We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very average”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Scandic Helsingborg North
Ranked #8 of 21 Hotels in Helsingborg
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
411 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Very average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2011

The beds are OK but the rooms are beginning to show obvious signs of age. The paintwork is chiped and the bathrooms needs and overhaul.
The restaurant definitely also needs to improve it's food. It was either overfried, overcooked or overdone. The Club Sandwich I ordered, that seemed like the only lighter meal on the menu, was dripping in Curry majo and and fat drippings and was made up of so many slices of bread and only a tiny piece of chicken. It may be cheaper to make it that way, but seems far from the Scandic hotel Jamie Oliver healthy food profile advertised.
Despite promises of a daily newspaper, these were all gone.
The hotel should also move the smoker's corner from its' current location outside the restaurant. When the restaurant door is left open (by the smokers) the smoke free restaurant becomes quite the opposite.

Room Tip: Avoid having a late breakfast. Seems the breakfast room staff is understaffed. Trays everywhere with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tord E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

384 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    131
    121
    44
    18
See reviews for
139
80
18
98
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Siberian District, Russia
Level Contributor
105 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2011

We stayed one night in this hotel. Its quite far from a city centre even for a bicycle ride. The room was spacious, even a bathtub can accommodate a couple at once. The thing I didn't like most was the fact that at the breakfast we faced with no vacant seats in restaurant because of several groups of German tourists. Maybe it's just a bad luck, who knows. I want to underline that the cards that are used as a key to the room are made of wood. It's not too common, but for Scandinavia "green solutions" are developing day by day.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Begemoth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
66 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2010

We just spent the Christmas week in Helsingborg, to visit some family. We were 2 adults and 2 young children. The hotel itself is a bit outdated but still very ok. They are anyway planning to renovate in 2011. The facilities were extremely complete, with a high standard fitness room, an indoor swimming pool and separate saunas. The breakfast buffet was simply impressive in quality and quantity. The food in the restaurant was also great, with a nice buffet, next to the card, every night. Last but not least, the rooms were very functional and clean. Most importantly, the staff was amazing: always friendly, available, helpful, quick ... just perfect ! And all that for 90 Euro per night, per room, breakfast included. And 20% off on the food, if Scandic member.
I am travelling quite often with my job, in 4 or 5 stars hotel, such as Hilton, Sheraton, etc. around Europe, and I can tell you this 3 star Scandic hotel does have anything to envy to the luxiourous chains, to the contrary. And for that price, on top ! As I said, simply incredible ...

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FabianLoos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
90 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2009

The Scandic Helsingborg Nord is nicely situated, if you come by car, on the northern entrance to Helsingborg. The hotel is not up to the normal standard of a Scandic hotel.

Reception: extremely helpful and service-minded staff. The helped me with all my small wishes with a smile on the face. Wonderful!

Rooms. decoration is outdated and the rooms are really run down. The floor in the bathroom were not clean and the shower was half way broken.

Breakfast: good and up to Scandic standards, even if the breakfast room is dark and run down.

WiFi: free internet that works very good like at all Scandic hotels.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travellerwithstyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2005

Whilst not terrible per se this hotel needs serious updating. The "pool" is tiny-more like a spalsh pool and very deep-not good for children at all and at 24 degrees rathr chilly!! The sauna area was quite dated and although there was a sun bed it was only hidden by a rather shabby curtain. The mens and womens saunas are separate and although they arevery good saunas they are small and I would have liked to have been with my husband.
The rooms..again didn't cater for wanting o be with your husband as the beds were two single beds which would have been difficult to move together. And again the room was very dated, even though it had a wooden floor. The bathroom was functional with a shower and sink and toliet but again was dated.Apart from this the room contained a televison-with some good channels on, a desk and two rather old looking armchairs. The corridors with their dirty pink carpets were hideous, and the walls were rather thin,as we could hear people in the corridor outside the room.

The staff were okay. The restaurant was not great with little choice and again the decor.. The one reedeming factor was the amazing breakfast buffet, which is included in the price of the room. They supply everything, and I mean everything! From cereal to 20 different teas to bread to orange juice..eggs ..bacon..crackerbread..fruit..cheese..cold meats it's all there! And it is eat as much as you like. AS with most of sweden they also catered well with allergies,and you only have to ask for gluten free bread or for Soya milk, which was refreshing!
The situation of this hotel is just off a motaway, in a business park/industrial area. It's not pretty but it's not far to drive into Helsingborg, where I suspect there are better hotels.
SO to sum up, if you just want a cheap bed for the night with a breakfast that will fill you up for the day on your way to further up in sweden,this is your hotel.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Helsingborg hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Helsingborg hotels
3.9 km away
V Hotel Helsingborg, BW PREMIER Collection
4.5 km away
Radisson Blu Metropol Hotel, Helsingborg
4.3 km away
Elite Hotel Marina Plaza
Elite Hotel Marina Plaza
#4 of 21 in Helsingborg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 km away
Elite Hotel Mollberg
Elite Hotel Mollberg
#3 of 21 in Helsingborg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
4.5 km away
Comfort Hotel Nouveau
Comfort Hotel Nouveau
#6 of 21 in Helsingborg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
4.1 km away
Clarion Grand Hotel
Clarion Grand Hotel
#5 of 21 in Helsingborg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Helsingborg North? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Helsingborg North

Property: Scandic Helsingborg North
Address: 41 Florettgatan, Helsingborg 254 67, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Skane County > Helsingborg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 21 Hotels in Helsingborg
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,742 - ₹ 11,411
Hotel Class:3 star — Scandic Helsingborg North 3*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Helsingborg is a delightful city situated next to the Oresund strait. Sofiero Palace, located in the surrounding area, is well worth a visit - its gardens were named the most beautiful park in Europe in 2010. Our hotel in Helsingborg, Scandic Helsingborg Nord, is located 5 kilometres outside the city centre and is the perfect base from which to explore Helsingborg, visit one of the popular beaches, or take the boat over to Helsingor in Denmark. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scandic Helsingborg North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Hotel Helsingborg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing