We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place on the water”
Review of Hotel Esplanade

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Esplanade
Ranked #69 of 154 Hotels in Stockholm
Certificate of Excellence
kentucky
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful place on the water”
Reviewed 28 October 2011

Our family (2 adults and 2 teenagers) stayed here in July. The hotel was charming and had a beautiful location on the waterfront. It looks just like in the picture. It was also very convenient; we could walk to most attactions. (Don't miss the Vasa museum, which is only a short walk away.) One lady at the front desk went out of her way to help me understand the bus schedules and checked times for me on the internet.

Our room was large, but did not have air conditioning. Still, we still slept well. The breakfast was plentiful and varied. The breads were better than anything I can buy in Cincinnati. Coffee was also very good. If we make it back to Stockholm this is definately where we will stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nikita606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

301 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    124
    109
    41
    21
    6
See reviews for
47
128
29
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2011

My wife and i stayed in this hotel in Sept. 2011 and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. We were given the corner bedroom facing the street and I was pleasantly surprised by the size of the room! Very spacious with its own hallway! We had a good view of the bay from the mini balcony in the room and it wasn't all that noisy.

The staff was very helpful and easy to talk to. The breakfast corner was charming and the food was excellent. the whole hotel had that old-century feel, which we appreciated. Definitely different from the regular hotels and chains! There was a sitting area beside our room, and the whole place didn't feel like a hotel. It was very comfortable!

The location of this hotel was perfect! A few minutes walk from Djurgarden, a block away from the tram station and nearby sites. We had no problem accessing the city from here. My only regret was that we only stayed a short time in this wonderful hotel and in this wonderful city, but we are definitely going back!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank docojos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Esplanade for four nights in early August 2011 and we were delighted with the ambience, the spacious rooms, the views, and the breakfast buffet included in the room price. The hotel is ideally located within a block of a major bus and tram stop and it is two short blocks from the heart of Stockholm's upscale shopping district. It is a modest walk to old town and many museums, restaurants, and tourist sites. We would happily stay here again when visiting Stockholm. This is an older hotel in a grand location that is, however, a bit past its prime. But for those who enjoy smaller hotels and great service, the price is right and the rooms are amazingly large and comfortable. The hotel is a short cab right to the Arlanda express train to the airport.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the street tend to be a bit noisy, but they also have the best views. There is much les...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeKWisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2011

We want to give this hotel a wonderful review but we can't. We loved the great location, the cute courtyard entrance, the wonderful curved staircase, the gorgeous original stained glass everywhere, the helpful (though a little icy) reception people, and the sauna! But the guest room we stayed in was ...dreadful. :-( The cheap, mismatched furnishings, soiled wallcovering, absence of aircon/fan, street noise, and dowdy 1975 bathroom made us wince. Our recommendation is to pay the extra amount for room 10 or room 14 and really enjoy this grande dame. Otherwise, don't waste your money .... :-(

Room Tip: Choose room 10 or room 14.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RossyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Twin Cities, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2011

This old fashioned hotel is old school in the best of ways: welcoming, helpful, cozy and delightful. My husband and I found it through an Uppsala friend, recommended as a place that Swedes like. We could have not been more pleased. 38 rooms (on ground and 1st floor--no elevator, but staff helps carry up luggage), some with Strandvagen/water views and balcony, others overlooking the courtyard. Nice sitting rooms and free WiFi and computer. Moreover, the staff would print out documents (free) and help with reservations--everyone seemed to try to make our stay as pleasant as possible. This is not a modern hotel, but it is well kept and immaculate. Ostermalm is the best of locations, having stayed in noisy Gamla Stan before (and never will again!). Breakfast was superb, and could be eaten outside or in. The clientele tends to be Scandinavian, something we really like. You don't feel like a tourist, but like a seasoned guest.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NonnaBegonna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Ostermalm
Hotel Diplomat
Hotel Diplomat
#11 of 154 in Stockholm
1,553 reviews
Norrmalm
Berns Hotel
Berns Hotel
#67 of 154 in Stockholm
711 reviews
Ostermalm
Clarion Collection Hotel Wellington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Norrmalm
The King's Garden
The King's Garden
#6 of 154 in Stockholm
317 reviews
Ostermalm
ProfilHotels Hotel Riddargatan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Esplanade? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Esplanade

Property: Hotel Esplanade
Address: 7A Strandvaegen, Stockholm 114 56, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Ostermalm
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#38 Business Hotel in Stockholm
#48 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,869 - ₹ 27,722
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Esplanade 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Esplanade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esplanade Hotel Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing