We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Impeccable location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Scandic Anglais

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Scandic Anglais
Ranked #74 of 158 Hotels in Stockholm
GreenLeadersSilver level
Island of Malta, Malta
Level Contributor
58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Impeccable location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

We stayed here for a long weekend.
We chose this hotel due to its over central location and proximity to night life.

The rooms are a bit on the small side considering we paid €150 per night in February. Wireless was good but sometimes inconsistent. It's also annoying to have to enter the login details on the splash screen after a while of inactivity.

Breakfast was vast and plentiful with a good selection of cheese/cold cuts, cereals, fresh fruit, as well as hot items like scrambled/boiled eggs, sausages, bacon. Looked like you may also opt for other egg dishes on a request basis. There was also a good selection of fruit juices and coffees from a self serve machine. The greatest thing about their breakfast is that it goes on till 14:00 on the weekend!

The hotel has a hip bar which people go to before going to the clubs. Seems very popular with locals.

We didnt have nay issues with noise however we had an internal room.

I'd recommend this hotel especially for travellers keen on nightlife. You are just 30 seconds away from the main nightspots in stureplan without being inconveninenced by them.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fabiensf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScaAng, Manager at Scandic Anglais, responded to this review, 15 March 2012
Thank you for your review of the Scandic Anglais hotel. We are at the moment looking in to our wireless network and it will be updated during the spring. Hope to see you with us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

943 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    200
    409
    188
    77
    69
See reviews for
191
198
95
304
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

Location couldn't be better...basically in the middle of Stockholm city with sights, shops, the sea just around the corner. BUT unfortunately that's where my superlatives stop. Rooms are small, dark and with depressing interior. The windows facing the busy street is nowhere near sound-proof and it feels like you have amotorway going straight through your room. There are no stuff in the bathroom, just a boring dispenser on the wall. There is nothing in the mini-bar and there is no proper room service menu.

The only thing the hotel has sorted is its location, but unfortunately there are options just around the block which are available at the same price but SO much nicer. Hotel Stureplan and Story hotel to name a few...

Room Tip: If you want to stay here ask for a room facing the back yard or on the 8th floor if you want to be a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katty S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Stockholm hotels

Lieto, Finland
Level Contributor
54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2012

Stayed for three nights at the beginning of February.

Room was stylish, pretty small though. Bathroom was ok (also small) and shower was good. It would have been great if there would have been more room for your clothes. We stayed as a couple and there were only one wardrobe with none shelfs. Enough hangers still.

The temperature in our room was too cold, even though I like a little cool. And there were no controllers.

LCD-TV with a few channels, safety box and free Wi-Fi included for free.

Breakfast was wonderful, lots of choice. All the things that you are used to have in a hotel breakfast. A nice specialty was the orange juice that you were able to squeeze by yourself from the fresh fruits.

The bar at lobby was fine and very popular. High prices, though.

Staff was nice and the location was good. A short distance to shopping streets and to the main attractions.

Overall, a pleasant stay and we enjoyed.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KuHz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2012

I stayed here for two nights on business and it was a bit more of a party place than I was looking for. I guess that's the downside of having my assistant just book somewhere central without me checking out the reviews. The bar downstairs was extremely busy on both Wednesday and Thursday nights, which was fine, but I wasn't interested in going there.
It did give the feeling, though, that the hotel's primary business was being a party venue and that housing guests was a secondary consideration.

The room itself was small and functional. Some of the things you might expect in a 4 star hotel (toiletries, minibar etc) were missing. The biggest downside of the location - and of the windows of the room - were both how much sound and light they let in. First, the room only had thin net curtains, allowing a lot of light in from the street - with just the bright street lights, you could see to walk around the room fine at 3am. Second, there seemed to be some nightclub opposite, where taxis sat and beeped their horns for two hours between 2 and 4am, meaning I got no sleep at all during that time. I realise that this wasn't directly the hotel's fault, but I wouldn't have stayed here if I'd known.

The breakfast buffet is pretty decent.

Overall, I think this hotel might be a good place to stay if you want to be central and go out late etc, but I wouldn't choose it again for business trips or any occasion where it's pretty crucial you're able to sleep through the night undisturbed.

Room Tip: Make sure you are not on the street side - especially not the Sturegatan side. Noisy through the nig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spitze1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
København, Danmark
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

Cool stylish rooms, friendly staff, but rooms towards stureplan can be quite noisy. Alot of parties going on and quite a bit of traffic , and the windows are not noiseproof, so if you're sensitive to that, ask for a room towards the yard. We complained after first night and got a very nice and even bigger room with no nonsense. Location is great, and breakfast too.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ThomasAagaard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Norrmalm
Hotel Kung Carl, BW Premier Collection
Norrmalm
Elite Hotel Stockholm Plaza
Elite Hotel Stockholm Plaza
#58 of 158 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
Ostermalm
Hotel Drottning Kristina
Hotel Drottning Kristina
#28 of 158 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ostermalm
Scandic Park
Scandic Park
#67 of 158 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
Ostermalm
Elite Eden Park Hotel
Elite Eden Park Hotel
#14 of 158 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
Ostermalm
Story Hotel Riddargatan
Story Hotel Riddargatan
#23 of 158 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,041 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Anglais? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Anglais

Property: Scandic Anglais
Address: Humlegardsgatan 23, Stockholm 102 44, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Ostermalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Stockholm
#50 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,119 - ₹ 16,304
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Anglais 4*
Number of rooms: 226
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you stay at Scandic Anglais, next to the beautiful garden Humlegarden and in the buzzling square Stureplan in central Stockholm, you can enjoy fantastic and simple Italian twisted meals in the restaurant Jamie's Italian and relax in the warm jacuzzi after a hard workout in the well equipped gym. The hotel offers two bars with a wide selection of wine, cocktails and DJ's and during summer time our roof terrace on the 7th floor is open. All rooms at Scandic Anglais features cable TV with plenty of channels, bathroom with shower or bathtub, wooden floors and a refrigerator (exept cabin rooms), which you can make to your own mini bar. Some of the rooms also have balconies. As a hotel guest you have free access to wireless Internet in your room and public areas, and don't forget that the energizing breakfast is always organic and certified by KRAV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Scandic Anglais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Anglais Stockholm
Scandic Anglais Hotel Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing