We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,343)
Filter reviews
3,343 results
Traveller rating
1,295
1,318
492
160
78
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,295
1,318
492
160
78
Show reviews that mention
All reviews skanstull station big hotel modern hotel gamla stan business trip t bana old town metro stop breakfast buffet t centralen excellent hotel single room standard room nice breakfast city centre public transport yogurt
Filter
Updating list...
357 - 362 of 3,343 reviews
Reviewed 19 February 2016

This is a very nice centrally located hotel at a good price. It is within 30 minutes walking distance to the old town and a short 15 minute walk to the Globen arena and shopping center. There are many restaurants, services, and shopping in the immediate area, and the metro line is literally outside the hotel entrance for a quick trip to the city center.

Having stayed many times in Stockholm and in many different areas I have found that this is the very best compromise on location and price. It has all you need for a location especially if you are planning anything at the Globen arena or the new Soccer stadium beside the Globe.

There is always a lively vibe at this hotel with a nice bar area in the front next to the street..there are a couple of other bars as well more to the inside of the hotel. The food (especially the breakfast) is excellent in both quantity and variety.

The rooms are clean comfortable and well looked after. They are typically European with two singles as a standard and pushed together for a double. There is a nice variety of room options as well.

I would highly recommend this location for first time visitors to the city and to seasoned visitors as well. There is nothing you can not reach simply, safely, and easily.

One note...Typical to all of Scandinavia drinks are quite expensive in the hotel - there is a Systembolaget (Liquor store) across the street in the mall, as well as an ICA grocery store that sells light beer and wine..This helps.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the Globe have a very nice view at night.
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jamie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnthonyChu, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel Stockholm, responded to this reviewResponded 29 February 2016

Thank you for your detailed review James.

We're thrilled that you enjoyed your stay here, and that you enjoyed the location - we too love being a part of the full-of-character area of Södermalm, while being easily accessible to the many areas and things to see and do in Stockholm.

It's especially nice to hear from someone like you that has been to Stockholm many times and stayed in several of the different areas of the city.

We are currently updating our restaurant & bar concept at the front of the hotel, so hopefully we have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the future and that you get a chance to experience a new aspect of the hotel. Also, we have many different types of bed configurations with the 2 singles as you mentioned but also the possibility for double beds with one mattress, so please feel free to let us know your preferences and we'll do our best to suit your needs.

Take care and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to us! Warm regards, Anthony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2016 via mobile

The hotel is centrally located and within walking distance to a lot is places. The rooms are good but not that big though for the price. The best part of the hotel that I liked was the buffet breakfast which I thought had a good choice of options.

For food you have a lot of options around the hotel within 10 or 15 mins of walking.

The areas of improvement are as follows:

1. There were no toiletries made available in the room such as tooth brush / paste,
Moisturizer, shaving kit, etc.

2. For people who come from Asia and are used to drinking bottled water when traveling there was just one 500ml water bottle available in the room. Any additional water is chargeable.

Stayed: January 2016, travelled on business
Thank srikx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnthonyChu, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel Stockholm, responded to this reviewResponded 29 February 2016

Thanks so much for taking the time to leave a balanced review and your feedback Srikanth! We're happy that you enjoyed your stay overall, and in particular our wonderful breakfast.

With regards to our room size and price, our rates are carefully set according to demand and supply of hotel rooms in the city - as do almost all the hotels here - so we supply what we feel are very competitive rates in relation to similar room types in the rest of the city at any given time. I mention this in case you were left with the impression that our rates are always the same for the room type you received. If we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to us please do check and see what the rates are like (and in comparison to other hotels) as they can fluctuate depending on the period, and even one day to the next can vary quite a bit!

Regarding the products you mention, we happily provide all guests with a wide range of complimentary ammenities, however the rooms should have a notice in them informing guests of their availability (as part of our dedication to be as environmentally friendly as possible and reduce wasteage, we have chosen not to place them in all rooms from the start of a stay). We are currently changing out the information regarding them in the rooms, so we apologise if the information in your room was missing.

We wholeheartedly understand your point of view with the water, especially as it is common in Asia to drink bottled water. Tap water in Sweden is extremely pure and safe - everyone here takes it for granted and drinks it regularly. We appreciate your feedback on it and will take into consideration how we might better inform our guests.

Thank you once again for your helpful review, and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to us again! Best Regards, Anthony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2016

Good location, few yards away from Skanstull T-bana Metro and necessity shopping both same and opposite side of the road.
Love the hanging pool especially in winter.
Pool is part of spa, therefore it is not included in room price.
Good range spa menu.
Healthy breakfast is available.
Egg station Monday to Saturday

Room Tip: Ask for ones with the street view or not those you can see opposite rooms.
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank woodyflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnthonyChu, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel Stockholm, responded to this reviewResponded 29 February 2016

Thank you woody, it's such a pleasure to read that you enjoyed the location and the wide range of features and services at our hotel.

It seems from your review that you have stayed with us several times before (and if correct - we very much appreciate it!). We hope to be able to continue to provide many more positive experiences for you in the future. All the very best, Anthony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2016

I stayed here for two nights, as part of a business trip to Stockholm.

The location is good, fairly central and is relatively easy to find. I struggled a little, as the hotel were holding a Pharma conference of some sorts when I arrived and the conference signs were dominating the hotel signage.

The lobby is modern and the check-in is swift and efficient, if a little on the impersonal side. I had a small problem with my credit card and they helped me fix it efficiently and politely.

The rooms are fairly standard, if a little on the small side. The closet is definitely a 'space saver' and will hold a few shirts and your coat only. The bathroom leads directly off from the bed, which can be a little weird at times.

However, it was clean, modern, with flat-screen TV with international channels, plenty of outlets to work off. The bed is one of those common European 'twin' beds but very comfortable, with a selection of pillow sizes to choose from.

Free WiFi is provided but it is terrible. Very slow (ca. 4Mbps) and I struggled to hold a Skype conversation. If you keep to basic browsing and email, it is fine.

Breakfast on the first morning looked like a potential disaster. As they were holding the conference, I have never seen so many people at breakfast. However, the queues for the food were manageable and the staff were keeping the food stocked and tables clean, so I still managed to find a clean table to sit at and eat.

For a coffee drinking nation, the coffee selection was very poor. Black, sludgy coffee, from a machine was all I could find.

Check-out was very efficient and swift. I will not hesitate to stay at The Clarion again, next time I am in Stockholm.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank markjholloway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnthonyChu, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel Stockholm, responded to this reviewResponded 29 February 2016

Thank you for taking the time to write your detailed and balanced review Mark!

We're sorry to hear that your WiFi connection was so slow, it is normally much more stable but we have on a couple of occasions heard of strains in certain situations when we have high occupancy and everyone is logged in at the same time. If we do have the pleasure of having you back as our guest, and you were concerned with a stable connection for a Skype conversation etc. then I just wanted to let you know that wired Internet is also free for all guests here and if you happened to not have a cable with you we can happily loan you one.

Although we do serve coffee from large machines at breakfast, they are loaded with fresh grounds and calibrated for taste and consistancy. It certainly should not be sludgy and thanks to your feedback I had the staff check the machines shortly after your review. We also have espresso-based coffees available from Upstairs bar and Restaurant from 10:30 onwards.

Thanks once again for helping us with your information. We're thrilled that your overall impression was a positive one and that you wouldn't hesitate to return to us the next time you are in town, and we look forward to taking care of you again. Best regards, Anthony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2016

Excellent service. Nice and clean rooms. Comfortable bed! Breakfast very nice, friendly and helpful Staff. Location also good. I will recomend this for business travela, and also for couples staying for a weekend. Dont know about the facility for children.

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com
Thank Htgsrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnthonyChu, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel Stockholm, responded to this reviewResponded 29 February 2016

Thank you so much for your review and recommendation! It's nice to know how you could see that the hotel is good for both business and pleasure, and we do indeed have many options in terms of accommodating families.

We're happy that you enjoyed your stay and the service here, as well as our location, and we hope to be able to welcome you back to us again in the future. Warm regards, Anthony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews