We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very pleasant stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
First Hotel Mortensen
Ranked #29 of 37 Hotels in Malmo
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“very pleasant stay”
Reviewed 17 September 2011

A very conveniently-located hotel in the historic centre of Malmö, and in a building with character. Friendly reception and we were given a spacious room on the 1st floor (1st above ground-level) with an adequate bathroom (shower only – although the shower-door leaked out water). The elevator seemed very slow but we had no real need to use it being on the 1st floor. Although a “4-star” hotel it didn’t have the expected “extras” (found in chain-hotels), but that didn’t really matter, especially when only a weekend stay of 2 nights. The buffet breakfast was very good (and happened to be included in the pre-booking). There was also a free internet terminal + a mini-library on our floor hallway. Sound-proofed windows kept out the street noise, and the absence of air-conditioning wasn’t an issue at that time of year (and no need of heating either).

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lexyleod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

137 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    62
    25
    3
    2
See reviews for
13
57
22
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
77 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2011

The building itself is very interesting with style.
All the rooms are nicely decorated with tapestries and antique like furniture.
All the windows are double shilded from the street noise.
Our room (triple room) was very spacy.
Breakfast was excellent in plenty and with very tasty salmon sandwiches.
It is located 10 minutes from Malmo Central railway station and near the Lila Torg lovely square.
There is an elevator in the hotel.

Room Tip: All the rooms are quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roman T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2011

We stayed two nights here on a business trip and found this hotel has a good price/value rate.
Hotel Baltzar's main advantage is it's central location since it is in the middle of the pedestrian area of Malmö, everything is within walking distance. Lobby area is nice, the breakfast is ok and the bed is comfortable enough but on the other hand my room's only window looked to an internal utility shaft and my colleague room was full of dustballs until he mentioned it to the staff.
But overall, I recommend Hotel Baltzar to stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nygyuri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2011

Very convenient and comfortable central hotel. We requested a superior room and were pleased with the spaciousness.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gardener080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2011

You cannot live more in the centre of Malmö.
We arrived on a friday evening and they had a jazz trio playing soft music. Super nice!
We ate a light meal and drank cava, spanish "champagne", for very reasonable prices, in the restaurant.
Had a perfect saturday morning breakfast and then just stepped out of the door and we were in the middle of beautiful Malmö.
A four star hotel at the top of the scale.
I would recommend hotel Baltzar anytime.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BalooStockholm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malmo hotels
Gamla Staden
Scandic Stortorget
Scandic Stortorget
#27 of 37 in Malmo
369 reviews
Gamla Staden
Moment Hotels
Moment Hotels
#19 of 37 in Malmo
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Scandic Kramer
#17 of 37 in Malmo
424 reviews
Gamla Staden
Astoria Hotel
Astoria Hotel
#32 of 37 in Malmo
95 reviews
Gamla Staden
Mayfair Hotel Tunneln
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to First Hotel Mortensen? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about First Hotel Mortensen

Property: First Hotel Mortensen
Address: 45 Baltzarsgatan, Malmo 211 36, Sweden (Formerly Hotel Baltzar)
Region: Sweden > Skane County > Malmo > Gamla Staden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Malmo
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,816 - ₹ 10,531
Hotel Class:3 star — First Hotel Mortensen 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your First Hotel Mortensen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baltzar Hotel Malmö

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing