We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (761)
Filter reviews
762 results
Traveller rating
310
273
118
38
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
310
273
118
38
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviews train station open the window nice hotel fresh air relaxing area nice room city centre could have been better comfortable bed top floor convenient location breakfast and dinner stayed one night the river jacuzzi sockets sweden
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 762 reviews
Reviewed 30 March 2018

We did have a few complaints when we stayed at this hotel last year, but the manager handled that in a very impressive way. After reading our review on Tripadvisor, she made contact, and offered us a free night. This week we accepted her invitation, and they actually booked us into a nice suite for a free night. I think this shows very impressive customer service.

We had a perfect stay this time, the suite was very nice, comfortable bed, breakfast very good with plenty of selections, and the hotel is very centrally located in Karlstad. Can recommend.

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ronny64Norway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lena M, Hotelldirektör at Clarion Collection Hotel Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018
Google Translation

Tack för din återkoppling. Härligt att höra att vi kunde leva upp till era förväntningar denna gång. Vi hoppas ni återkommer till oss igen.
Varmt välkomna tillbaka!

Mvh/ Lena Malmberg
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2018

We stayed one night at the Clarion Hotel Plaza in Karlstad prior to departing on the train to Gothenburg. The front desk woman who greeted us, Annie, was so personable and accommodating. The hotel decor is great, bright and quite modern. The room was small but had everything we needed. The location is across the street from the central train station and within walking distance to the city centre, shops and many restaurants. We had a buffet dinner at the hotel which was included in our reservation. It changes every night and the ambiance is relaxing and welcoming. The buffet breakfast offered a substantial assortment of foods that was constantly being replenished as the need arose. We would highly recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a little special treatment and a relaxing place to stay while in Karlstad.

Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com
Thank jonibean13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lena M, Hotelldirektör at Clarion Collection Hotel Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2018

Thank you for taking time to anser our survey, we highly appreciate that. Nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We hope to see you soon again at the hotel.

Best regards
Lena Malmberg
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2018

Happened to get a room facing the hotel bar en reception area. No window to open or get fresh air. Makes the room hot and the result is poor sleeping. Arriving late in the evening and the receptionist stating no reservation had been made (expected no more guests that evening), we could have been better off in the first of four weeks staying at this hotel

Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com
Thank erikn958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna C, Receptionschef at Clarion Collection Hotel Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2018

Hi!

Thank you for your review and we are sorry to see that you didn't find this room satisfying. Please let us know when you will be visiting us again so that we can do our best to find a room suitable for you.

Best regards,
Anna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2017

Very nice hotel with a perfect location. Friendly staff. We had a samll but cozy room at the top floor. Unluckily we didn't wear earplugs. Strongly recommend that, because otherwise you'll hear everything your neighbours say.

Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com
Thank 261tomasf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lena M, Hotelldirektör at Clarion Collection Hotel Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2017

Thank you for tanking time to answer our survey it is important to us. We are looking over the problem you drove to our attention to solve in a god way.

Very welcome back to us.
Lena Malmberg
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2017 via mobile

Simple but fine in the city centre. The rooms are however very small. And if you have a room to the covered interior yard, you cannot open the window. Our room was very hot. Positive: the very diverse breakfast buffet.

Date of stay: November 2017
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank kmiotekc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lena M, Hotelldirektör at Clarion Collection Hotel Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2017

Thank you for answering our survey, we work hard to improve our work.
The hotell have different kind of room categories to choose between. It is due to security reasons the window to the yard are not possible to open.

We wish you a very welcome back to Karlstad and Plaza.

Regards
Lena Malmberg
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews