We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not even avarage”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Clarion Hotel Amaranten
Ranked #65 of 155 Hotels in Stockholm
Reviewed 4 December 2011

Negative: Worn down room and uncomfortable bed. Definitely not four-star in my opinion. Breakfast buffe nice, but packed with people and not organized properly.

Positive: Good location next to a tube-station. Friendly staff. Nice breakfast.

Would not stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tom_and_molly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (2,284)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

538 - 542 of 2,284 reviews

Reviewed 3 December 2011

Hotel is only 300m far frrom Central station, good place for transpotration to Stockholm fair, where are most of congresses. Rooms are clean, minamalistic, good for overnight.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dukajovic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2011

This hotel features small rooms and bathrooms. What I found particularly strange and annoying was that the bath/shower drained directly on to the bathroom floor making it permanently wet. Breakfast was good, but there were not enough tables to accomodate all guests.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BraddyBcn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2011

I had checked into this hotel on the 26th of October and stayed in this hotel till the 5th of November. I had arrived in this hotel at around 10 in the night.At first they had given me keys to room no:505. When I reached the room, there was someone's stuff in there , a laptop and camera came to my notice. I had realized that the people at the front desk had given me access to a wrong room. I went back to the reception, they apologized to me and gave me keys to my real room. This was a major security breach and I should have just checked out of the hotel the next day itself. But I did not.
The room where I stayed was in the fifth floor and very small .For straight five days they did not even change my sheets until I raised it with them. Only guests, cleaners and hotel staff can get into the lifts as you need the keys to activate the lifts.
On the 4th of November when I returned to my room after a days work, I found out that my hand luggage(It had my personal laptop) which I had kept locked in my room was stolen. I had kept my cosmetics( including my comb), my Iphone charger in one of the shelves. The shelves were wiped clean. The books that I had in the front pocket of my hand luggage were thrown out and replaced with my cosmetics and my charger!!

Even though the hotel helped me in making a police report, they were very casual about it. They went back on their word as well. In the night , the lady at the reception had told me that they would reimburse me and asked me to buy items that are of utmost necessity but asked me to keep a bill.This happened on the Friday before Halloween, so managers were all on leave for the weekend.They asked me to come back on monday when the hotel manager would be there. So I went ahead and bought stuff that was of utmost necessity and came on monday morning to meet the manager. They went back on their word!! They refused to reimburse me for my loss stating that their insurance does not cover theft of my personal belongings from my room which was locked. It was as good as losing something in a public place!!
No one in the hotel has taken the initiative to contact me about the theft. I had to follow it up every couple of days to determine the status.They were not even willing to contact the house keeping till Monday! They only have CCTvs in their two exit points. They don't have any in the hallways. CCTV footage was not checked till Tuesday. I am not sure about whether they really checked it even now. I had showed them the pictures of an identical bag which was of different colour to the one I had lost. They were not able to spot someone taking my luggage out, which means it might still be in the hotel. But nobody has been able to locate it.

So please be very wary of staying in this hotel. There is every chance that people can rob you off your things from your own room!! I feel like they hardly care about the customer's security. I have stayed in so many places before and this has never happened to me. I felt so violated. What if I had been in my room when this happened!! I am so scared to even think about that now! i checked out from this place on the 5th of November itself.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Meera_Joseph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2011

Our tour guide mentioned the hotel was "addressing issues;" however, of 6 cities on our tour, this hotel was my LEAST favorite.

First, I didn't think the location was close to the historic district and major sightseeing attractions. After the tour bus dropped us back at the hotel in the early afternoon, I didn't want to walk 30+ minutes back downtown later in the day. It also seemed remote even for good shopping. The Italian restaurant about a block from the hotel was VERY nice with good value - sorry, can't remember the name, but it was recommended by one of the staff at registration. They were always helpful but couldn't remedy issues with the hotel, like plumbing or decor.

Second, although our room was quite large with comfortable beds, the bathroom was awful. The tub drain was either clogged or not installed correctly as the water from a shower flooded the floor during each use. Others on the tour complained about the same problem. The bath mat was useless - it got soaked and you'd be standing in the bathroom with water oozing through your toes. I thought it might be better to take a bath, but there was no plug. I called the front desk and asked to have someone bring one up. We got 3 different plugs brought up in about 30 minutes, but none fit the drain - no bath!

Third, the breakfast buffet was quite adequate, but the room was dark and quite unfriendly.

Also, the charge to use the one computer in the lobby was very expensive.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SDCCexhibitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Norrmalm
Clarion Hotel Sign
Clarion Hotel Sign
#54 of 155 in Stockholm
3,770 reviews
Vasastan
Elite Palace Hotel Stockholm
Elite Palace Hotel Stockholm
#45 of 155 in Stockholm
863 reviews
Södermalm
Clarion Hotel Stockholm
Clarion Hotel Stockholm
#43 of 155 in Stockholm
2,992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Norrmalm
Radisson Blu Royal Viking Hotel, Stockholm
Norrmalm
Comfort Hotel Stockholm
Comfort Hotel Stockholm
#64 of 155 in Stockholm
2,204 reviews
Norrmalm
Best Western and hotel
Best Western and hotel
#55 of 155 in Stockholm
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel Amaranten? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel Amaranten

Address: 31 Kungsholmsgatan, Stockholm 112 27, Sweden (Formerly First Hotel Amaranten)
Phone Number:
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Kungsholmen , Kungsholmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 155 Hotels in Stockholm
Price Range: ₹ 7,245 - ₹ 16,595 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Clarion Hotel Amaranten 3.5*
Number of rooms: 461
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clarion Hotel Amaranten is located on Kungsholmen in central Stockholm. With only 700 meters from Stockholm's city center and 10 minutes walk to Central Station, the hotel is easily accessible and close to most attractions in Stockholm.Kungsholmen has a great variety of restaurants and has a charming nightlife, ranging from casual outdoor cafes to nightclubs. Near the hotel is also the City Hall and Town Hall, two of Stockholm's most famous silhouettes. At the hotel, we offer a gym and sauna. The hotel restaurant Kitchen & Table serves a combination of the best flavors of multicultural Manhattan with local ingredients from the region around one of Stockholm's most beautiful islands - Kungsholmen. You can also visit our award winngin cocktailbar Tap Room Kungsholmen to enjoy our modern takes on classical cocktails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Nordic Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion Hotel Amaranten reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1st Hotel Amaranten
First Hotel Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing