We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant visit.”
Review of Scandic Anglais

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Scandic Anglais
Ranked #76 of 154 Hotels in Stockholm
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 10 February 2012

Stayed for three nights at the beginning of February.

Room was stylish, pretty small though. Bathroom was ok (also small) and shower was good. It would have been great if there would have been more room for your clothes. We stayed as a couple and there were only one wardrobe with none shelfs. Enough hangers still.

The temperature in our room was too cold, even though I like a little cool. And there were no controllers.

LCD-TV with a few channels, safety box and free Wi-Fi included for free.

Breakfast was wonderful, lots of choice. All the things that you are used to have in a hotel breakfast. A nice specialty was the orange juice that you were able to squeeze by yourself from the fresh fruits.

The bar at lobby was fine and very popular. High prices, though.

Staff was nice and the location was good. A short distance to shopping streets and to the main attractions.

Overall, a pleasant stay and we enjoyed.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KuHz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,144)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

440 - 444 of 1,145 reviews

Reviewed 3 February 2012

I stayed here for two nights on business and it was a bit more of a party place than I was looking for. I guess that's the downside of having my assistant just book somewhere central without me checking out the reviews. The bar downstairs was extremely busy on both Wednesday and Thursday nights, which was fine, but I wasn't interested in going there.
It did give the feeling, though, that the hotel's primary business was being a party venue and that housing guests was a secondary consideration.

The room itself was small and functional. Some of the things you might expect in a 4 star hotel (toiletries, minibar etc) were missing. The biggest downside of the location - and of the windows of the room - were both how much sound and light they let in. First, the room only had thin net curtains, allowing a lot of light in from the street - with just the bright street lights, you could see to walk around the room fine at 3am. Second, there seemed to be some nightclub opposite, where taxis sat and beeped their horns for two hours between 2 and 4am, meaning I got no sleep at all during that time. I realise that this wasn't directly the hotel's fault, but I wouldn't have stayed here if I'd known.

The breakfast buffet is pretty decent.

Overall, I think this hotel might be a good place to stay if you want to be central and go out late etc, but I wouldn't choose it again for business trips or any occasion where it's pretty crucial you're able to sleep through the night undisturbed.

Room Tip: Make sure you are not on the street side - especially not the Sturegatan side. Noisy through the nig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank spitze1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

Cool stylish rooms, friendly staff, but rooms towards stureplan can be quite noisy. Alot of parties going on and quite a bit of traffic , and the windows are not noiseproof, so if you're sensitive to that, ask for a room towards the yard. We complained after first night and got a very nice and even bigger room with no nonsense. Location is great, and breakfast too.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ThomasAagaard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

ok - hotel not bad and quite smart with buzzing bar and pretty peeps. Staff at reception helpful on the whole except check out,but breakfast staff miserable. Things don't work though - key cards in lifts, doors don't lock when you shut them, safe not working, air con temp not working - annoying to have to ask for times, even the computer in reception was broken!
Breakfast very good with lots of choice and late weekends.
One sunday night we had a five minute meeting in reception with a manager at the record company who had bought a drink at the bar and was waiting for us. The bar was shutting and we were asked to leave the area and move to the other side of reception by the security man even though we explained we were staying there, very strange behaviour?
They need to get their communicate better though, we were even given the wrong info about the number of beds in the room before we arrived which led to loads of problems and we didn't even get an apology. When we left in a hurry to get to airport we were presented with a bill for 10 nights and as we frantically tried to contact america who were asleep i asked them to double check as we would miss our plane. The guy on reception ruffled through some papers and found that the room had been paid for and said - you can go now!! That was it, no sorry or anything!
The award for staff member of the month has to go to Patrick T on the bar who practically threw to cappachinos and my change on the bar as he didn't want to make them at night when the bar was buzzing. I was actually told to order them at the bar by reception, then he had the cheek to overcharge us for 2 x alkfri drinks ? at SK98 which was wrong. VERY RUDE MAN.
We will be returning to stockholm often for music business but would not stay at this particular scandic hotel.

Room Tip: Not near bar as it turns into a night club every night
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rubble007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2012

We checked in for two nights in Sep 2011. Location was wonderful , we had a very modern room overlooking the garden. The front desk was very helpful, we travelled only on foot and the maps helped us. Gamla Stan is also a short walk away so do not unnecessarily take cabs. Soak in the atmosphere, have a Swedish beer and move on from one island to another.
Lots of pubs nearby, and the nightlife is active in the lobby till quite late.
Golden hits is also a pub nearby with 3 floors of different music.
Djorgarden was a verdant retreat with vast vistas of greenery.
Lovely Italian restaurant nearby called Vapiano.
Would love to stay here again, huge spread of breakfast with freshly squeezed orange juice.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BINAMumbai_India
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Ostermalm
Scandic Park
Scandic Park
#72 of 154 in Stockholm
827 reviews
Norrmalm
Scandic Klara
Scandic Klara
#71 of 154 in Stockholm
1,332 reviews
Norrmalm
Hotel Kung Carl, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Norrmalm
Grand Central by Scandic
Grand Central by Scandic
#49 of 154 in Stockholm
1,945 reviews
Ostermalm
Hotel Drottning Kristina
Hotel Drottning Kristina
#20 of 154 in Stockholm
705 reviews
Norrmalm
Elite Hotel Stockholm Plaza
Elite Hotel Stockholm Plaza
#69 of 154 in Stockholm
564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Anglais? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Anglais

Address: Humlegardsgatan 23, Stockholm 102 44, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Ostermalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Stockholm
#52 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range: ₹ 7,988 - ₹ 19,548 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Anglais 4*
Number of rooms: 226
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you stay at Scandic Anglais, next to the beautiful garden Humlegarden and in the buzzling square Stureplan in central Stockholm, you can enjoy fantastic and simple Italian twisted meals in the restaurant Jamie's Italian and relax in the warm jacuzzi after a hard workout in the well equipped gym. The hotel offers two bars with a wide selection of wine, cocktails and DJ's and during summer time our roof terrace on the 7th floor is open. All rooms at Scandic Anglais features cable TV with plenty of channels, bathroom with shower or bathtub, wooden floors and a refrigerator (exept cabin rooms), which you can make to your own mini bar. Some of the rooms also have balconies. As a hotel guest you have free access to wireless Internet in your room and public areas, and don't forget that the energizing breakfast is always organic and certified by KRAV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Scandic Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scandic Anglais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Anglais Stockholm
Scandic Anglais Hotel Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing