We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,321)
Filter reviews
3,321 results
Traveller rating
1,186
1,353
534
173
75
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,186
1,353
534
173
75
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the executive lounge old town gamla stan diamond member across the bridge main building an upgrade excellent location junior suite metro stop underground station breakfast buffet long weekend vasa museum t bana beautiful city standard room
Filter
Updating list...
136 - 141 of 3,321 reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2018

The hotel location is great and means that most of the city is accessible on foot. The hotel itself is quite drab and in need or refurbishment in many areas. The first room we were given was extremely small, very tired looking, not the cleanest, and had a view of the opposite building.
I opted to upgrade as I wouldn't me happy staying in the room. The second room we were moved to was much better and seemed to be in part of the hotel that had been modernised. It also had a view of the river and old town, which is what we were expecting. If you chosen to stay here I would make sure you know what room you are booking.

Room Tip: Ask for a modernised room with a view
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caroline H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yulia T, Front Desk Agent at Hilton Stockholm Slussen, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2018

Dear Caroline H,

I would like to use the opportunity to thank you for choosing Hilton Stockholm Slussen for your recent stay and taking time to share your thoughts on TripAdvisor. I am sorry to read that we did not meet with your expectations in regards to the room you originally booked, but pleased to see you have been satisfied with the upgraded Twin Deluxe View room, which is one of my personal favorites. Be assured we value every guest’s comment here at Hilton Slussen, and your feedback will provide a valuable support to the entire team, as we strive continuously to reach the excellence in our facilities and services provided. We therefore hope the negative experience will not deter your trust in Hilton and we will be able to welcome you back in the future. Should you change your mind and consider another visit, please do not hesitate to contact us directly to ensure more than an excellent stay.

Sincerely,
Yulia T
Front Desk Agent – Hilton Stockholm Slussen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018

We arrived from London late evening and was sent to budget room instead executive room with access to lounge. Receptionist refused to change the room for 1st night and we were simply too tired to demand it. In the he morning we packed again and asked to relocate, there was no professionalism at front office at all, seemed they wanted us to feel guilty. No matter that we are members of Hhonours club. At the end we eventually got our nice room, goodies basket was sent, member of room service made sure to stent there a while just to make sure he ll get a tip.
Otherwise lounge desperately need refurbishing
On positive side location is excellent , cleanliness no problem and all breakfast experience is awesome.

Personally I wouldn’t stay there another time.

Room Tip: Know what sort of room you paid for and accept nothing less
Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Ondrej C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yulia T, Front Desk Agent at Hilton Stockholm Slussen, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Dear Ondrej C,

I would like to use the opportunity to thank you for choosing Hilton Stockholm Slussen for your recent stay and taking time to share your thoughts on TripAdvisor. We are truly sorry to read that we did not meet with your expectations on some points during your stay. In regards to your comments about the arrival experience, we appreciate your understanding on the fact that all the room upgrades remain a subject to availability, and even though we are always trying to comply with our guests´ preferences, in case of the sold out situation we will not be able to provide any other room apart from the one originally booked. Nevertheless, I was pleased to know that my colleagues were able to Make It Right for you, providing the complimentary upgrade to one of our Executive rooms on the following day.

Be assured we value all our guests´ comments and suggestions, as it helps us to improve our facilities in future. Should you therefore change your mind and consider another visit, please do not hesitate to contact us directly to ensure more than an excellent stay.

Sincerely,
Yulia T
Front Desk Agent – Hilton Stockholm Slussen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018

Stayed here with an toddler for 3 nights. The hotel staff was friendly and very helpful with answering all my questions and helping me get around. They were also awesome and friendly with my son. Location is excellent! 5 minute walk to the old town and less than 5 minute walk to the metro. The staff at breakfast were great! Very friendly! There is also a great view of the city from the breakfast area. As for the room, I was not impressed, the floor is wood and didn't seem clean. Other than that, it was a great stay with staff that helped accommodate as much as possible.

Room Tip: City view!!!!
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lina E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yulia T, Front Desk Agent at Hilton Stockholm Slussen, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

Dear Lina E,

I would like to thank you for choosing Hilton Stockholm Slussen and for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to read that you, overall, had a very pleasant experience while staying with us, enjoying the views of a beautiful Stockholm Old Town along with the breakfast during your visit. Once you consider visiting Stockholm again, please do not hesitate to contact us directly, and it will be our pleasure to assist you with selecting the room up to your liking. We therefore hope that Hilton Slussen will remain your primary choice of the hotel in Stockholm and looking forward to welcome you and your family back again very soon.

Kind regards,
Yulia T
Front Desk Agent – Hilton Stockholm Slussen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018 via mobile

The hotel is conveniently located near old town and about a 15 minute taxi ride from central station. We found taking Uber to the airport was about the same cost for two people as the Arlanda Express and taxi.

We arrived very early and they did not have a room ready for us. Usually with international early arrivals they will let you step into the lounge and clean up. This was not the case.

We reserved a premium room with a view and unfortunately the view was of the very busy road. We asked for a different room with a view and they said they all have a similar view. It was disappointing.

Breakfast was around $20 which sounded expensive but we found breakfast outside the hotel wasn’t much cheaper. The breakfast buffet had a wide variety and the chef making the made to order omelettes had a great personality and was very efficient. By far the best service of the hotel.

On Monday evening we had a nightcap in the bar. The bar is very nice. They would make a lot more money if the bartender actually served drinks. The bar was not busy but it took a long time to get our drinks. Nobody asked if we wanted another drink and we had to remind him we also ordered water.

Overall the service at this hotel is far below what I expect from Hilton. I would not recommend this hotel.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Cojabnga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yulia T, Front Desk Agent at Hilton Stockholm Slussen, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

Dear Cojabnga,

I would like to use the opportunity and thank you for choosing Hilton Stockholm Slussen for your recent stay and taking time to share your thoughts on TripAdvisor. We are truly sorry to read that we did not fully meet with your expectations on some points during your stay, and find it unfortunate that we missed the opportunity to Make It Right from the beginning. Be assured that we value all the comments and suggestions, as it helps us to improve our facilities in future. We therefore hope the negative experience will not deter your trust in Hilton and we will be able to welcome you back in the future. Shoud you change your mind and consider another visit, please do not hesitate to contact us directly to ensure more than an excellent stay.

Sincerely,
Yulia T
Front Desk Agent – Hilton Stockholm Slussen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2018 via mobile

Superb location just over the water from Gamla Stan with good views from guest rooms. Hotel is fairly modern and the room comfortable. Executive Lounge is modern and comfortable with great service for evening cocktails and breakfast.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yulia T, Front Desk Agent at Hilton Stockholm Slussen, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

Dear James B,

Warm greetings from Hilton Stockholm Slussen!

We are delighted to read that you had such an amazing experience with us during your recent visit, enjoying both the room and location, along with the Executive Lounge services. It is always pleasant to receive positive feedback from our guests. We therefore hope that Hilton Slussen will remain your primary choice of the hotel in Stockholm and looking forward to welcome you back in the upcoming future for another Hilton experience.

Kind regards,
Yulia T
Front Desk Agent – Hilton Stockholm Slussen


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews