We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (773)
Filter reviews
773 results
Traveller rating
262
363
108
28
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
262
363
108
28
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews gamla stan old town great location roof terrace cobblestone streets t bana charming hotel small hotel fourth floor royal palace modern bathroom there is no air conditioning by european standards stayed here for three nights hot and cold food fresh fruit would definitely stay here again
Filter
Updating list...
117 - 122 of 773 reviews
Reviewed 23 July 2016

This was a comfortable hotel in an old building on the edge of gamla Stan. The staff were very helpful. Breakfasts were great. Only shame was the room we had was a bit noisy as it was on the road/rail side of the hotel and I had asked for a quiet room, the staff could have been more helpful with this particular request so go for a room on quiet side would be advisable.

Room Tip: Insist on a quiet room
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScandicMalmenSthlm, Kundansvarig at Scandic Gamla Stan, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2016

Hello Michelle,

Thank you for your review.

Great to hear you had a nice stay with us and that you liked the breakfast and the staff. Sorry about the noice from the street.

Have a nice day.

Kind regards,
Lisa Persson
Scandic Gamla stan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2016 via mobile

We've enjoyed our stay at the Scandic Gamla Stan. The location is hard to beat; centrally located in old town and close to many restaurants. The room was a comfortable size and the bathroom had recently been updated. It is noisy if you open the windows at night. The breakfast was great; a wide range of choices and easy to find something we liked.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
Thank 19SandyD19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScandicMalmenSthlm, Kundansvarig at Scandic Gamla Stan, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2016

Hi Sandy,

Thank you for your review.
I'm glad to hear that you had a nice stay with us at Scandic Gamla stan and liked the location, the room and the breakfast.

Hope to see you with us soon again.

Kind regards,
Lisa Persson
Scandic Gamla stan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2016

Stayed here for two nights for my wife's 40th Birthday. I phoned the day before to arrange a bottle of champagne to be in our room on arrival only to be informed that the hotel didn't have an alcohol licence. For a big hotel chain such as Scandic I find that enormously surprising and something they should perhaps mention on their website.

Okay so positives first, there’s a wonderful roof terrace, the breakfast was good, especially for us as they had a decent spread for vegans (which is rare). Although the breakfast room was cramped and we had trouble finding a table on the first morning.

The down side was that the room we stayed in (room 404) was pretty shabby and in need of redecoration. It was also pretty badly planned, for example the TV was fixed to a wall so that it wasn't possible to watch it from either the bed or the sofa. Which is kind of strange. The bathroom although modern stank of bad plumbing but was easily fixed by running the shower for a while. The bed was really soft, uncomfortably so.

In short I wouldn't stay here again. Good location, but expensive and way too run down.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank iampatrickbateman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScandicMalmenSthlm, Guest Relations Manager at Scandic Gamla Stan, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2016

Dear iampatrickbateman,

Thank you for taking your time to write a review regarding your stay, we appreciate feedback like yours. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed our terrace and breakfast. Occasionally it is unfortunately not enough seating in the breakfast area, especially when the hotel is fully booked, and during "rush hour" (early on weekdays and late at weekends). It usually is better with seating if you come a little later on weekdays and earlier on weekends, but I understand this is difficult to control, especially if you are here for work and have time to fit in the morning. Regarding alcohol, there is not much we can do. Our property owner does not allow any alcohol for sale at the hotel. I'm sorry that the room didn't meet your expectations. I will have our maintenance to look into this. Welcome back again!

Best regards,
Ted Andersson
Scandic Gamla Stan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2016 via mobile

The Scandic Gamla Stan is in a very central location, which makes it great for getting anywhere in the city in short order. As it's in Old Town, it's also a noisy location, especially when you want to open your windows to let in air during the warmer summer months. Without fans or in-room air conditioning, opening windows is the only option and there is plenty of street foot traffic late into the nights.

The rooms have an old-world charm and are well worn. The bathrooms have been recently renovated. Bathrooms aren't huge, but they are certainly nicer than other similar hotels in Scandinavia. The bed, however, was a simple, thin mattress on a wooden frame. Not painful but hardly comfortable.

Breakfast is very good, with more options than most restaurants in the area. Wifi was very good and more reliable than other hotels we stayed in on this trip.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Brian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScandicHotels, Kundansvarig at Scandic Gamla Stan, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2017

Dear Brian K,

Thank you for the feedback. We appreciate feedback like yours because it helps us identify the areas in which we need to improve as a business. It can get a little warm in the summertime and we are well prepared with fans in the reception. Just contact us the next time and we will help you with your wishes. Welcome back!

Regards,
Ted Andersson
Scandic Gamla Stan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2016 via mobile

1. If there are three or more of you it is cheaper to travel from the airport by taxi than the fast train.
2. The hotel is about 1.5 km from Central Station.
3. It is not air conditioned.
4. It is brilliantly placed in the old city, very close to many attractions, the metro, the hop on hop off boat and bus and a supermarket.
5. It is in a street parallel to the main thoroughfares but is quiet in comparison.
6. We stayed in a superior room which was large and comfortable. Our friends stayed in a standard room and had been apprehensive about its size but it was roomy and fine.
7. The breakfast is good but busy and can be crowded.
8. It is not a luxury hotel, nor does it purport to be. Rather it is a comfortable, relatively stylish hotel offering good value. The reception staff are very helpful.
9. There are many restaurants nearby including the fabulous The Flying Elk.

Stockholm is a gorgeous city and for us Gamla Stan is the place to stay. This hotel is perfectly located to explore beautiful Stockholm.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
2  Thank bruceSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews