We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely, Cntral, Charming”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Esplanade

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Esplanade
Ranked #66 of 157 Hotels in Stockholm
Certificate of Excellence
Hamburg
Level Contributor
68 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Lovely, Cntral, Charming”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2011

The place to warm your heart! A lovely hotel with small spotless rooms, friendly staff and a quiet but central location. Certainly a recommendation!!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lottbekkoppeln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

281 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    113
    101
    41
    21
    5
See reviews for
43
116
28
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
kentucky
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2011

Our family (2 adults and 2 teenagers) stayed here in July. The hotel was charming and had a beautiful location on the waterfront. It looks just like in the picture. It was also very convenient; we could walk to most attactions. (Don't miss the Vasa museum, which is only a short walk away.) One lady at the front desk went out of her way to help me understand the bus schedules and checked times for me on the internet.

Our room was large, but did not have air conditioning. Still, we still slept well. The breakfast was plentiful and varied. The breads were better than anything I can buy in Cincinnati. Coffee was also very good. If we make it back to Stockholm this is definately where we will stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nikita606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2011

My wife and i stayed in this hotel in Sept. 2011 and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. We were given the corner bedroom facing the street and I was pleasantly surprised by the size of the room! Very spacious with its own hallway! We had a good view of the bay from the mini balcony in the room and it wasn't all that noisy.

The staff was very helpful and easy to talk to. The breakfast corner was charming and the food was excellent. the whole hotel had that old-century feel, which we appreciated. Definitely different from the regular hotels and chains! There was a sitting area beside our room, and the whole place didn't feel like a hotel. It was very comfortable!

The location of this hotel was perfect! A few minutes walk from Djurgarden, a block away from the tram station and nearby sites. We had no problem accessing the city from here. My only regret was that we only stayed a short time in this wonderful hotel and in this wonderful city, but we are definitely going back!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank docojos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Esplanade for four nights in early August 2011 and we were delighted with the ambience, the spacious rooms, the views, and the breakfast buffet included in the room price. The hotel is ideally located within a block of a major bus and tram stop and it is two short blocks from the heart of Stockholm's upscale shopping district. It is a modest walk to old town and many museums, restaurants, and tourist sites. We would happily stay here again when visiting Stockholm. This is an older hotel in a grand location that is, however, a bit past its prime. But for those who enjoy smaller hotels and great service, the price is right and the rooms are amazingly large and comfortable. The hotel is a short cab right to the Arlanda express train to the airport.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the street tend to be a bit noisy, but they also have the best views. There is much les...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeKWisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2011

We want to give this hotel a wonderful review but we can't. We loved the great location, the cute courtyard entrance, the wonderful curved staircase, the gorgeous original stained glass everywhere, the helpful (though a little icy) reception people, and the sauna! But the guest room we stayed in was ...dreadful. :-( The cheap, mismatched furnishings, soiled wallcovering, absence of aircon/fan, street noise, and dowdy 1975 bathroom made us wince. Our recommendation is to pay the extra amount for room 10 or room 14 and really enjoy this grande dame. Otherwise, don't waste your money .... :-(

Room Tip: Choose room 10 or room 14.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RossyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Ostermalm
Clarion Collection Hotel Wellington
Ostermalm
Hotel Diplomat
Hotel Diplomat
#11 of 157 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Norrmalm
Berns Hotel
Berns Hotel
#67 of 157 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
Norrmalm
Nobis Hotel
Nobis Hotel
#19 of 157 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,289 reviews
Ostermalm
Story Hotel Riddargatan
Story Hotel Riddargatan
#24 of 157 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,082 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Esplanade? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Esplanade

Property: Hotel Esplanade
Address: 7A Strandvaegen, Stockholm 114 56, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Ostermalm
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#38 Business Hotel in Stockholm
#48 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,274 - ₹ 24,177
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Esplanade 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Esplanade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esplanade Hotel Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing