We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“like living in Stockholm”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Helens Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 33 Stockholm B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
East Lansing, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“like living in Stockholm”
Reviewed 30 May 2012

Helen's B and B was lovely. I'm a gardener and hers was very nice and pleasant to sit in and read. Having a small kitchen was very nice and we used it! Everything was adequate, although the breakfast part of "B and B" was disappointing. The location was great - in a quiet residential area with families around, yet a quick trip via train to downtown. Helen is very nice!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Merle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helensbandb, Owner at Helens Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 4 June 2012
Dear Merle, thank you!
Nice meeting you very shortly, it was nice to see you walking hand in hand!
I am sorry that you were not happy with the breakfast...it is self contained so everybody can make the breakfast when ever they want, not depending of others.
All the best/Helen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

214 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    133
    66
    6
    4
    5
See reviews for
37
86
36
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Durban, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 30 May 2012

I stayed at Helen Bed and Breakfast twice, I have enjoyed a lot to stay there, she is welcoming and so is her house. I loved the cosy atmosphere of the house, specially in winter. I really recommend this place to anyone who want to enjoy a cosy bed and breakfast facility.

Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Detchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nantes
Level Contributor
237 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 360 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2012

I am amazed, really, of all these positive feedbacks for this establishment; the reason why, perhaps, is that they come from authors who have given a single or very short number of advice.
It's a B&B without breakfast and if you need it you have to pay more, and despite it was reserved, self catering was with lacks and food very poor. Besides the poor hygiene, deadline for the bread had expired ... for 5 months!
Yes i have also the picture for that.
The room, very small, with only one bed in a corner was dirty and was not suitable for two people (and another bigger room remained empty during our stay...).Also this room was very dangerous, with injuries after the fall of an ancient and big shutter with defective hanging over the window.The bathroom location is under the stairs (get ready to hit yourself on it and against the walls), in the restroom! I should say on the toilet. Even if you are contortionist you will not escape the humidity, especially because the owner requires you to be ... with your socks on the ground. Last, wifi is not included and is at big extra charge. Honestly does not deserve a two star on Tripadvisor. Worldwide.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Guitalaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helensbandb, Owner at Helens Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 2 June 2012
Terrible...!
I am really sorry that you found my B&B Terrible!
You have been making two really bad comments here on Tripadvisor, of your two nights here.
I am really sorry that you have these memories from my house

BUT, it is good because you help me to be more clear with what I offer

1)Thank you for telling that the Double room is for people who travelling light, like most of the people do these days.You booked the smallest room. It is not space for all your suitcases, I really agree with you.

2)The Double beds in our house are queen size beds. If you prefer bigger than 140cm, then I am sorry we can't help you!

3) About the dove there are extra in the wardrobe ...sorry that you didn't look or asked me.

4) Breakfast ...sometimes I offer without breakfast!
The bread is half made bread, witch means that you bake it by your self, so it is fresh.
I don't understand where you found that bread with that old date!
Why should I offer old bread, and make my guests angry!!!!????

5)The famous Stockholm shower / Navy shower...compact living shower...IKEA design!!
It is a very small shower I really agree, but it is for a short shower. Not using a lot of water...!!!! Environment thinking ...if you are positive...then it is really smart!

It is very sad that your time here was so bad, you didn't say anything when you were here.
I didn't know how you felt and could not work things out in a better way!!

Maybe you could have rented the other room, because it was rented from a guest who decided to stay in the Studio together with her friend.
She rated, on Tripadvisor, her stay excellent..!

It is very difficult to satisfy everybody!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2012

We are extremely happy with our stay at Helens B&B. Staying in the studio we were completely independent, with seperate entrance, bathroom and kitchen at our disposal. Within 10 minute walk there is t-bana station with supermarket next to it and it takes 10 minute on the train to reach the city centre. Very good value/money, especially comparing to stockholm's hotels.

Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Marta A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucks,
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

If you want an insight into Swedish living then this is the place to stay. This is not a bland soulless hotel but a homely B&B situated in a quiet and beautiful part of suburban Stockholm. It is run by Helen, a very hospitable and friendly hostess who couldn't have been more helpful.

We stayed in the studio, a self-contained unit with it's own entrance, for four nights and used it as our base to go to a concert at the nearby Ericsson Globe (within easy walking distance) and during our city break to Stockholm. The local metro station is a 10 minute walk away, then it's 10 mins to T-Centralen or Gamla Stan. The trains are frequent and also about every 10 minutes, so although it's not in the middle of the city it's actually very handy.

A supermarket and pizzeria is near the local station, so if you'e wanting to buy food or sometimes eat locally, then that's also very easy to do.

We enjoyed our walk to and from the station each day, and arriving back at our B&B was just like coming home and made for a relaxing place to stay. Helen was always very helpful and so friendly.

Highly recommended and we'd definitely stay again as we plan to return to Stockholm for a summer visit sometime.

Room Tip: Great for a couple who are happy to do there own thing and have their own homely space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KiwiFruit_Bucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Södermalm
Motel L
Motel L
#6 of 154 in Stockholm
1,928 reviews
Hotel Skeppsholmen
#2 of 154 in Stockholm
1,281 reviews
Mariatorget
Hotel Rival
Hotel Rival
#3 of 154 in Stockholm
1,589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Norrmalm
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel
Norrmalm
Miss Clara by Nobis
Miss Clara by Nobis
#5 of 154 in Stockholm
520 reviews
Mariatorget
The Red Boat Hotel & Hostel
The Red Boat Hotel & Hostel
#95 of 154 in Stockholm
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Helens Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Helens Bed and Breakfast

Property: Helens Bed and Breakfast
Address: 15 Oestrandsvaegen, Stockholm 122 43, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Stockholm
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is a family house The area is well known for the nature, all trees and the animals even if it is very close to the City centre. Local transport Metro and bus Metro Svedmyra 800m bus 163(2min) or walk 5 stops to Skanstull 9 Stops to T centralen 3 stops to Globen Arena ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Helens Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Helens Hotel Stockholm
Helens b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing