We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very nice little hotel.”
Review of Hotell Pilen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotell Pilen
Ranked #11 of 15 Hotels in Umea
Reviewed 14 March 2010

Very nice and comfy hotel with loads of personality. The room was nicely decorated and had a very cosy feel to it. Felt a bit like home really. The staff must have a very good eye for details since they have accomplished to create such a lovely atmosphere.
The breakfast selection is not the widest I have seen but it's compensated by the freshness of everything. Newly baked bread can never go wrong. The breakfast area was also very nice. Tranquil and as the room very nicely decorated.
Overall, a very nice little hotel and exceptional value for money.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank j_a70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (50)
There are newer reviews for Hotell Pilen
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 23 of 50 reviews

Reviewed 26 November 2008

I have been staying at hotel Pilen for several times the latest year since I travel a lot in my job. It always fells like I am coming home when I arrive at Hotell Pilen. Some of the rooms are quite small but all of the rooms a have stayed in is very nice decorated. It doesn’t feel like staying in a hotel room, it almost feels like staying in someone’s guestroom. Besides nice rooms I really enjoy to stay at hotel Pilen because of the friendly people hosting the hotel. In one occasion the manager droved me too the airport so that I didn’t have to walk in the rain to the airport bus!

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank chipet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2008

Hotel Pilen is in an excellent location and has a very good breakfast (I enjoyed it although the previous reviewer did not).

But I didn’t think much of the rooms. The first room they put me in had no closet - just a kind of open cubby with a metal bar about 8 inches long. No where to hang more than a few pieces of clothing. The room had a single bed and a desk and hard chair. No suitcase rack, no other chair. It was miniscule. I asked to be moved and was given another room with a bit more space. The bathroom, however, was so small that I had to lean back away from the sink to use the toilet. The shower unit leaked.

My third room (since that room developed electrical problems) was one of the older rooms. The mattress was spongy and uncomfortable. The room, and the staircase leading to the room, were decidedly dusty. Since I had to plug in the electric water heater (for tea) on the floor because it had such a short cord and the desk area had my computer and a lamp plugged in, I became quite familiar with the dusty floor. There was also a kind of ledge by the bed on the wall side that had not been cleaned in some time.

The newer room the previous poster was in probably was cleaner and had a better mattress. If you don’t mind a shared bathroom, it is probably OK. However, these rooms are nanoscale. Europeans are used to small quarters, but if you grew up enjoying the spacious vastness of Motel Sixes and Best Westerns (and of course everything up the scale from there), you might feel cramped.

The staff brought clean towels and emptied the wastebasket, but there was no other maid service. And only two towels -- a bath towel and hand towel (although I asked for, and received, one more bath towel.) There are no toiletries except liquid soap.

No phone.

The wireless Internet connection was painfully slow. The rooms with the shared bathroom have an Ethernet connection, so again, if you don’t need a bathroom, that would be better.

The rooms had thin walls and the door locks are noisy.

The reception desk is open during the day weekdays, but there are no evening or weekend hours.

There was a pool and sauna but they charged for the sauna (rather a lot as I recall) and the pool was only for groups. What a shame to install a pool and then not let guests use it.

In general in Sweden, there is a charge for all kinds of things, such as public toilets. Even in expensive restaurants, the waiter brings a basket of bread, holds it out so you can get a small piece, and then takes it away. You can’t get a glass of tap water but have to order bottled water. Swedes pay the highest taxes in the world, so I guess they have to get their money back somehow. (The whole bottled water thing is so environmentally incorrect even though there is a high level of environmental consciousness in Sweden.)

Umea is a really lovely city. Next time I will get a conventional hotel, rather than the Pilen, which is more of a boarding house.

Stayed: October 2008
2  Thank californiay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2008

Stayed for three nights. Was easy to walk to both the centre of the town and the university. The river was literally a stone's throw away.

Hotel staff were inobtrusive but the rooms were always clean. Shared bathroom but there were ensuite rooms available. Would recommend for a short break.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Memphisrover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MiSa201262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Umea hotels
0.8 km away
Stora Hotellet Umea
Stora Hotellet Umea
#1 of 15 in Umea
551 reviews
0.8 km away
Comfort Hotel Winn
Comfort Hotel Winn
#3 of 15 in Umea
830 reviews
1.1 km away
Hotell Bjorken
Hotell Bjorken
#14 of 15 in Umea
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Clarion Collection Hotel Uman
1.3 km away
Scandic Umea South
Scandic Umea South
#7 of 15 in Umea
270 reviews
0.9 km away
Hotel Aveny
Hotel Aveny
#5 of 15 in Umea
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotell Pilen? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotell Pilen

Address: 5 Pilgatan, Umea 903 31, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Vasterbotten County > Umea
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 15 Hotels in Umea
Price Range: ₹ 6,107 - ₹ 10,459 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotell Pilen 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotell Pilen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing