We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not my taste”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Scandic Anglais

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Scandic Anglais
Ranked #74 of 157 Hotels in Stockholm
GreenLeadersSilver level
Armenia, Colombia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Not my taste”
Reviewed 9 April 2012

I was coming directly from work, wanting a good night sleep. As I know fridays are packed here I called in advance and asked for a high floor room (booking a superior). The girl answering my call told me that she would definitely put me up for a high floor room..

Still when arriving late night friday, I got a response (from not-so-nice personel in front desk) -no, they are all gone, your room will be on lower level.. No possibility to change, I fell asleep about 05 pm with two gigantic pillows over my ears.. I don't mind a party, but depending on the situation.. I was there to sleep, and this actually was a hotel .. The room (considering the price paid) was not in any way fancy, overlooking the other parts of the hotel. Only good thing I believe was breakfast which was open until 3-4pm next day meaning no stress (probably because that's when people wake up after the hangover there).. Also, of course it is on Stureplan meaning going there for a good party and night on the town I would probably rate this hotel alot higher coming to value.

Asked for a late checkout as I was pretty tired after this night, did not get it.. I didn't get anything out of my stay here..

Recommended for: Party people
Not recommended for: Anyone wanting to sleep

Room Tip: Obviously the high floors (make sure you get it written), if you want a good nights sleep..
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mikeswe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScaAng, Manager at Scandic Anglais, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
We are sorry to hear about your visit. Please send us an e-mail with your contact details at anglais@scandichotels.com and I will personally make sure that we get back to you as soon as possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

985 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    211
    427
    197
    80
    70
See reviews for
205
206
99
313
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Europe
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2012

Location is very central, practically on trendy Stureplan, which is perfect if Stockholm nightlife interests you. Otherwise, make sure to ask for a quiet room, especially on weekends.

The room (standard) was very small, and the queen bed rather narrow for two. OK for spending one night, but not more. Not much place either to put your clothes after unpacking. Again, OK for a very short stay, but not for a longer one. Consider a superior room for longer stays. A feature I really liked was the empty minibar. Instead of filling it with overpriced stuff they leave it empty and let you buy whatever you may want in their reception store. You may of course buy your drinks or snacks in any supermarket and bring them to your room… Quite the opposite of those dreadful “autodebit” minibars that charge you as soon as you remove a water bottle to free some place for the children’s yogurt!

The breakfast was an excellent buffet. I particularly enjoyed the juice presser, allowing the guests to quickly and simply make their own orange juice. You cannot get fresher juice, and it is a very good compromise between offering as much as possible without having to charge for an extra service.

On the whole, this was a very good option for a short stay in central Stockholm, and I would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Strumpalumpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScaAng, Manager at Scandic Anglais, responded to this review, 3 April 2012
Hi, thank you for your review. happy to hear that you like our "minibar-system" where you can fill it up from our shop with whatever you like. Hope to see you soon again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mechelen, Belgium
Level Contributor
168 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2012

This hotel is a trendy place with a vibrant atmosphere in the lobby where people gather to get connected to the internet, have a drink or eat something in the restaurant. I was there for business, needed a meeting room and all was perfectly organized. Just be aware that you make good arrangements: if you do not specify your arrival time or confirm your precooking with a credit card , as in the case of a colleague, the hotel assumed an arrival between 3 and 6 p an they will sell your room. After all, a perfect stay. Nicely located close to the hopping streets and only 5 minutes taxi (or a long walk) from Gamla Stan.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sreinyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverwijk, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
124 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2012

Scandic is good at creating a similar experience across al their hotels in Stockholm. This Anglais is no exception. It's not the newest, but because it is located next to Stureplan, it has a lively bar and is close to the right places from Thursday till Sunday.

The rooms are good and on par within the Scandic group. Nothing to get excited about, but nothing to complain about either. Breakfast is great and the staff is polite.

This is once of those hotels that attracts a lot of people in the city on business, but not the boring types. Try the bar, but be careful ordering cocktails and long drinks: you may run out of money:)

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toekook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
86 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2012

This is a nice, comfortable hotel with a solid location in Stockholm. That being said, this is definitely a big, convention and business hotel and so lacks the charm and character of the smaller places. It does, however, provide good value for your money.

The location is very good for exploring Stockholm on foot as everything is within a 20 minute (or so) walk of the hotel, but be aware that you are not in the "heart" of the tourist areas of Stockholm.

The staff was very helpful, and the rooms were comfortable, if a bit basic. The breakfast was very extensive, and very good quality. Keep an eye on the conventions in the hotel, however, as it can get VERY busy and crowded for breakfast - sometimes to the point where even finding a table is a challenge.

There is a busy lobby bar, but we did not have any drinks or food there so I can't say anything to the cost or quality. There are, however, a number of busy restaurants and bars in the plaza just around the corner from the hotel, and we had very good experiences with these.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BluelineAdventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScaAng, Manager at Scandic Anglais, responded to this review, 8 March 2012
Thank you for your kind words about our hotel. Very welcome back next time you visit Stockholm! Brgds, Henrik Berghult, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Norrmalm
Hotel Kung Carl, BW Premier Collection
Norrmalm
Elite Hotel Stockholm Plaza
Elite Hotel Stockholm Plaza
#59 of 157 in Stockholm
506 reviews
Ostermalm
Elite Eden Park Hotel
Elite Eden Park Hotel
#13 of 157 in Stockholm
647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ostermalm
Hotel Drottning Kristina
Hotel Drottning Kristina
#23 of 157 in Stockholm
533 reviews
Ostermalm
Scandic Park
Scandic Park
#65 of 157 in Stockholm
691 reviews
Ostermalm
Story Hotel Riddargatan
Story Hotel Riddargatan
#24 of 157 in Stockholm
1,082 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Anglais? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Anglais

Property: Scandic Anglais
Address: 23 Humlegaardsgatan, Stockholm 114 46, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Ostermalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Stockholm
#51 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,552 - ₹ 17,557
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Anglais 4*
Number of rooms: 226
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you stay at Scandic Anglais, next to the beautiful garden Humlegarden and in the buzzling square Stureplan in central Stockholm, you can enjoy fantastic and simple Italian twisted meals in the restaurant Jamie's Italian and relax in the warm jacuzzi after a hard workout in the well equipped gym. The hotel offers two bars with a wide selection of wine, cocktails and DJ's and during summer time our roof terrace on the 7th floor is open. All rooms at Scandic Anglais features cable TV with plenty of channels, bathroom with shower or bathtub, wooden floors and a refrigerator (exept cabin rooms), which you can make to your own mini bar. Some of the rooms also have balconies. As a hotel guest you have free access to wireless Internet in your room and public areas, and don't forget that the energizing breakfast is always organic and certified by KRAV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scandic Anglais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Anglais Stockholm
Scandic Anglais Hotel Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing