We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value”
Review of Astoria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Astoria Hotel
Ranked #32 of 37 Hotels in Malmo
Carlisle
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good value”
Reviewed 6 June 2011

At £90 a night for a sizeable and comfortable double room, this hotel is good value for any visit to Sweden. Good breakfast and one of the most helpful receptionists you could ask for. He gave us good advice on restaurants, sights and general info. He obviously loved his city and with good reason.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Discriminat0r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

94 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    29
    28
    11
    4
See reviews for
10
21
22
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
149 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2011

I stayed one weekend night in this quiet hotel about 5 minutes walk from Malmo station. The room was very small with a tiny bathroom, but for one night as a solo traveller I don't think that really matters.

There was a TV and wifi was available (via an 8 hour token system - but they were quite happy to give me another token). Being tall and using the bathroom required a bit of ingenuity.

Polite and helpful staff. Decent enough breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank really_razamataz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
*
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2010

I stayed 1 night at the Astoria in Malmö, and it was not a very nice experience.

Although the hotel seemed empty (we checked in on a quiet Sunday evening), we were given a tiny room with an even smaller window in the 4th floor.
There was no air-conditioning or even ventilation, and it was not possible to open the extremely small window, so the room got really hot during the night.
Bed from Ikea (yes, I checked); very poor quality and felt worn.
The rooms have been renovated using the "quick and dirty"-method, and one can certainly tell.

The receptionist (a young man) was obviously not suited for jobs including customer service, as he was uninterested in telling us anything not directly asked. His reply to one question: "it's not like I own the hotel; I just work here."
The lady at the reception the morning after did hardly say a word, she just stared at the guests and seemed to have lost interest in her job.

The breakfast was poor, there was a shortage of more or less everything. It was so obviuos the hotel is not a success; there were 6 persons in the breakfast "room", and there were like 10 pieces of bread, 10 grapes etc.

Would never go there again, even if I was paid to.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank albicilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Malmo hotels

L'viv
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2010

My boyfriend and i just got back from the trip to Sweden. We had a short stopover in Malmo at hotel Astoria. We didn't have any hotel arrangements and our choice of the hotel was purely random.
The check in went smoothly. The reception staff was very friendly and helpful, answered all our questions and made every effort to help us out (we had some tourists info questions, and money exchange issues etc).
The room was very nice and i do not understand some previous reviews about tiny rooms (perhaps some of them are, but not ours). Everything was spotless clean.
Bed - comfortable. Bathroom - clean, fresh towels (perhaps shower equipment could go for a renewal, though...)
also they give their guests a free WI-Fi internet coupon at the check in (i had no chance to use it myself, cuz i didn't bring my laptop, so can not say anything more about this...)
The view from the room was ver nice - the old city scenery really looked very beautiful.
The location is very convenient for tourist walks, i think. The main square is like 5 min by foot.
To make a long story short. this was a very nice stay. Nothing to complain about. Very sufficient hotel.

Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Danger_86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurgaon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 9 May 2010

Hotel was booked by my company when i visited sweden for official purpose. Hotel was good with high speed internet. This is the hotel were pets are allowed :-). Cost is also not very high but parking facilities are having cost of per hour.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mehtaviney22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malmo hotels
Gamla Staden
Moment Hotels
Moment Hotels
#16 of 37 in Malmo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
Gamla Staden
Hotel Garden
Hotel Garden
#21 of 37 in Malmo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gamla Staden
Scandic Stortorget
Scandic Stortorget
#27 of 37 in Malmo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
Gamla Staden
Elite Hotel Residens
Elite Hotel Residens
#18 of 37 in Malmo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
Comfort Hotel Malmo
#11 of 37 in Malmo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astoria Hotel

Property: Astoria Hotel
Address: 7 Graabroedersgatan, Malmo 211 21, Sweden (Formerly Hotel Astoria Malmo)
Region: Sweden > Skane County > Malmo > Gamla Staden
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 37 Hotels in Malmo
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,417 - ₹ 13,107
Hotel Class:3 star — Astoria Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer our guests a quiet and cozy atmosphere with Malmoe's fantastic range of entertainment is just around the corner. You will find us in the beautifully preserved district of the Old Town, "Gamla Vaster" with just a few minutes walking distance to Lilla Torg and Malmo Central Station. Our lush courtyard is a relaxing oasis during the warmer months and in our breakfast area tea and coffee is at your convenience. Whether you are visiting us privately or you are traveling for business, we would like you to have a pleasant and comfortable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Astoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing