperature on the bathroom floor.
We stayed at this hotel this weekend because we were attending a big International Dogshow. So, a very dog-friendly hotel, but you had to walk a bit to find grass.....
Nice beds - Overall a nice hotel, but did not appreciate having to pay 140 pr. night for parking....

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lf_Norway_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gothenburg hotels
4.6 km away
Radisson Blu Riverside Hotel, Gothenburg
3.3 km away
STF Goteborg City Hotel
STF Goteborg City Hotel
#20 of 68 in Gothenburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
1.9 km away
Gothia Towers
Gothia Towers
#14 of 68 in Gothenburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 km away
Hotel Bellora
Hotel Bellora
#10 of 68 in Gothenburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 932 reviews
3.3 km away
Hotel Royal Gothenburg
Hotel Royal Gothenburg
#3 of 68 in Gothenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
3.4 km away
Clarion Hotel Post
Clarion Hotel Post
#9 of 68 in Gothenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Mektagonen? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Mektagonen

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Mektagonen
Address: 3 Falkenbergsgatan | and Molndalsvagen, Gothenburg 412 85, Sweden (Formerly StayAt Gothenburg)
Region: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Gothenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 68 Hotels in Gothenburg
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,000 - ₹ 19,024
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Mektagonen 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Mektagonen!Our 149 fresh hotel rooms vary in size from 32 to 60 square meters. All rooms are equipped with their own cooking facilities. If you choose one of our superior rooms you can enjoy a roof terrace view facing Gothenburg's event street. In our suites you get the opportunity to enjoy your own sauna.The hotel offers conference rooms, relax facilities, laundry and a restaurant. There is also a supermarket in the building, perfect if you want to cook for yourself in your room. Even if you are here for business or enjoying time off with family or friends, there is every opportunity for a great stay with us.From the BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Mektagonen, the heart of Gothenburg's event street is within 15 minutes walk, with Liseberg, The Swedish Exhibition & Congress Centre and Scandinavium as pearls on a string. If you prefer to take a tram The Avenue is just minutes away.Our 24 hour reception service ensures your best possible stay. All rooms have dining area, sofa beds, bathrooms, with fully equipped cooking facilities, coffee & tea, flat screen TV, a hairdryer, an iron & ironing board and Internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Mektagonen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing