We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great choice for a short stay”
Review of Connect Hotel City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Connect Hotel City
Ranked #68 of 155 Hotels in Stockholm
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Booked a large room for 2 nights inc breakfast for 2. Location was good about 10 min walk from metro. Check in very easy, room was spotless, shower room the same. The room was perfectly adequate for 2 people for a short stay. At first glance the room is small but you only sleep in it, not spending all day lounging, sleep, up, wash, dress, go. Room had a hair dryer and shower gel and hand wash gel. No safe in room, so make sure you are prepared to carry valuables with you. Breakfast was basic, no hot food, you could make toast but otherwise typical Scandinavian breakfast cheese, ham rolls, cereal. Travel in Stockholm - you can buy the Arlanda express train ticket online, they load the ticket onto your card, all you do is show the card, very easy. Ticket not cheap about £25 return but fast 20 mins non stop and I would recommend it. When buying metro tickets get them in strips it's cheaper, a strip of 16 coupons is 200 kroner about £20 and you need 2 coupons for 1 ride to whatever station in zone A. You buy them at the small newsagent in the metro area. We went to Gamla Stan for a visit, well worth a walk around as it is the old part of Stockholm. Hot chocolate about 40 kroner and cake 45 kroner. We found walking around very easy and safe, even at night. As we went out of season less people around, we find that this is the best way to do city trips, less crowds. Stockholm in the snow is well worth a visit, even the river was frozen. As we went over for a concert we had no time to see much but would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TailsTonbridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (663)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

217 - 221 of 663 reviews

Reviewed 21 January 2012

Cozy clean hotel. Small, but with good services. Lovely bathroom (is big, stylish, the floor with heating, comfortable shower). A good relation: price - quality. And convenient location. I liked it!
Two minuses: poor breakfast (and some problems with coffee machine too) and expensive Wi fi in room

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmazoNkA007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2012

The Connect City hotel is part of a small chain (4 hotels) trying to offer good value at reasonable rates in the generally expensive Stockholm. We stayed at two of the Connect hotels, among which the Stockholm City and, although they do not deliver exceptional accommodation, we thought the value for money was good.

The location of the Connect City is ok, though we found out that it was just a bit too far from the city centre (Gamla Stan etc.) to be at reasonable walking distance. If you are on a short-stay in Stockholm, the time you'll spend walking to/from the hotel will be too much time you won't have for shopping, sightseeing etc (in our case it took about 40 minutes one-way, and we are not particularly slow walkers). However, the hotel is just 2 minutes away from a main tube station which will take you to the centre in no time.

The Connect City is situated in a relatively quiet street, not much traffic noise. The building is unimpressive (not really an important feature for this category of hotels in our opinion). The lobby gives a fresh and modern impression. The hotel seems to work on a "low-staff" principle, probably to save costs: this means you will sometimes find the bar/reception unattended and will have to ring a little bell. Staff will come to you promptly when ringing the bell, except when out of order (which happened once in our case, I had to step into the "personnel only" area at the back to call a member of staff, who quickly apologised when she found out the bell wasn't working, so no big deal at all here). Generally speaking, we found staff to be professional and friendly enough.

After reading the numerous reports on TA about "tiny rooms", we booked a large. As previously reported, the room isn't exactly "large", it's simply probably "larger" than the small ones. Since we were expecting this, we were not surprised and found the size ok. The room was clean and functional, and the bathroom was very clean, modern and comfortable to use, except for the somewhat unpractical shower enclosure system (designed to save space though). One major downside of our room was its location: the floor we were at (I believe first floor), is actually the ground floor of a large courtyard which is shared by all the buildings of the block, i.e. not only the hotel but various office buildings around: anyone passing by can really look straight into the room at any time, meaning a complete lack of privacy unless shutting the curtains tights at all times.

Breakfast was not spectacular but acceptable, however the seating area is clearly too small as guests will often have to shares tables and/or wait for a table. Wi-Fi access is overpriced and, although there is a free-to-use computer in the lobby, it was occupied most of the time, so room for improvement there as well.

Overall, the Connect city hotel is all about value for money: it's not particularly luxurious or fanciful but it offers good, modern, clean and functional accommodation not too far from the city centre at low rates. In this respect, we were satisfied with our experience at this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DrFly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2011

after considering appartments (dismissed for late arrival complication charges policy) and cheapest hotels (without windows, with shared bathrooms) for this extended weekend trip to stockholm, a friend and me found this place, and loved it
location is really good, everything is close by with the metro anyway
the furniture is minimal but we loved the design, especially the paint on the walls of the room (ours was navy themed :)), the plastic curtains on windows
room was small but exceptionally functional, bathroom too, i love showers so this was tottaly fine
loved the breakfast (again the stiped paint on walls) and the lobby comfy green chairs
place is spotlessly clean, staff is unbeleavably helpfull
booked directly, no issues
all in all great place, definitely coming back even for a longer trip
(p.s. can't recall the room category)

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sugar607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2011

Stayed here for three nights in March. Room was very clean, warm and usual small size for Stockholm. Price was good and the location perfect. Sorounding area is perfect for evening strolls, felt 100% safe at all times. Staff extremely friendly as always in Sweden.
The only negative is that the breakfast is crap. No hot foods, no eggs, sausage etc. When it's cold and snowing you don't want to go out with a bit of ham and some fruit inside you.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PerLindstrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Kungsholmen
First Hotel Fridhemsplan
First Hotel Fridhemsplan
#111 of 155 in Stockholm
190 reviews
Södermalm
Motel L Hammarby Sjostad
Motel L Hammarby Sjostad
#8 of 155 in Stockholm
2,360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hornstull & Langholmen
Hotell och Vandrarhem Zinkensdamm
Norrmalm
Best Western Kom Hotel Stockholm
Norrmalm
Best Western and hotel
Best Western and hotel
#50 of 155 in Stockholm
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Connect Hotel City? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Connect Hotel City

Address: 41 Alstroemergatan, Stockholm 112 47, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Kungsholmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 155 Hotels in Stockholm
Price Range: ₹ 4,774 - ₹ 10,129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Connect Hotel City 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Connect Hotel City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing