We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:30 AM - 6:00 PM
Save
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Ostermalm Saluhall
from US$ 94.80
More Info
from US$ 166.30
More Info
Reviews (1,491)
Filter reviews
579 results
Traveller rating
282
220
60
7
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
282
220
60
7
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews food hall food market tysta mari market hall lisa elmqvist temporary building swedish food nice market toast skagen mashed potatoes miso soup worth a visit stalls sweden bakery
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 579 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

The original old Östermalm red brick market building is being renovated and will be opened in in the winter of 2020 (meaningful, isn’t it).
Anyway, one still has an opportunity to try & taste this wonderful place (mo- fr 9.30-19.00, sa 9.30-17.00), because they moved to a temporary hall standing near the authentic one.
The local products are amazing: fish, meat, game, fruit/vegetables, cheese, bread & pastry, sweets…
Many of the stalls have their own little restaurants, which are definitely worth visiting. Fresh & qualitative, a real part of the Stockholm cultural & food life.

Thank Travelcookiecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2018

The prime food market for connoisseurs with a large choice of meat and fish, some of the stores going for generations, like Lisa Elmquist, the classic fish store with the best salmon, marinated or cold or warmed smoked in the world, only the highest quality, and the price is accordingly, There is also a fancy veggie store Lisbeth Janson where my mother used to shop when I was a kid, with only the best of everything from the plant kingdom. A bakery with great cinnamon rolls and restaurants, like Tysta Mari and Lisa Elmquist. Just a stroll through the market is a great experience, you don't have to buy.

Thank BasicsTouring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2018 via mobile

We were sad the original market hall was under construction but were happy there was a smaller version opposite the original one. The offer is great and it is perfect for lunch or a break.

Thank 86_Weltenbummlerin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2018

OStermalm Saluhall is a very nice market located in Stockholm. Here you can see a lot of shops, where it is possible to buy fish, meat, vegetables, fruits or eat/drink in some restaurants/bars. A very nice place to buy gastronomical souvenirs.
(see also Lisa Elmqvist restaurant)

Thank AlbertSalichs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2018

We were a little disappointed to find that the original Saluhall is closed for renovations for (over) two years. The temporary replacement next door has a number of stands which sell high quality produce albeit at sky high prices. There are also a few bars for freshly made sandwiches (esp. Tysta Mari), fish soup, oysters, cocktails and local craft beer..... we hope the original Saluhall about I read a lot will keep its old flair...

2  Thank schmidtmg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2018 via mobile

Nothing special, low quality lunch food inside. Maybe the other things they sell are high quality but the prices are salty.
Overrated place and nothing special.

Thank M9737BBdaniell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2018

We visited the temporary foodhall for lunch to try the open faced sandwiches and we were very satisfied with our lunch. We sat down at indoor tables and enjoyed open faced shrimp salad and salmon sandwiches along with fresh tap beer. The food was delicious and the portions were generous. We spent USD $50.00 for 2 people. You pay at the counter and then carry your food to your table.

Walking around the small foodhall was interesting as besides the open faced sandwich vendors there are vendors selling prepared ready made food to go, fresh meats (including reindeer), Robert's Coffee for good espresso, Betsy Sandberg Chocolates (where I bought chocolate bars made in Sweden), and bars for cocktails and beer. As for the original historic Saluhall, you can just view the outside of the building for now. I am sure the renovation will be fabulous.

Thank greattripsrw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2018

It was quite a disappointment to find that the original Saluhall is closed for renovation, I hope they keep the great historic look and feel it had in the past. The temporary setting is okay, though smaller and with no real atmosphere. Luckily Tysta Mari was there with its great toast Skagen, salmon and fish soup.

1  Thank Araboro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2018 via mobile

This is a wonderful food hall with top quality produce as well as some cafes and pre made meals. It is an excellent way to see Swedish food in a non touristy way. I wouldn’t recommend if you are looking for a cheap lunch, this is for people looking for beautiful high quality produce and meals.

Thank jr_c191990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2018

Seems as though the original building which is under renovation would have more vendors. Really liked Lisa Elmqvist for herring and other fishes.

Thank marybethjohnson2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews