We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, wonderful decor - BIG rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Esplanade, Sure Hotel Collection by Best Western
Ranked #65 of 154 Hotels in Stockholm
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 January 2012

We stayed here as a family of four, (a 2-year old and a 5-year old child). We came early to the hotel but our room was ready for us with an extra bed and a great big crib for our youngest, waiting in our room. We got a BIG corner room.

Even though this is in the middle of Stockholm, the hotel is quite and we had two nights good rest in our room.

The location is one of the best in Stockholm! The hotel has a charming, swedish old decor. Great coffee, cappucino, caffee latte available all day in the dining room area.

Breakfast is good, not great but just enough to start the day on a full stomach. Fantastic bread!!!

I would recommend this to anyone!!!

It does state 4 star hotel at the entrance, but these star ratings are always difficult to use and compare between countries. In "my world" (I have travelled alot) it is a 4 star hotel, we loved our stay.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FamilyTravelerof4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (318)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

145 - 149 of 318 reviews

Reviewed 5 January 2012

After looking for along time for a suitable hotel for a 2 night stay just before Christmas, me and my husband chose this one. And it was a good choice. Location - very good, close to everything - museums, old town, metro, boat tours, really nice, on a main, grand street by the water. We got a courtyard view room, which was good as we avoided the traffic noise. Rooms are big, bathrooms very small and very cute, al you need is there and all to a nice standard. Bed wasn't actually queen sized but two beds put together, which is the only minus.

Breakfast was really nice, lots of choice, savoury. A small sauna next to our room was a nice option, and the day room upstairs with city views was just perfect for an evening rest with a book and some beer. All nicely decorated with floral patterns and lots of colour.

Would definitely recommend this hotel. Just wish the overall Sweded prices weren't that high!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AniaBeEdi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2011

The hotel is well located in Central Stockholm in a beautiful building. The hotel is old fashioned with furniture original of the 20´......it is clean, but it look s a bit old and the restroom it is not new or nice.
When you arrive the check in is efficient but they will not welcome you with a smile........the breakfast is ok but not so much sweet stuff.....In general it may be better....

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank usseglio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2011

The place to warm your heart! A lovely hotel with small spotless rooms, friendly staff and a quiet but central location. Certainly a recommendation!!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lottbekkoppeln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2011

Our family (2 adults and 2 teenagers) stayed here in July. The hotel was charming and had a beautiful location on the waterfront. It looks just like in the picture. It was also very convenient; we could walk to most attactions. (Don't miss the Vasa museum, which is only a short walk away.) One lady at the front desk went out of her way to help me understand the bus schedules and checked times for me on the internet.

Our room was large, but did not have air conditioning. Still, we still slept well. The breakfast was plentiful and varied. The breads were better than anything I can buy in Cincinnati. Coffee was also very good. If we make it back to Stockholm this is definately where we will stay.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nikita606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Ostermalm
Clarion Collection Hotel Wellington
Norrmalm
Berns Hotel
Berns Hotel
#50 of 154 in Stockholm
761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Norrmalm
Elite Hotel Stockholm Plaza
Elite Hotel Stockholm Plaza
#69 of 154 in Stockholm
564 reviews
Ostermalm
ProfilHotels Hotel Riddargatan
Norrmalm
Hotel Kung Carl, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Esplanade, Sure Hotel Collection by Best Western? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Esplanade, Sure Hotel Collection by Best Western

Address: 7A Strandvaegen, Stockholm 114 56, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Ostermalm
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#38 Business Hotel in Stockholm
#47 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range: ₹ 7,784 - ₹ 24,064 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Esplanade, Sure Hotel Collection by Best Western 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hotel Esplanade, Sure Hotel Collection by Best Western, located on the fashionable Standvagen, an extraordinary 4 Star hotel that many call their second home. Within a comfortable walking distance from cultural attractions, shopping, first-class restaurants, the archipelago and round-trip boats, this beautiful boutique hotel stand with pride. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Esplanade, Sure Hotel Collection by Best Western reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esplanade Hotel Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing