We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A scandal. Do not go to this hotel. Cannot be trusted”
Review of Nordic Light Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Nordic Light Hotel
Ranked #34 of 154 Hotels in Stockholm
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 April 2012

I arrived late after a long day and a flight. I had a garanteed and confirmed reservation. After waiting at reception for someone to show up, I was informed that the hotel was overbooked and could not provide my room. This is not what you expect ! I have travelled a lot in many countries around the world and I have never never been in that situation. No hotel should dare do this. They pretended to try to find another hotel for me, with all Stockholm hotels presumably full. They ended sending me 1 hour later to a Formule 1 hotel which I was told was a 3 star hotel where I would pay the same rate as at the Nordic Light (around 2200 SEK). Obviously Formule 1 has no star, rooms are cells, with no bathroom and cost 500 SEK.
It is hard for me to believe this is happening ! My advice: Nordic Light is not trust worthy, DO NOT book there, DO NOT go there.

Stayed: April 2012
1  Thank EtnaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotta S, Guest Relations Manager at Nordic Light Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2012

Dear Guest,

At first I am really sorry for this and I understand that you are upset, confused and certainly wonder about how something like this can happen?
We continuously strive to improve the service we provide towards our guests and I am deeply sorry that the hotel did not manage to meet your expectations this time.

I really hope you will visit us again so that we can convince you that we can deliver a pleasant stay at the Nordic Light Hotel.

Do not hesitate to contact me for any questions!

Kind regards,
Charlotta Svedberg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,481)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

514 - 518 of 1,481 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2012

I'm surprised by some of the reviews here and some are a bit over the top..

The hotel is in a great location and close to the terminal for the direct train to the airport so that is a plus. Unfortunately the downsides are that the rooms are very small and bathrooms dated. I also found the rooms tone cold and the bed linen looked 'tired'...

The bar is unfriendly and essentially your sitting in the lobby giving the feel of a soulless airport bar, the restaurant is just an extension of the lobby with a dozen tables again situated at the back of the large lobby. Breakfast was disappointing, quality was poor, one breakfast room was like sitting in a large refrigeration unit as it was all white with white furniture. In my opinion the tables and chairs were very dirty and the place needed a good clean.

The hotel is far from High Class, it's average at best. I will be staying in Stockholm for 4 weeks on business and unfortunately I cannot stay here.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JudithChalmers09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotta S, Guest Relations Manager at Nordic Light Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2012

Dear Guest,

I just read your review and at first I’m sorry that the hotel did not meet your expectations. We continuously strive to improve the service we provide towards our guests and therefore highly value your comments.

We usually say that Nordic Light Hotel is Stockholm’s design hotel inspired by the northern light, with a sleek, stylish exterior that conceals a warm, welcoming interior but you seem to have a different opinion about it. We have many reviews regarding our nice breakfast which makes it even more disappointing to see that you felt differently.

We have several room categories and some of the single rooms are quite small. There are also superior and De Luxe rooms which are more spacious with both shower and bathtub.
Nice that you will come back to Stockholm and I hope you will visit us some day
during this period.

Kind regards,
Charlotta Svedberg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2012

This is a very cool design hotel in a good location. When you enter the lobby you can experience some nice design, exciting light features, cool music and trendy people. The hotel rooms (double) are spacious and also has a special light theme in different colors. The beds are huge and comfortable and can provide a very good night sleep. The hotel staff are very service minded, helpful and can provide you with some good recommendations. I hope to stay here again in the future!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Milla007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotta S, Guest Relations Manager at Nordic Light Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2012

Dear guest,
Thank you for your nice feedback from your stay with us. Very nice to hear that you appreciated the hotel with the light theme and also that you felt our staff friendly and serviceminded.

I hope to be able to welcome you back soon again!

Kind regards,
Charlotta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2012

The rooms are good, modern, weel-maintained and clean, and the food in the restaurant is great (modern Scandinavian cuisine), as is the selcetion of oversaes wine. There's also other facilities such as fitness room etc.
The staff was pleasant and helpfull, allthough a couple of employees seemed very slow on the uptake and lacking basic training.
The hotel bar is in the lobby, comfy sofas, DJ in the weekends etc., the drinks are not very good.

All summed up; this hotel is a "classic" design/botique hotel amongst the better of them.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CopenhagenLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotta S, Guest Relations Manager at Nordic Light Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2012

Dear Guest

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay here with us and thank you for the important feedback. So nice to hear that you liked the rooms and the food in our restaurant. We always strive to improve us and deliver the best service to our guests. Welcome back to us the next time you visit Stockholm.

Kind regards

Charlotta Svedberg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2012

Nordic Light is a very nice hotel located 100 meters from the airport express train station which makes it really convenient for a late business arrival or just general for accessing the hotel from the airport.

The rooms are funky, with ambient lighting and nice furniture. Bathrooms are stylish and clean and they have complementary high end shampoo for you to use as a nice extra touch. The beds are comfortable but I could have wanted better pillows. The rooms are quiet, at least the one I had which had windows inwards and not towards the street. If you want to make sure for it to be quiet ask for a room not facing the street, not that I know if it is noisy if you get one towards the street.

The breakfast is superb with a lot of variety, smoothies, high quality juice, cold cuts etc. The restaurant and bar has a very nice vibe and crowd in the evening. There is a gym, complementary wifi.

All in all a very good stay.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joachim73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotta S, Guest Relations Manager at Nordic Light Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you for your nice review regarding your stay here with us at Nordic Light Hotel and we are happy to hear that you liked the room and the breakfast. Our new gym will open soon, so you are welcome to try it the next time you visit us.

Kind Regards

Charlotta Svedberg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Norrmalm
Freys Hotel
Freys Hotel
#18 of 154 in Stockholm
1,327 reviews
Norrmalm
Hotel C Stockholm
Hotel C Stockholm
#35 of 154 in Stockholm
2,634 reviews
Norrmalm
ProfilHotels Central Hotel
ProfilHotels Central Hotel
#19 of 154 in Stockholm
805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Norrmalm
Radisson Blu Royal Viking Hotel, Stockholm
Norrmalm
Grand Central by Scandic
Grand Central by Scandic
#49 of 154 in Stockholm
1,906 reviews
Norrmalm
Elite Hotel Adlon
Elite Hotel Adlon
#39 of 154 in Stockholm
795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nordic Light Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nordic Light Hotel

Address: 7 Vasaplan, Stockholm 111 20, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Norrmalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
#27 Business Hotel in Stockholm
#32 Romantic Hotel in Stockholm
#34 Family Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range: ₹ 10,546 - ₹ 22,700 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Nordic Light Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nordic Light Hotel is Stockholm's design hotel, with an interior inspired by the northern light. The hotel is located in the city centre of Stockholm right next to the best shopping, nightlife and the express-train to Arlanda airport. All 175 rooms share the same well thought-out design and the atmosphere in our restaurant and bar is both cool and inviting. At the hotel, our friendly staff guides you to the best restaurants, clubs and shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Nordic Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Nordic Light Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nordic Light Stockholm
Hotel Nordic Light

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing