We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Conveniently located but not great!”
Review of Scandic Klara

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Scandic Klara
Ranked #70 of 154 Hotels in Stockholm
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 6 January 2012

We stayed in Rica Hotel Stockholm in early January 2012 and loved the easiness of the location of the hotel but not the hotel itself. The room we got was in the second floor and facing the hotel's Winter Garden where the breakfast was served. The hotel room was tiny and it was very difficult to move around. The bed wasn't comfortable at all and the A/C was the loudest ever. The only way to get some sleep was to switch it off for the night. The only good thing about the room was the bathroom which was a lot better than the room itself. And the room was quiet which was nice too.

The breakfast wasn't at all spectacular and we have both had better breakfasts for example in many chain hotels in Finland. One of us needs gluten free breakfast and the bread served espeacially on the first morning was poor. The second morning was a bit better but when we asked the staff whether some of the items at breakfast were gluten free the reply was I think they are, which wasn't assuring at all.

The hotel is very convenient for a traveller needing a good base in central Stockholm (it was easy to go back to the hotel and take our shopping there and continue seeing the town) but I am sure there are better choices in central Stockholm that cost approximately the same as Rica Hotel Stockholm and we would not consider this hotel again while visiting Stockholm.

Room Tip: Ask a room that does not face the Winter Garden (breakfast area) but actually has a view outside. Th...
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travelfansFinland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,274)
There are newer reviews for Scandic Klara
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

434 - 438 of 1,274 reviews

Reviewed 6 January 2012

We stayed one night as part of a Silja cruise package. The hotel was in a perfect location, the rooms were nice, the desk staff very helpful, and the breakfast was GREAT!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cincytraveller_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2012

Very friendly and helpful staff and a great breakfast make this a good choice in the heart of Stockholm. While not as close to Central Station as expected, still within walking distance even with luggage. Stayed on two separate nights in rooms that would be considered small but adequate. Comfortable bed with good facilities. Amount of timber including outward opening doors confirmed we were in Sweden.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MickQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2011

Rica hotel Stockholm has a wonderful location right in the middle of Stockholm,you are near of all the sights and the underground is just round the corner.
The reception was friendly and effective and our room was ready though we arrived quite early.The only thing we were not aware of was that the hotel had no ordinary twins and we had to pay extra for our twin.
The room was well decorated and big enough for two. So was the bathroom which was clean and well organised with a small supply of bathroom things.
The only thing (which we did not know) that bothered us a little was that the hotel was completely alcohol-free(no dining with wine and no beer in the mini-fridge.)

Room Tip: The doubles are quite small-- pick a twin if you don´t mind extra charge.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank eki123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2011

Stayed in a superior room for 2 nights

It is centrally located so most of the tourists spots are within walking distance. (e.g Skansen, Vasa musee) I was stupid enough to take a taxi when we checked-in...which was totally unnecessary since the airport bus took you to the Central station and from there it's only 5-minute walk to the hotel!

It is not a big room but space is adequate , it's not cheap either but i think the price is fair in this expensive city. The bed was comfy and it's quiet (just a bit of wind during the night) though our room was facing the street.

Also like the breakfast with a variety of choices from the buffet, can definitely skip lunch after breakfast.

Don't forget to check out the candy shop next door!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catling55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Norrmalm
Scandic No. 53
Scandic No. 53
#45 of 154 in Stockholm
1,552 reviews
Norrmalm
Freys Hotel
Freys Hotel
#17 of 154 in Stockholm
1,299 reviews
Norrmalm
Haymarket by Scandic
Haymarket by Scandic
#38 of 154 in Stockholm
822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Norrmalm
Scandic Continental
Scandic Continental
#30 of 154 in Stockholm
1,066 reviews
Norrmalm
Grand Central by Scandic
Grand Central by Scandic
#48 of 154 in Stockholm
1,859 reviews
Norrmalm
Hobo
Hobo
#27 of 154 in Stockholm
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Klara? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Klara

Address: 7 Sloejdgatan, Stockholm 111 57, Sweden (Formerly Rica Hotel Stockholm)
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Norrmalm
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Stockholm
#49 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range: ₹ 8,888 - ₹ 19,119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Klara 4*
Number of rooms: 292
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at Scandic Klara, and enjoy central Stockholm at its best city location. Our hotel is a popular meeting place with a newly renovated restaurant, meeting facilities and modern hotel rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Scandic Hotels, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Scandic Klara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stockholm Rica Hotel
Rica Hotel Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing